We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (163)
Filter reviews
163 results
Traveller rating
65
71
18
7
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
65
71
18
7
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews vaporetto stops conference center minute walk would stay here again room was large mark's square croissants monastery accademia zattere cleanliness euros luggage century
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 163 reviews
Reviewed 15 July 2017

We stayed at this hotel with a group. It was not adequate and they were not responsive in fixing the a/c in our section of the hotel even after many complaints the first night (per the front desk). Some rooms were fixed but ours was not on the second night and there was no effort to advise us at a time when we could at least change rooms. No way to begin a tour...two sleepless nights due to the unbearable heat and humidity. This was hardly adequate even for a budget hotel.

Room Tip: I would not choose to stay here regardless of the budget-based hotel.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Anne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2017

We spent two nights at Don Orione and were extremely happy with the quality of our stay. The room was large, bright, and absolutely spotless. There was no TV, and the decor was very simple, but that didn't bother us as we hadn't travelled to Venice to watch TV. The staff were all friendly and helpful; we received recommendations for dinner, were provided extra pillows when asked, and were able to have our boarding passes printed out the morning of our flights. We also greatly enjoyed breakfast. I honestly felt bad about the number of croissants I ate, but they were so good I couldn't help it (they were even warm one morning!!!). The hotel is also situated in a great location, just a minute's walk from the Accademia or Zattere vaporetto stops. This is a quiet, simple, and clean hotel with a great staff. I highly recommend Don Orione for your next trip to Venice!

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank mocbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2016 via mobile

Love this place. Easy access from the Academia vaporreto stop. No stairs and quick walk. Lovely rooms. Single beds, but couples understand options. Very convenient to key historic and top chicetti locations.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
2  Thank RNFixers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2016

Spotless, spacious room. Well-maintained, modern and updated facility in amazingly convenient location mid-way between Zattere stop and Accademia bridge. Front desk staff were unfailingly cordial, helpful, and welcoming. Our room overlooked a quiet former cloister with a distant view of Guidecca Canal. Beds comfortable and clean, with daily housekeeping. Lone elevator was slow during busy times when conferences were in session, but at least there was an elevator. Breakfast offerings were ample but with very limited protein. Grocery 10 minute walk away. Recommended for travelers who don't prioritize luxury but want comfort and clean lodgings.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank pamelapancakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2016 via mobile

Venice is not a cheap place to stay and if you are looking for a lot of accommodation for a group in one place it's even harder. The Don Orione is a former nunnery and the accommodations are appropriately sparse. They have been recently decorated and upgraded so all the rooms are ensuite, but there are no frills such as TVs or kettles and suchlike. But you're not going to be in the room much, so it doesn't matter.
It's well situated for visiting the city as it sits between the Accademia and Zattere vaporetto stops. That close to the Accademia also means it's about a 15 min walk from San Marco. There are plenty of Gelateria, Trattoria and Restaurants in the vicinity so you don't have to go far for food if you don't want to.
Conference facilities - meeting rooms etc. - are also available as is free (though slow) wifi throughout the buildings.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
1  Thank LymondSevigny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews