We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful and convenient ”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Venice
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Centro Culturale Don Orione Artigianelli
Ranked #225 of 388 Hotels in Venice
Reviewed 8 November 2016 via mobile

Love this place. Easy access from the Academia vaporreto stop. No stairs and quick walk. Lovely rooms. Single beds, but couples understand options. Very convenient to key historic and top chicetti locations.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
2  Thank RNFixers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (155)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 155 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2016

Spotless, spacious room. Well-maintained, modern and updated facility in amazingly convenient location mid-way between Zattere stop and Accademia bridge. Front desk staff were unfailingly cordial, helpful, and welcoming. Our room overlooked a quiet former cloister with a distant view of Guidecca Canal. Beds comfortable and clean, with daily housekeeping. Lone elevator was slow during busy times when conferences were in session, but at least there was an elevator. Breakfast offerings were ample but with very limited protein. Grocery 10 minute walk away. Recommended for travelers who don't prioritize luxury but want comfort and clean lodgings.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pamelapancakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2016 via mobile

Venice is not a cheap place to stay and if you are looking for a lot of accommodation for a group in one place it's even harder. The Don Orione is a former nunnery and the accommodations are appropriately sparse. They have been recently decorated and upgraded so all the rooms are ensuite, but there are no frills such as TVs or kettles and suchlike. But you're not going to be in the room much, so it doesn't matter.
It's well situated for visiting the city as it sits between the Accademia and Zattere vaporetto stops. That close to the Accademia also means it's about a 15 min walk from San Marco. There are plenty of Gelateria, Trattoria and Restaurants in the vicinity so you don't have to go far for food if you don't want to.
Conference facilities - meeting rooms etc. - are also available as is free (though slow) wifi throughout the buildings.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
1  Thank LymondSevigny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2016

I stayed there 4 nights to attend a writing workshop organised by Pink Pangea, Since it was not my first time in Venice, I packed very light, but was very happy to find out that the hotel is actually 5min away from the vaporetto stop and you don't need to cross bridges and carry around our luggage for miles/km (even though all the little bridges and alleys are very charming).
It used to be a monastery, so the decoration is religiously starkly. I didn't mind all the religious items, even though I'm not Catholic. My room was big and very clean, with the windows facing the courtyard. I was the only who had mosquitos, but they gave me mosquito repellent tablets to plug in and it was ok in the end.

The breakfast was not great, so I would recommend you to go out and try the cafes/restaurants. But the location is great . Close to the Canal, the vaporettos, nice restaurants and 15min walk to Piazza San Marco.

I wouldn't recommend it for a romantic stay, but if your budget is a bit tight it's a ery good option.
I usually chose fancier hotels, but for the writing retreat it was great. We had our workshops in one of the courtyard every morning and the fact that it was quiet and peaceful actually helped a lot to find inspiration.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MJune20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2016

I traveled here in May with my 19-year-old daughter and we stayed about a week. I booked at the last minute and this was all I could find, although I was hoping for a small apartment ideally. It turned out to be located a perfect distance from Piazza San Marco. We could easily walk there and back encountering beautiful views along the way and not getting lost, which is no small thing in Venice. Unknown to me our proximity to the water bus, especially when bringing our luggage (just carry-on size roller boards) was especially convenient. We saw people every day trying to maneuver their luggage up stairs and over bridges to get to where they needed to be. The room was large, especially by European standards, and sterile looking. The beds were comfortable and, since there is to traffic in Venice, the room was wonderfully quiet with the windows open. The main sound was bird song. I suspect the walls are thin as one night we heard chatter nearby for ages. The facility does not attract noisy people though so there was no repeat. Breakfast was OK but there was no option for cappuccino from the coffee machine. The milk was only offered cold so to get a coffee with milk meant cold coffee. I eventually solved that by asking in Italian for a cup of warmed milk, which was graciously provided. That was probably my biggest grip since coffee is essential to me in the AM and coffee with milk at breakfast is a common request. For the price per night they could stand to use the cappuccino feature on their machine or provide a thermos of hot milk. The room was well cleaned but the staff came a bit early, just as we were going down for breakfast. A couple of days we were skipped because of language issues related to when we were coming back. The towels were odd but worked. They were like table clothes rather than a traditional terrycloth. They dried faster though so perhaps its a Venice thing.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MKBSt.Paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Hotel Belle Arti
Hotel Belle Arti
#257 of 388 in Venice
909 reviews
San Polo
Palazzetto Madonna
Palazzetto Madonna
#115 of 388 in Venice
455 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Al Sole
Hotel Al Sole
#127 of 388 in Venice
954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Ca' Pisani Hotel
Ca' Pisani Hotel
#15 of 388 in Venice
1,923 reviews
Castello
Best Western Premier Hotel Sant'Elena
Castello
Hotel Danieli, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centro Culturale Don Orione Artigianelli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centro Culturale Don Orione Artigianelli

Address: Zattere Dorsoduro 909/A, 30123 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Dorsoduro / Accademia
Hotel Style:
Ranked #225 of 388 Hotels in Venice
Number of rooms: 80
Also Known As:
Centro Culturale Don Orione Artigianelli Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing