We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (426)
Filter reviews
426 results
Traveller rating
202
148
39
20
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
202
148
39
20
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews economy room junior suite strada nova rialto bridge gave us lots of tips high ceilings canal view venetian hotel beautiful hotel minute walk carried our bags water bus standard room small canal the main tourist bars and restaurants venice trip
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 426 reviews
Reviewed 29 November 2017 via mobile

Overall we were very happy with our stay but there are a few points that I would like to raise as constructive criticism.

The Hotel itself is extremely charming and has an impressive entrance hall. We booked a standard room which was actually quite small, but it was immaculately clean and it had its own charm around it.

The one problem we did have with the room was that it was incredibly cold, and there might have been a problem with the heating. This is something that can be raised with reception and they were very apologetic and fixed it for us. We tried to change the temperature to make it warmer and it failed us though- this is something that HAS to be fixed in the winter months.

The breakfast was simple with a good selection however the eggs were rather salty. The lady in the kitchen was extremely helpful and smiley though so it made up for it.

The location is great. It’s quite a walk from the bus drop off but it gives you the opportunity to see Venice as you come from the station and we were very happy. It’s right in a central location with lots of restaurants and shopping around, and the building itself is beautiful. Because it’s just off a Main Street we had no noise issues, and it felt safe and quiet.

Tilly was the star of the show. He was extremely helpful and welcoming and gave us lots of tips about Venice. He made us feel like family and because of him we left feeling very happy with our stay.

Stayed: November 2017
Thank Road319794
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2017

Lovely rooms with a great breakfast spread, This was our first European hotel breakfast and it was astounding compared to what is offered in North America. Fresh local foods, lots of choice, nothing came out of plastic dishes.
Great service at the desk - so friendly and helpful - lots of suggestions for off the beaten track things to do. Loved Tilly - what a great ambassador for Venice and his hotel.

Stayed: October 2017
Thank Helen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2017

We chose this hotel because it was central on the island and was just off the main walking areas. That made it somewhat quieter than other hotels but also afforded us quick access to all of the sites we wanted to see. Before I talk about the physical hotel, I must say a word about Tilly. This hotel is very lucky to have such a wonderful man at their front desk. Tilly fled Sri Lanka over 20 years ago when it was war torn. Coming from such refugee roots, he has become the best hotel staff and travel guide we have encountered in our travels. He is very genial and positive. When we told him where we wanted to go, he told us the best way to get there, interesting sites o see along the way and advised us of some wonderful restaurants which were not at all touristy. Every but of his advice was spot on. It is worth staying at this hotel just to have the opportunity to meet Tilly and talk with him. The hotel itself is beautiful with very high ceilings, lovely frescoes and nice decorations. Our room was very spacious and clean and our beds quite comfortable. The location was a short walk from Piazza San Marco, the ferry boat to Murano and the Jewish Ghetto. I would definitely stay here again

Stayed: October 2017
Thank JEROME T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2017

Bit of a gamble, but boy did it pay off.
The Hotel is a grand old house some 400 years old. High ceilings.
The staff are friendly, we arrive a little before the check in time but this was not an issue.
Tilly was excellent.
Would thoroughly recommend.

Room Tip: The main suite
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Sight O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2017

Chose because we wanted a 4 star hotel wthin walking distance of the train station for arrival and also walking distance to all the central attractions. As it was a special birthday stay we also paid extra for a superior suite.
It was easy to find after a 15 minute walk from the station and we were warmly welcomed by Tilli who explained everything about the hotel and water transport to us, gave us some great restaurant recommendations for dinner and carried our bags to our room.
The first floor room was fantastic - even better than expected. Huge with a high original ceiling, traditional furniture, large bed and separate sitting area. Two TVs, good free WI-FI and two small balconies with great views of the canal right outside.
The bathroom was also a good size with a great hydrotherapy bath with water jets and nice toiletries.
No kettle or tea but that seems to be quite common in these hotels.
It was lovely and quiet - just off the main tourist areas so we slept perfectly.
Breakfast was good - fairly traditional cold continental selection plus hot scrambled eggs and bacon.
Service from all staff on reception and at breakfast was excellent - check-out was easy and they looked after our bags until we left later in the day.
Highly recommended - it really made out Venice trip extra special!

Room Tip: Superior Suite Vendramin (205) was fantastic - these or two junior suites have balconies and canal views - recommended
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Phil25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews