We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel with charming hosts.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Al Ponte Mocenigo
Ranked #13 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Northants U.K.
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel with charming hosts.”
Reviewed 3 April 2012

We arrived by water taxi from the airport in pouring rain and the taxi 'driver' let us off at the first set of steps along the side canal to the hotel. In fact, we found out from Walter at the hotel that the taxi could have got right next to the hotel and saved us a 100 metres walk in the rain! The 'driver' was in a great hurry, and we knew no better. Let others be warned !
The hotel is in a very quiet area of the city - many people still live there, and the shops and restaurants reflected this (our best meal was in the Osteria Mocenigo restaurant which was 1 minute from the hotel). Yet the hotel is only 2 minutes from S Stae water bus stop on the Grand Canal, where the Number 1 service stops, and also the orange Allilaguna service to/from the airport.
Our room (33) was in the annexe, and was spacious and comfortably furnished in traditional Venetian style. We got a good nights sleep in the comfortable bed. The room was up 4 flights of stairs (no lift), and was at the rear of the building overlooking a small courtyard. It got the morning sun and was very quiet.
Sandro and Walter were charming hosts, and full of useful information about the city. All the staff were likewise very friendly and helpful.
All in all, an outstanding hotel for a reasonable price in a city where there are lots of average, expensive hotels! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank QuoVadis2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,634 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,226
    355
    44
    5
    4
See reviews for
439
1,686
70
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (443)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

This hotel deserves its #1 rating on Trip Advisor. It was so easy to get to from the train station and then it was an easy walk to everywhere on the islands. The staff are gorgeous and always ready to help, our room (the red one) was big enough for the four of us (2 children and 4 suitcases), bathroom is modern, breakfast is a delight (cereal, fresh fruit salad, yoghurt, the most amazing croissants and bread rolls, delicious hot chocolate, coffee, etc) and a beautiful courtyard to eat in if it's a pleasant day. The location is perfect - quiet but very close to Rialto bridge and some lovely little restaurants. I don't want to leave and am already planning our next vacation!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank lyndaw573
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

Excellent hotel: very pleasant, friendly and helpful staff, from the owners (who work on Reception in the morning,several days a week) to the cheery staff who serve breakfast. Spotlessly clean and, good breakfast supplied and good location. No views however but top notch apart from that!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 945mac007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2012

I loved the location of this hotel, in a quiet and untouristy area, yet really convenient for the main vaparetto Line 1 at San Stae. I got the 72 hour vaporetto pass and it covered my 3 night stay, and I had the freedom to hop on-hop off as I felt like. My room was spacious, comfortable and well decorated, with lovely old beams from which hung a Murano glass chandelier. Being such a historical building the window was really small and allowed very little daylight in, but there were plenty of lights. Staff were friendly and I enjoyed the continetal breakfast with croissants, bread, cheese, cereal, fresh fruit salad and coffee. Standards of cleanliness were exellent. It is very quiet at night, and in spite of the narrow alleys it is a very safe area.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DublinFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

From the moment we walked through the gate, this hotel was a lovely surprise. We were a little dubious as the price was so reasonable and we had been disappointed before. But we were met with friendly, helpful service, a beautifully appointed and very clean room, a comfortable bed, loads of space/storage, a substantial breakfast including croissants, cereal, cappuccinos and fresh fruit; but best of all - the location was superb.

The only negative was that we didn't spend enough time in Venice. We hope to be back and spend longer in this very special hotel and city!

Room Tip: We stayed in a room in the 'annexe' which was very spacious and classy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Hotel Antiche Figure
#11 of 385 in Venice
3,636 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#2 of 385 in Venice
1,885 reviews
Hotel Canal Grande
#12 of 385 in Venice
2,006 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
#31 of 385 in Venice
2,301 reviews
Cannaregio
Arcadia Boutique Hotel
Arcadia Boutique Hotel
#26 of 385 in Venice
848 reviews
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Al Ponte Mocenigo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Al Ponte Mocenigo

Property: Hotel Al Ponte Mocenigo
Address: S. Croce 2063, 30135 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Polo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Venice
#8 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#9 Best Value Hotel in Venice
#16 Business Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Al Ponte Mocenigo 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Al Ponte Mocenigo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Ponte Mocenigo Venice
Al Ponte Mocenigo Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing