We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Palace Bonvecchiati
Ranked #99 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 December 2011

From December, 4th, before going on a cruise, we spent 4 nights at this excellent hotel. It's a four star hotel, well located, totally refurbished with contemporary furniture. If you like clean and modern decoration it's the place to go.
The staff is very attentive, handy and gave us excellent suggestions for dining. The most important (we already knew) was the "Bistrot de Venise", almost facing the hotel.
Breakfast was fair, with juices, cereals, scrambled eggs (no more choice of eggs), cold cuts and breads.
Location was unbeatable. Just five minutes walking to San Marco square and all stores - from Prada, Gucci, Versace etc to street vendors…
We've got an executive room, facing the Canal. I'll, for sure, return to this hotel, next time in Venice!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank anapin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,393)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

456 - 460 of 1,394 reviews

Reviewed 5 December 2011

We loved this hotel. It is actually 2 hotels connected. The Bovecchiati is larger and more expensive and connected to this hotel. The rooms were huge and extremely clean and comfortable. THey treated you like you were special. It has a great location right in the center that was an easy walk to both the Rialto Bridge and Piazza San Marco. I was surprised at how fantastic a hotel this was and reasonably priced. The breakfast is in the main hotel and also fantastic. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the canal which was very special
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank segmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2011

Those reviewers who say the Bonvecchiati is 10 minutes from Rialto and 8 minutes from St- Mark's square must be blindfolded and wal on their knees. It is honestly 5 minutes to previous, and litterally 3 minutes from the latter. And no rush at that.

My fourth time in the Doge's city, but my parner's first. We wanted to make it the lavish way, but there is no way I am ever going to shell out 1.300€ in an old palace with a view, last refurbished in the 1950s to offer a decadent and derelict vision of 18th century Venice. Never. Ever. Well apparently they got the point : the Gritti just shut down for a 2-year renovation, hopefully going beyond new drape fixtures.

However, besides the handiest possible location, Bonvecchiati did things well. It is not overly glamourous, but for 371€ per night inclusive of tax and breakfast, we got ourselves in their best accommodation : Deluxe Junior Suite, offering 40 sq.m of space, 3 windows in the bedroom, one of which with a view of St-Mark's Tower (when the fog eventually cleared for minutes), one large bathroom with a window, and a small dressing room, made in dazzling tones of turquoise blue. We were perfectly with that.
Good bed, although on the harder side. As often happens in Europe, an alleged King actually made up of two queens stuck together. Faultlessly : the groove was hardly noticeable. Numerous bathroom amenities beyond the basic gels make up for a more luxurious touch than actually is.

Breakfast is decent. Not overwhelming selection, but enough for a few days. Although the dining room is small and busy, the staff work hard to keep it fresh for the next guests, and I never noticed any waiting line.

The Bonvechiati Palace has its own dock : convenient if you splurge on the motoscafo (private taxi boat) ride (120€), as they will deliver/pick you and your luggage right inside the hotel. Only let the driver know you go to the Palace, and not another Bonvecchiati property. This will make you happy, looking in the streets at those poor folks dragging their luggage, even on wheels, from God knows where up and down flights of stairs. 120€ wisely spent, we thought.

Venice is possibly the vastest tourist trap in the world. Go to St-Mark's Square for 5 minutes, and take a street away from it, any street, turn a corner, any corner, and you'll be by yourself. The crowd will be gone. Walk a little bit farther, and sink into the Venetians' Venice. This is where the charisma of this town is.

Speaking of tourist trap, there seems to be a canyon between 2 kinds of food outlets. Overwhelming numbers of restaurants targeting budget tourists, with similar menus similarly and cheaply priced (can you go wrong with italian food, really ?). Very few high end (at least not after the style, but certainly after the price) trattorias offering Venetian cuisine to a mixed crowd of locals and puzzled tourist. I had never seen, anywhere in the world, even remote muslim countries, restaurants applying a 5 to 7 factor to a bottle maimstream French Champagne ; I guess there is a first time for everything. Well, at Trattoria Do Forni, and Trattoria Da Ivo, a 2-course meal for 2, with 2 glasses of Prosecco, 1/2 bottle of cheap (???) wine set us back 240€. Wow. Food was pretty good but not even remotely great, and a fair price should have been 50% cheaper. So be prepared ...

And enjoy !

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PASCAL H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2011

We had two wonderful nights at Palace Bonvecchati! Our room over looked the canal, and you could hear and see the gondola's going by! There is a GREAT restaurant on the other side of the hotel, and it also has a very good breakfast buffet. Well that is if you like sitting outside and watching gondolas go by! This is an ideal location too, in the middle of Point Vecchio, and St. Marks Square! I would go back, and recommend this hotel to anyone who goes go Venice!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

We booked this hotel on a last minute basis and were very pleased with the reduction we receieved for the weekend break. The room was clean and spacious and the bathroom very modern and a very good sized shower for two! The location was ideal for a city break in Venice and close to San Marco square which made it convenient but not too close for noise or crowds. A canal runs on 2 sides of the hotel and the hotel restaurant (where breakfast was served) was a large, beautiful terrace on the canal as well. We made our own way to the hotel from the airport on a water taxis, which was an experience and the hotel was a 5 minute walk through the narrow streets from the Rialto stop, but great with a case on wheels! Venice is a very beautiful city and a must to see at least once. The only downside is because of it's popularity it is expensive and with the weak £, makes it a very expensive treat. Admittedly we did splash out and have a coffee at one of the cafes on San Marco square, which was playing music, lovely but at nearly twenty euros for the two, phew!
We will definately go back, I hope and if so would want to stay at the Palace Bonvecchiati. The hotel does have an adjourning sister hotel, which is possibly not as modern as this one, but still a good standard.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scattycat69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Bonvecchiati Hotel
Bonvecchiati Hotel
#127 of 385 in Venice
1,465 reviews
San Marco
Starhotels Splendid Venice
San Marco
NH Collection Venezia Palazzo Barocci
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Bauer Palazzo
Bauer Palazzo
#77 of 385 in Venice
2,605 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Concordia
Hotel Concordia
#78 of 385 in Venice
1,041 reviews
Castello
Hotel Savoia & Jolanda
Hotel Savoia & Jolanda
#80 of 385 in Venice
1,889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palace Bonvecchiati? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palace Bonvecchiati

Address: Calle Dei Fabbri San Marco 4680 | San Marco, 30124 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Family Hotel in Venice
#63 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#103 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range: €130 - €470 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Palace Bonvecchiati 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Agoda, Ebookers, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Palace Bonvecchiati reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palace Bonvecchiati Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing