We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (588)
Filter reviews
588 results
Traveller rating
127
288
112
35
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
127
288
112
35
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviews train station no lift quiet stay yogurt hard boiled eggs short stay in venice the ground floor salami triple room grand canal vaporetto stop few minutes walk water bus rooms are small loved this hotel rialto bridge alley
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 588 reviews
Reviewed 5 October 2017

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Jet2holidays
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 18 September 2017 via mobile

I rarely do negative reviews, but in this case an 'average' is very generous.
Stayed just 3 nights.
Hotel is very well located as near to the Railway Station. A big plus!
It is very well priced and budget I know.
But found it to be pretty shabby and in need of some tlc.
Bathroom had obviously been recently renovated and was nice.
Shower temperamental.
Bedroom very dark.
Air con didn't work.
We were both bitten to hell and back by some invisible insect(s) in room 34. I had at least 50 nasty bites after 3 days. (Possibly mosquitoes but couldn't see or hear them)
Breakfast is very limited in choice.
If we were there any more than 3 nights would have complained, but took that long to realise reality.
In saying all that, staff were all really friendly and helpful and judging by other reviews maybe we were a bit unlucky.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Artimus66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for one night at the end of August at the beginning of a trip round Italy. The hotel is in an excellent location for the train station and was really easy for us to walk all over Venice. Room was small, but had everything we needed for a short stay and was very clean! Paint was peeling a little from the walls but that's not something that bothered me at all. Breakfast was basic continental but had all you need with pastries, cereal and yoghurts. Staff were really friendly and helpful, I'd definitely recommend here for a short stay in Venice.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank SLouise2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017

We stayed at Hotel Villa Rosa during the last week of August 2017. Overall our opinion was “mixed” but I am leaving 4 stars because after all this is only a 2 star hotel so what they offer is reasonable.
The hotel is located down a side street in the Cannaregio district quite close to Santa Lucia train station. Having never been to Venice previously I was a little concerned that it would be too far from the centre, but it’s relatively small and easy to walk pretty much anywhere, and of course walking in Venice is a delight.
The hotel is non-descript from the outside but the reception/lobby area is quite nice and the receptionists (and other staff) were always very friendly and helpful. The breakfast room is large and very well-appointed. Standard continental breakfast was plentiful and varied with cereals, boiled eggs, meats, cheese, bread/croissants, yogurts, fresh fruit salad and more (why do all European hotels seem to have the same rubbish breakfast cereals though?).
We were a party of 3 (2 adults and a child) so booked a “family” room. When we were given the key at reception and were told “you are in Room 40” we didn’t suspect that part of our holiday would involve mountaineering. 2 stars means no lift, and Room 40 (also 39) is on the very top floor and a LONG way up. We never got completely used to the climb - just when you think you should be at the top you turn the corner and there are more stairs! This room (well probably most of the hotel) would not be very suitable for someone with a disability, but then you could say the same about much of Venice I suppose.
Our room was in the eves so a rather “picturesque” with slanting beams everywhere but this reduced the actually usable (i.e. you can stand upright) floor space to a small-ish area and a fair bit of head-bumping occurred at first. Indeed it wasn’t possible to get to the far side of the double bed without walking on the bed itself or bending in half to squeeze by. The room actually sleeps 5 (1 double, 2 singles and a pull out bed) though it’s hard to imagine so many people in that space. The biggest “comedy” aspect (we were determined to be upbeat) was the bathroom. To be fair it was very modern, well-appointed and ultra-clean, but if you don’t count the shower cubicle area the useable floor space was, quite literally, as small as an airplane toilet! The shower cubicle itself was rather spacious but, oh dear, the water pressure was absolutely laughable. I suppose it’s because we were at the very top of the building, but trying to shower in the morning was very difficult if those lower down were doing the same. Indeed there were a couple of times when we turned the hot water tap on full and NO water came out at all. Also once you were finally in and showering it was pretty much impossible to maintain a constant temperature – other rooms using the water meant that either the hot or cold would disappear suddenly.
The room had its own wall-mounted air conditioner which worked very well. When the room was made up while we were out during the day the chambermaid would leave the aircon running so walking in after a long day in the August heat was delicious (especially after the long climb up the stairs!). The room was cleaned and made up every day to a high standard, and the bedding and towels were clean and decent quality. We found the double bed a bit too hard and the pillows in general weren’t very soft, but that’s a personal thing and you may like a firm mattress.
Locating the hotel was a bit of a challenge on the first day. If you take the water bus or water taxi from the airport you will disembark at the Guglie stop. If you count on Google Maps as a guide you will end up going down a couple of back alleys and through a park and children’s play area which isn't very straightforward at all. If you choose the Villa Rosa here are some directions for a slightly longer but much more tourist-friendly route: 1) cross the canal at the P.te Guglie bridge, just down from the water bus stop, (2) straight on across the bridge will lead you to a square with the San Geremia church on your left, and then to the street called Lista di Spagna, (3) continue down Lista di Spagna past the various hotels, restaurants and tourist shops and after a short while on your right there will be an passageway called Calle della Misericordia (it’s right next to a Gelato shop), (4) helpful hint – at the entrance to the passage there is a black and white mosaic on the pavement that says “Albergo St. Lucia” (or something like that – I guess it refers to the Santa Lucia hotel that is down the same passage just before you come to the Villa Rosa). Just walk straight down and you can't miss the Villa Rosa. Another helpful hint – when you are on your way back to the hotel from San Marco/Rialto/etc. follow the signs to Ferrovia.

Room Tip: Avoid 39 or 40 if you don't love stairs!
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Stephen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2017

This is an okay hotel. I was with a group of 14 and this was booked through a travel company. Some had nice rooms and some had horrible rooms....it's the luck of the draw. Breakfast was okay. It's in a great location just 100 meters from the train station and near a water bus stop. Depends on the price on whether I would stay there again or not.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room first!! Seriously!
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews