We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pristine modern masterpiece”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Giudecca Venezia
Ranked #133 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A pristine modern masterpiece”
Reviewed 31 October 2011

I don't know how they managed to accomplish this, but it appears that they have gutted a very old Venetian building and turned the inside into a modern hotel, with all of the amenities. This is our first time staying in a hotel that wasn't in "Venice proper." Water buses were a little tricky out here to Giudecca at first (having been to Venice several times before we thought we could "improvise" with the water buses, bad idea), but once you know the right buses to take, it is easy. Unlike the main island of Venice, where all the touristy stuff is, Giudecca is a neighborhood with real people, the locals who grew up in and live in Venice. And it is so quiet here, unlke the main island. We were there for three days and nights and the only thing I heard outside our window was a boat going by, and only that one time. Air conditioning was a godsend, plumbing was great, lots of hot water, but it took a few minutes to come up. The shower stall was tiny, so large folks may have a problem. The hotel has an elevator, simply unheard of in small hotels in Venice, so this is great for luggage and for people who are physically challenged. The breakfast was awesome, lots of things to chose from. I am a tea drinker, and I only had to order my breakfast tea once, and the lady managing the breakfast room remembered that and remembered me and, bless her heart, she had my tea piping hot, on my table almost before I sat down. She must surely be a mind reader! People didn't much like the coffee machine in the breakfast room, from what I could overhear from the other guests. My tea, though, was delicious and perfect each morning. I would make a trip back to Venice just to stay in this hotel. I very highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We had a room on the top floor, which was fine. There was an elevator, so it we didn't or could...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Charlene_of_KY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    201
    228
    44
    17
    3
See reviews for
58
298
23
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Uppsala, Sweden
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Hotel is very modern and contemporary in design. Staff were friendly and helpful with excellent English. Breakfast had a good choice of quality ingredients and overall was very good. Room was small but very clean and functional, shower was powerful with ready supply of piping hot water. Free wifi is a nice touch, with reception just about making it to the room.
Giudecca is an excellent place to stay in Venice, away from the hustle and bustle of the main island, but with very frequent 24hr vaparetto service to all parts of Venice and the wider lagoon.
Overall this hotel represents great value for the location and I would not hesitate to recommend.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2011

I, my wife and a friend have just returned from a 3 day stay at the Domina Home hotel in Venice. My wife had stayed there some 8 years ago and recommended it and now I can endorse that view. It is far and away the best 3 star hotel I have stayed in.

The rooms are modern, well designed and well maintained and the staff excellent; genuinely friendly and helpful.

Breakfast is continental (cereal, croissants, fruit, ham coffee etc) rather than cooked. There is no restaurant in the hotel but there are several within 10 minutes walk.

If you haven't been to Venice before, don't be put off by the fact that the Domina Home is not on the main island's of the town's centre. In fact, it's location on Giudecca is an advantage as we found it very quiet with restaurants nearby that are a little cheaper (and more honest) than those in the centre. You can reach the hotel easily from Marco Polo airport by Blue Line waterbus to Zattere then take the Line 2 east bound to Palanca (about 3 minutes across the canal). The Domina Home is about 5 minutes walk (left from the waterbus stop, over the bridge, 1st or 2nd right down the narrow alley).

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beirut, Lebanon
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2011

Domina is located in a peaceful neighbourhood on the giudecca island at the end of a small alley.
Very nice rooms, good breakfast.
The hotel is near the palanca stop so you don't have to walk that much specially when you have bags.
We spent two nights me and my wife and definitely will come back again.
The only disadvantage is the wifi which is only available in the lobby

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MichelMaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 October 2011

I’m sorry but I cannot recommend this hotel. The free internet was not available in our room. We informed the staff in the lobby but they could not help us. We ask them kindly to solve the problem but nothing happened. The next morning we kindly ask them again to do something to get the internet up running again. When we returned the following evening we still not got any internet and we contacted the staff in the lobby again but the guy in the lobby was very unfriendly and told us we could sit in an office next to the lobby or use the WI-FI in the lobby and that was it. We called Hotel.com and informed them about our problem. They could not help us and told us that it was not their responsibility if the hotel not could give us what we had paid for. But Hotel.com called the hotel and informed them that we have problems with the internet. After that conversation with Hotel.com the hotel try to fix the internet but they could not fix it and told us that it was now late Friday evening and a technician first could be called after the weekend.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peder M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Novotel Venezia Mestre
#154 of 385 in Venice
2,083 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Gorizia A La Valigia
Hotel Gorizia A La Valigia
#143 of 385 in Venice
782 reviews
Santa Croce
Albergo Marin
Albergo Marin
#104 of 385 in Venice
829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Best Western Premier Hotel Sant'Elena
Castello
Hotel Casa Verardo - Residenza D'Epoca
San Marco
Hotel San Samuele
Hotel San Samuele
#105 of 385 in Venice
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Giudecca Venezia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Giudecca Venezia

Property: Hotel Giudecca Venezia
Address: Corte Ferrando Giudecca 409/C, 30133 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Giudecca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Best Value Hotel in Venice
#35 Business Hotel in Venice
#107 Family Hotel in Venice
#110 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Giudecca Venezia 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is on the Giudecca Island, the largest one of the Venice lagoon with its eight islands connected by typical bridges. In this context with its backwater charm we find the Hotel Giudecca, an elegant building in a vaguely retro style far away from the tourist bustle of the historical center. In its renovation, this architectural lagoon gem has preserved the traits and the value of its incredible past. A private dock on the Palada Canal provides a water entrance. The 30 rooms have kept an ancient and sophisticated line though offering the most contemporary comforts and amenities. The hotel is the ideal starting point for those who want to live and experience the real Venice in its authentic bohemian style: the Venice which reminds the aristocratic salons, the intrigues and legends. The Venice of the fishermen, of the artisans who have chosen a long time ago to base on this island their own businesses, but also of the fugitives who fled here over the centuries. All this at a short distance from the heart of the city: San Marco Square which can be reached from the hotel by boat in a few minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Fastbooking, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Giudecca Venezia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domina Home Giudecca Hotel Venice
Domina Prestige Giudecca Venice
Domina Prestige Giudecca Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing