We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Expensive but worth it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
San Marco Palace Suites
Ranked #270 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Expensive but worth it”
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Great location and a wonderful suite. We were a family of 5 with teen and adult children so having two deluxe bathrooms (fantastic towels!) was great. The master bedroom bed was quite comfortable, not so much for the sofa bed though. Strong wi-fi signal in our room and very welcoming /helpful staff. We did get the hard sell from three different staff members to take advantage of the "complimentary" boat trip across the lagoon to watch glass blowing. Having been given a heads up on this, we were aware that this 'free trip' was designed to SELL SELL SELL glass objects.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trixietrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    65
    40
    27
    20
See reviews for
82
69
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
162 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2011

My husband and I arrived on October 3-6 and had just finished a fabulous cruise. We have stayed in Bauer Hotel and Regina/Europa Hotels before so we thought why not try something that we thought would be comparable. NO WAY. The staff doesn't communicate with one another. We asked on 2 different occasions for a wake up call and both times we never received. There wasn't a clock in the room for us to set either. This is a maze hotel. They have 3 different reception desks that aren't always manned at three different locations??? We walked in the original one that is by their restaurant and had to walk across the alley way to another door that we had to take the elevator up 1 flight and exit to then walk down 3 flights of stairs into another reception area (sometimes manned) to then be lead to the 3 different directions to the 3rd building (reception is never manned) and walk up 1 flight to our room. They didn't give any instructions as to the functions of the room. If you do not leave the keycard (some had heavy keyrings others had church keys) in the wall everything in the room is turned off AND it takes about 10 minutes to get the water to run after that. The security safe always locks but sometimes doesn't unlock. I have the code memorized how they unlock it...doesn't make a person feel real safe about their possessions. The staff said one thing but didn't deliver on promises. They'd say we'll have a porter take your bags down and that never happened. So we had to take down ourselves. That's not right.

Room Tip: Don't stay at this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Maga48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Venice hotels

Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

Unfortunately this hotel was very disappointing - I guess I should have realized when they claimed I had booked at van 80% discount to the usual rate - what a load of rubbish! it was worth no more than what we paid. In short great location, reasonable rooms but the service was non existent - the in room phone did not even connect to reception.

To summarize, we saw much better hotels in the same vicinity for around the same price. Won't be back - all because of staff - isnt that what hospitality is supposed to be about?

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PhilipRundle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2011

The location of this hotel is great, not noisy but close to the San Marco Square. The room was large - it was a deluxe suite. Separate bedroom for us, with a rollaway and a bed/lounge both in the lounge area with still plenty of space. We did have a few airconditioners outside our bedroom window though, and you could hear the room next door so I slept with ear plugs in. I had requested the room with the terrace but was told this was given to another client. The staff were not very friendly nor helpful. However the manager was quite welcoming. There is a small canal outside the hotel and gondolas do pull up there however water taxi's do not fit its too narrow.

Room Tip: Ask for room with the terrace, otherwise the rooms seem to be large
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2011

A very good hotel for families - big and clean rooms , very comfortable .
but the showers need a renovation immediatly !!!
The breakfast poor and expensive (15 euros per person) .
The service was nice .
This is the best place in Venice - 10 meters from Piazza S.Marco !
In the check-in they told us that we have a sail trip in a boat in Venice for free what they didn't told us that it was a trip to murano .
in the way back the boat stopped in the other side of the main island of Venice - it's take to us a hour in that very hot day to find our way to the hotel and we were very angry - stay away from that "trip" .
For conclusion (without that "trip") - it is very good hotel for families !

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank liorv3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Royal San Marco
Hotel Royal San Marco
#198 of 386 in Venice
974 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Concordia
Hotel Concordia
#74 of 386 in Venice
955 reviews
San Marco
Cavalletto & Doge Orseolo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Torre dell'Orologio Suites
Torre dell'Orologio Suites
#254 of 386 in Venice
132 reviews
San Marco
Hotel al Ponte dei Sospiri
Hotel al Ponte dei Sospiri
#169 of 386 in Venice
415 reviews
San Marco
Palazzo Selvadego
Palazzo Selvadego
#167 of 386 in Venice
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Marco Palace Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Marco Palace Suites

Property: San Marco Palace Suites
Address: Ponte dei Dai 875 | Piazza San Marco, 30124 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#99 Luxury Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:4 star — San Marco Palace Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your San Marco Palace Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Marco Palace Hotel Venice
San Marco Palace Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing