We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value, great location.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alloggi Gerotto Calderan
Ranked #226 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great value, great location.”
Reviewed 12 November 2011

Went for our honeymoon. Hotel is located above a clothing store on the plaza. It was quite odd checking in as reception is located Hotel San Geremia (hotel next door). Hotel complex and room has access card in which room are extremely secure, whilst we stayed there we felt very secure. Room was quite small but Venice is quite old so I assume most rooms would be. Great value for what we paid for double bed with bathroom. Bed was one of the hardest beds I've ever slept on equivalent to foam on concrete floor. Free wifi was very good. Very quiet at nights.

Location is great and safe, pretty much away from most tourist attractions. 3 minute walk to train station and 30 minute walk to St Mark's Square. The plaza the hotel is on can be annoying as African immigrants setup their fake handbags there and hassle anyone that walk past and also people trying to get you to do surveys. There's a supermarket about a 5 minute walk away and a very expensive laundry mat as well. Restaurants are abundant in the area.

Room Tip: Ask for a window view of the plaza.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JuanKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    145
    82
    10
    9
See reviews for
33
133
32
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Netherlands
Level Contributor
61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2011

To avoid confusion: Hotel San Geremia and Alloggi Gerotto Calderan share the same reception. We stayed in the opposite building.

To explore Venice this is a great jump off point. Really close to the train station and nice neighborhood. Reception is in opposite building. Staff is really friendly.
Room and bathroom was nice and clean.

No breakfast included. Along the Rio Terà San Leonardo there is a great bakery: Rizzo. There palm sized Crostata are the perfect way to start any day. Best enjoyed on the steps of one of the many churches. And for diner try Cicchetti (Venetian bites).

Don’t forget to get lost here. The best of Venice is hidden in the labyrinth of endless allays.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaraLovesTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 September 2011

Spent two nights in a triple room with an en-suite bathroom. The room overlooked the campo, which was very nice. The only problem with this was that one morning we were woken by a union rally, but I imagine this isn't a common occurance!

The room and bathroom was clean and thanks to air conditioning, very cool and comfortable. The bathroom was very small, but the shower was pretty good and not overly cramped.

Given what we paid for the rooms, we were very impressed. Would recommend this to any students looking to explore Venice on a budget.

Room Tip: The 'superior' rooms with an en-suite are well worth paying a little more for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RalphMedders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2011

We stayed for a day here and it took us quite a while to get ourselves checked in. The receptionist was exceedingly slow making us wait for beyond 10 minutes.However, that was the only bad part.The rooms are compact and 'extremely' neat.In fact they could easily be a star hotel.Its just a stone's throw away from the station.Checkout is at 10am, while checkin is at 2pm.Its a fair distance away from St. Marks' square which is where most tourists head, but the Vaporetto is right next to the station.Considering how expensive most places in Venice to stay are, this place turned out to be great value for money

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S_Chandrasekhar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
1,184 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 429 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2011

Alloggi Gerotto Calderan offers good value for money in Venice. The room we had was not large but this is normal for Venice. We have paid more for rooms in Venice in the past and got exactly the same size room and facilities offered here.
The rooms are clean and air conditioned but no fridge or safe.
Unfortunately we did not have a view on to the square but perhaps that meant our room was quieter at night.

On the whole we would use this hotel when we visit Venice again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Taxidevil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Cannaregio
Hotel San Geremia
Hotel San Geremia
#258 of 385 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Rossi
Hotel Rossi
#317 of 385 in Venice
3.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Castello
Alloggi Barbaria
Alloggi Barbaria
#150 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Hotel Florida
Hotel Florida
#230 of 385 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel ai Tolentini
Hotel ai Tolentini
#213 of 385 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Guerrini
Hotel Guerrini
#208 of 385 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alloggi Gerotto Calderan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alloggi Gerotto Calderan

Property: Alloggi Gerotto Calderan
Address: Campo San Geremia Cannaregio 283, 30121 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#17 Best Value Hotel in Venice
#147 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Number of rooms: 336
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Alloggi Gerotto Calderan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alloggi Gerotto Calderan Venice
Alloggi Gerotto Calderan Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing