We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful hotel, great location and great price”
Review of Hotel Al Vagon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Al Vagon
Ranked #178 of 387 Hotels in Venice
Reviewed 16 August 2016

We stayed at the Al Vagon for three nights and I have to say we were very happy. The hotel is in the Cannaregio district very close to bustling squares and on the corner is a great juice/cocktail bar that always has customers, yet the room was quiet and cool so no worries from the noise at night.
If you're looking for a canal view or a little more sophistication it won;t be for you but the room was delightful, very clean and excellent toilet facilities. With murano light fittings it has a sense of vintage about it and although the windows opened onto a rather unsightful inner courtyard, the overall decor was delightful.
Owners were hugely helpful and the reception is open a long time to be able to drop off and collect the key (it's a hefty keyfob!!). The reception looks onto the squre but room access is round the corner in the quieter canalside.
The location is absolutely perfect for exploring Venice on foot - 5 minutes walk from the Rialto bridge and 15 to San Marco. There are plenty of places to eat and drink in less than a five minute walk. It's easy to find from the Vaporeto too (we used Ca'D'Oro and then hang right down the Str. Nova and over the tiny bridge and canal at the end.
We would stay there again no problems.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (549)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 44 of 549 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2016

I stayed in this hotel while traveling to Venice, it is situated about a 10-15 minute walk from the water taxi stop. There were quite a bit of stairs on the way to the hotel but that's to be expected as the whole city of Venice is made out of water, bridges and stairs.

The hotel is located above a jus bar which gets very loud at night (music playing very loudly, people talking/screaming); our room was located right on top of this bar. If you can, get a room away from the front of the building.

There was also a restaurant located right next to this hotel that I would NOT recommend. They forgot my fiancé's meal and made him feel stupid about the whole situation.

There are no elevators so you will have to carry your luggage up stairs to reach your room.

The room itself and its furniture is gorgeous and antique looking. You have to leave your key at reception when leaving for the day as they put it on a weighted keychain.

Room Tip: Avoid a room at the front of the building if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pamela d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2016 via mobile

The place is close to all the tourist attraction. The room was extremely small as compared to what was displayed on the website when we booked the rooms. Housekeeping staff visited and kept the rooms clean. Staff at the reception is not approachable or friendly.
Overall it's an average place to stay

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank daouzafloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2016

My 12 year old daughter and I recently spent 3 nights at the Hotel Al Vagon and loved the place! Our room was number 2 which has a balcony overlooking a canal. Fantastic view and really felt like we were in the center of everything! Gondola's pass by, people walking over the bridge, we loved having our balcony and window open while in the room just taking it all in! The room is charming, old furnishings but super clean. Great shower pressure and wifi worked great (which hasn't been the case at other places we have stayed while touring Europe). We arrived around 9:30 at night, and to get to our room, you have to walk through the restaurant on the canal below the room, which we thought was strange at first, but then thought it was fun to go through this little door each time we went back to our room. The stairs are quite steep to get to the room and we had pretty heavy bags, but the front desk guy gladly helped us bring our bags up when we checked in. Front desk was friendly and helpful and I think this place is a great value for the price! (That's for room number 2, I have to say) I highly recommend it! We also ate at the Al Vagon Restaurant below our last night and that was lovely too. Reasonable prices and great food and service!

Room Tip: Highly recommend appending a little extra to get a room with the canal view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JRob2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2016 via mobile

Great location
Just 3 minutes from Rialto bridge. Clean room. Air conditioning was perfect. The area has a buzz. Friendly staff. Would love to come back. Easy access to shops, Strada Nova, restaurants, Water Taxi. The other areas such as San Marco and San Polo are only 15 to 20 minutes away if you like walking.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank Manoj J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Cannaregio
Hotel Bernardi Semenzato
Hotel Bernardi Semenzato
#138 of 387 in Venice
954 reviews
Castello
Hotel alla Fava
Hotel alla Fava
#106 of 387 in Venice
647 reviews
San Marco
Hotel San Samuele
Hotel San Samuele
#99 of 387 in Venice
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Casa Petrarca
Hotel Casa Petrarca
#128 of 387 in Venice
456 reviews
Castello
Alloggi Barbaria
Alloggi Barbaria
#143 of 387 in Venice
336 reviews
Castello
Rio Venezia Hotel
Rio Venezia Hotel
#82 of 387 in Venice
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Al Vagon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Al Vagon

Address: Cannaregio 5619 | Campiello Riccardo Selvatico, 30131 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #178 of 387 Hotels in Venice
Price Range: €55 - €183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Al Vagon 1*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel Al Vagon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Vagon Hotel
Al Vagon Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing