We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hotel that goes above and beyond expectations ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Violino d'Oro
Ranked #66 of 387 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 January 2018 via mobile

This hotel is perfectly located exactly 2 minutes away from St Marks Square and set in a lovely location next to the high end shops and canal/gondola stop. We visited in January and got a fantastic deal. I would advise booking directly through the hotels website as they offer you a bottle of prosecco & cookies, bathrobes, coffee & tea maker and a free visit to a glass factory in Murano. We were amazed by this as we were picked up by our own private water taxi which took us to Murano (whilst taking in the incredible views of Venice) and had our own private guided tour of a glass factory whilst jumping the queues- all included in the already reasonable room price!!

The room was much bigger than expected (room 204), with a spacious bathroom especially. The hallway was elegantly decorated and the view over the canal was beautiful. We had a good nights sleep and once the shutters and windows are shut, the room becomes soundproof from the noise of the 'gondola men'.

Breakfast was great too- a wide selection of hot and cold food, as well as a fantastic fresh coffee machine serving every type of coffee/tea and chocolate.

We couldn't fault this hotel and would 100% recommend and visit again if we came back to Venice. Thank you for a fantastic stay!

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Tom A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,337)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More languages

6 - 10 of 1,337 reviews

Reviewed 21 January 2018 via mobile

Great location, close to St Marks Square and the water bus stop. Friendly and helpful staff. Really surprised to find that there wasn’t a kettle in the room and were told they were just for people who booked rooms directly from their own website. We drink a lot of tea so this was an inconvenience. Surely they could buy some more kettles! Probably only cost about €10 each. The room also looked a bit tired and some of the light switches didn’t look all that sturdy. The shower was decent and the bed was very big. The TV was shockingly bad- slow, unresponsive and badly tuned. Overall we were quite happy but were left slightly disappointed (and shocked by the lack of a kettle).

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2018

Lovely little hotel on a canal near San Marco square. Fantastic location to explore Venice and everything is in walking distance. Rooms are clean, neat and tidy and the breakfast is very good. Staff are friendly and eager to help. Great choice for a two night stay.

Stayed: January 2018
Thank Joe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2018 via mobile

The staff went above and beyond to help me and my 18 yo daughter from 12/24-27/17. The best Christmas ever. They helped open doors for us, print train schedule, recommend restaurants...and more. So friendly emails...perfect location - took gondola ride just outside their hotel door, yummy breakfast...just simply amazing!!! look no farther...Samantha O fro CA

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank iluvmoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2018 via mobile

We stayed here for three nights and the hotel was perfect. As Venice doesn't really have an effective public transport system (apart from the ferries) hotel location is quite important. The hotel is about a minute walk from St Marks square and is surrounded by high end shops and lovely restaurants (Vino Vino is a great restaurant if in the area). The hotel room was quite large for Venice standards and had all the essentials. Breakfast was impressive, especially "Frankie" the coffee machine, so tasty. Would recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to Venice!

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank johann456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#52 of 387 in Venice
1,967 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Ala - Historical Places of Italy
San Marco
Hotel Anastasia
Hotel Anastasia
#149 of 387 in Venice
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ca' dei Dogi
Ca' dei Dogi
#24 of 387 in Venice
865 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Firenze
Hotel Firenze
#67 of 387 in Venice
799 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Flora
Hotel Flora
#54 of 387 in Venice
1,346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Violino d'Oro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Violino d'Oro

Address: Sestiere San Marco 2091 | Campiello Barozzi, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range: €100 - €295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Violino d'Oro 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Fastbooking, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK) and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Violino d'Oro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Violino d Oro
Violino d Oro Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing