We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal location and value for money...”
Review of Hotel Malibran

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Malibran
Ranked #213 of 387 Hotels in Venice
Reviewed 12 October 2012

The Hotel Malibran is ideally located within easy walking distance to all that beautiful Venice has to offer, including San Marco Piazza, Rialto Bridge and the vaporetto. I stayed in Room 606, which was a separate building and entrance to the reception desk. The room was a good size, including the bathroom, both were very clean and the bed was comfortable. Airconditioning worked well and was not too loud and both windows overlooking the courtyard offered lovely natural light. The decor was quaint and the mini-bar offered refreshments at normal prices. There is no street noise as the building is located in a courtyard set back from the main thoroughfare, however there was a generator going off and on at odd times during the day and night, which for those not used to a little background noise may find bothersome. Breakfast was fantastic, great continental selection, fresh and plentiful. The service was competent, however it did not blow me away. Even though they knew I was a solo traveller, no effort was made to proactively suggest places to visit, including restaurants as they have their own (and offer 10% discount to guests). When I asked for a recommendation for the Opera, very little interest was shown and I was referred to the brochures on offer. No assistance was provided with bags up 3 long flights of stairs, which would have been a nice value add. All in all the property offers good value for money, just don't expect to be delighted by the service.

Room Tip: If you don't mind the extra exercise, definitely request this room in the separate building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rebecca L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (509)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

172 - 176 of 510 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2012

The Hotel Malibran is located not too far from the Piazza San Marco and the Rialto Bridge. Overall the service in the hotel was very good, the staff were more than helpful and the breakfasts were satisfactory. It is also in a quiet location which makes it very ideal.
However there were a couple of things I found wrong with my room: there was only one plug in it (bedside light) which made things a little limited. In the bathroom the shower was right beside the toilet. Every time I had a shower it felt very cramped and unpleasant. If the shower had been installed a few metres away from the toilet then naturally I would have had a different opinion.
Also I observed that the Hotel Malibran inside looked rather shabby and "tired/worn out". I am of the view that if the Hotel Malibran got freshly painted and had new carpets or wooden flooring put in, then it has the potential to be a super hotel, especially for it's location! Hopefully time will tell.
Remember Venice is a very expensive city to travel to and good hotels with reasonable deals are very hard to find. Like Rome one should also remember that Venice is an old city.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NORSEMAN99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2012

What a lovely place we found in Venice, it's beautifully set in walking distance to Santa Lucia and major attractions, we walked only maybe 15 minutes and we were in St Mark. The rooms are small and cozy, with comfortable bed and I enjoyed of a little romantic balcony over the street..hosekeeping was good, clean and kind, we left a tip for our waitress and she came to thank more than enough! I learned that the palace is so old and overlooking one of the oldest theatres in Venice, and it was amazing to think how many actresses and actors had performed there through ages. We will come back, that's for sure, prices are honest to be in Venice, we have stayed great.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

The wife and I stayed at Hotel Malibran during our three-day stay in Venice last September. Here's the low down:

The Good:
1.Awesome location. It's relatively near Rialto but hidden in a courtyard so you don't get to hear the noise of the mob. It's a quiet area.
2. The breakfast choices were cold cuts, bread, juice, cereals, tea and coffee. You also get to have breakfast in the courtyard, which was so cool.
3. The people behind the counter were nice and very helpful.

The Bad:
1. Mosquitoes. Not just one. In fairness to them, the hotel provided a device that you plug in to an outlet to keep them at bay, but then you would have to give up a very scarce resource where you can charge your gadgets.
2. No free power outlets (available only to TV and Ref)
3. Tiny bathroom. Not small; tiny.
4. No separation between the shower area and the rest of the bathroom so the floor tends to get all wet.
5. Tacky rooms. The color is gloomy mint green. The bed headboard seems dirty and desperately needs repainting. (admittedly, this is bordering on nitpicking).
6. Weak Aircon (Room 303)
7. 15" CRT TV. What the heck!
8. Pay-per-use internet... but there's a nearby open wifi connection that you can connect to.

Will I come back? Based on my experience, maybe not. The tacky rooms I can deal with, but the mosquitos and the lack of power outlets is something they should address first.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jovanpuyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2012

Firstly I'd like to comments on everyone else's comments; It's Venice, Venice is old, what do you all expect? A 5 star resort? No in Venice you must realise that everything is old and vintage, once you have that in your head you can't get disapointed, the old hotels just add to the charm of Venice.

We stayed here for 3 nights. The staff were friendly and the breakfast was pretty good. We upgraded our room and it was quite spacious. Yes it looks old, but that is Venice. Our room was kept clean and tidy and overlooked the courtyard.

The location is the best bit, it's in a really quiet area, and really close to the Rialto bridge where all the waterbuses arrive and depart from. There is also a jazz bar called Bacaro Jazz close to the hotel, drop in for a drink, they area really friendly there.

Also why is everyone wingeing about having to walk in Venice? That is the best bit about Venice! Besides it is only a 5-10 min walk to the Saint Marco main square from the hotel. If you have time catch a water bus to Burano Island as it is so beautiful. All in all the hotel is average to good.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amber R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Hotel Canada Venezia
Hotel Canada Venezia
#228 of 387 in Venice
405 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Minerva & Nettuno
Hotel Minerva & Nettuno
#338 of 387 in Venice
372 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Bernardi Semenzato
Hotel Bernardi Semenzato
#146 of 387 in Venice
947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Hotel Belle Epoque
Hotel Belle Epoque
#192 of 387 in Venice
992 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Pantalon Hotel
Pantalon Hotel
#334 of 387 in Venice
256 reviews
Hotel Vecellio
#179 of 387 in Venice
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Malibran? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Malibran

Address: Corte Millon Cannaregio, 5864, 30131 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #213 of 387 Hotels in Venice
Price Range: €57 - €252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Malibran 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Malibran reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malibran Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing