We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Bernardi Semenzato
Ranked #138 of 387 Hotels in Venice
Reviewed 28 October 2017 via mobile

Upon arrival my partner and I were told to follow the front desk clerk through a series of alleys, through and unmarked door, up some stairs, and into what looked like a 4 bedroom split apartment. Turns out hotel Bernardi owns 2 separate buildings and I LOVED being in their "annex". Great wifi, large clean room, natural light and in the perfect location. About a 30 minute walk to the train station and tucked away in beautiful Venice.
At first I was taken off guard, but it turned out to be perfect for us.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (954)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 954 reviews

Reviewed 27 October 2017

this is my second stay and am so pleased. It is in a wonderful, quiet neighborhood that is also just a step from Strada Nuova, with many wonderful restaurants. There was a nice breakfast, coffee was excellent and perfect to get us started in the morning. this hotel is close to everything. Santina was a wonderful host -- patient and very helpful. The room was immaculate; our private bathroom was a bit small, but we were fine. I plan to return again, for my third trip.

Room Tip: Close your windows at night to avoid the mosquitos, which descend on the city at night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank worldbound88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro B, Responsabile reception at Hotel Bernardi Semenzato, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2017

Good day,

many thanks for this beautiful review,

we are very happy that you enjoy Venice, and our Hotel,

Best regards,
Alessandro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2017 via mobile

Quaint hotel at the center of it all. Best restaurant Casa Mia is just down the block. We were placed in the annex, which is just less than a block away. What I was most impressed by was the customer service. They were so helpful and willing to guide us in the right direction and give us recommendations. And I heard her speak at least 3 languages to help the guests!! Room was large, bathroom was large and dressing area as well. Wifi worked just fine. As a side note, the hotel has a/c but we quickly learned that hotels in Italy turn off their a/c when it gets in the low 50s outside, so open the windows.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Thank LizaF76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro B, Responsabile reception at Hotel Bernardi Semenzato, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2017

Hi there,

many thanks for this beautiful review, we feel very happy that you enjoy Venice, and that you enjoy our Hotel.

Best wishes to all our staff
Yours faithfully,
Alessandro Biasin
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2017 via mobile

This is a basic place but comfortable, friendly and full of old Venetian character. If you're arriving from the train station it's very easy to find, just four stops away on the Vaporetto and then a two minute walk from the Ca d'oro station.

It's a good place to base yourself, just a 15 minute walk from St Mark's square, or about the same in the other direction to the ghetto (try the bars along the misericordia canal for cheap wine and lovely food!). It's also just near the Rialto bridge.

The beds are comfortable and the shower was strong and hot. Breakfast was a bit basic but did the job. No complaints at all really and we were pleased we saved a bit of cash by opting for somewhere at a modest budget. Actually, it probably had stacks more charm than the plusher, more pricey tourist-trap hotels. Enjoy!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro B, Direttore at Hotel Bernardi Semenzato, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

Dear Mr. Tom M,

many thanks for this beautiful review, we are very happy that you enjoy Venice,
and our Hotel.
Best regards,
Alessandro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2017

I stayed here 4 nights. The checkin process was fast. Santina was amazing. She is so knowledgeable about Venice and made some excellent recommendations . I think she may be the manager. The staff is extremely helpful. The room was clean and they replaced the linens and towels daily. The only drawback of the hotel was there is no elevator.. But no problem! Santina lifted my 40pound luggage and carried it 3 flight of stairs without even a pause.. I definitely recommend this hotel. It is cost effective and clean. What more can I ask for. I loved the location.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cualebieng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro B, Direttore at Hotel Bernardi Semenzato, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Many thanks for this kind review, we all are very happy that you did enjoy Venice, and your stay in our Hotel.

We hope to see you back very soon,
yours faithfully,
Alessandro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Hotel alla Fava
Hotel alla Fava
#106 of 387 in Venice
647 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Minerva & Nettuno
Hotel Minerva & Nettuno
#338 of 387 in Venice
374 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Dalla Mora
Hotel Dalla Mora
#102 of 387 in Venice
591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Alloggi Barbaria
Alloggi Barbaria
#143 of 387 in Venice
336 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Villa Rosa
Hotel Villa Rosa
#187 of 387 in Venice
538 reviews
San Marco
Hotel San Samuele
Hotel San Samuele
#99 of 387 in Venice
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bernardi Semenzato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bernardi Semenzato

Address: Sestiere Cannaregio 4366 | Calle dell'Oca, 30121 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Hotel Style:
#29 Best Value Hotel in Venice
#82 Family Hotel in Venice
#151 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range: €50 - €157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Bernardi Semenzato 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Bernardi Semenzato reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bernardi Semenzato Hotel
Bernardi Semenzato Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing