We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing cooperation from this hotel”
Review of Hotel Wildner

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Wildner
Ranked #192 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Valletta, Malta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing cooperation from this hotel”
Reviewed 23 February 2012

I booked this hotel for the 12th of February for 3 nights but due to the snowstorm in Rome our flights were delayed and thus missed our flight to Venice. I informed the hotel that we could not arrive (as flights the next day were full) and asked them to hold our prepayment for our next trip to Venice. Although when I booked the conditions clearly stipulated that no refunds were due in case of not turning up, the management of the hotel kindly kept our money on account for our next trip to Venice. This is amazing cooperation from this hotel bearing in mind that I stay in hotels minimum 3 months every year. It is so nice when hotels understand us visitors. I look forward to my next visit to Venice.

Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank adtombeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    163
    152
    43
    7
    8
See reviews for
115
166
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indiana
Level Contributor
79 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

My wife, 2 adult children (18 & 21) and I stayed here December 18 through the 20th of 2011. It was recommended by another Tripadvisor visitor. We booked the Quad facing the lagoon. The hotel is within walking distance of the Alilaguna taxi stand, the vaporetto, gondola rides, Ponte di Rialto (Rialto Bridge), Piazza San Marco/ Basilica Cattedrale Patriarcale di San Marco (St. Mark's Basilica), San Zaccaria and much more.

The taxi from the airport took about 40 minutes. Upon check-in the room was clean and the view was amazing - looking out across the lagoon. The hotel had (has?) a special where if you "like" them on Facebook you get 25 free hours of WiFi. It was a little difficult getting this across to the staff at the hotel as we did not speak Italian but we got it worked out. There is a very good restaurant on site with great views of the lagoon. It is apparently a spot for locals as well as they were crowded most days/nights. They have great food although it is a little pricey but I think you get what you pay for. I agree with the one reviewer where he/she stated they have a love/hate relationship with the hotel - love the hotel but hate to spread the good news for fear that it will be so popular that there will be no availability. The only negative thing I could say about the hotel (and they have no control over this) is we would be awakened each morning by a jackhammer where a pier was being reconditioned. You could get something like this almost anywhere and, as I stated, it was not under the control of the hotel. I'm sure the work is complete by now. The hotel itself doesn't have any activities for young children - any more than I could imagine much more of Venice would.

I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: If you have a need for 4 beds and would prefer a good view I would recommend the Quad facing the lag...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelers4rwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ohio
Level Contributor
140 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2012

Sadly we only had one night in Venice so wanted to be close to San Marco and not have to go too far with our suitcases.
The hotel is literally in front of the #2 vaporetta stop San Zaccaria and a few minutes from the #1 stop. We arrived prior to check in and were able to leave our suitcases, allowing us to head out for sight seeing.
I had requested a room on a lower floor, knowing there was no elevator, and room 18 was perfect for us, just at the top of the staircase on the 1st floor. The room was very nice and the bathroom clean, spacious and modern.
The restaurant was closed so we didn't get to eat there but did enjoy the very complete breakfast looking over the canal in the morning.
Elvio and the staff were very helpful and friendly, it couldn't have been a better trip to Venice.
We had a great stay and enjoyed the hotel and walking around the area, minutes from San Marco. Send me a PM if you have any questions.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank plan09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liverpool
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2012

hi we have just returned from venice went 12/01 to 15/01/12 we booked the hotel wildner but got a email to say hotel would be closed due to work being done and would we mind taking a apartment which was just the back of the hotel a 2 minute walk it was a 2bed 2bath over 2 floors and there was just me and my wife the bed was huge bigger than my own king size bed and was very cosy . as others have said the hotel is in a perfect location and i would return here again loved it

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank baino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2012

Me and my boyfriend had decided to visit venice during decmeber we thought the weather would have been cold but turned out to be quite warm, arriving at the airport and collecting baggage was pretty straight forward. We decided to take a water bus (alilaguna-blue line. one way price was 15euros p.p) and got off at the stop named s.zacaria and the hotel was directly infront of the stop. The hotel itself was located in a brilliant place right in the midst of san marco square. The hotel staff were nice and helpful, but the 1st mission was getting up the, what felt, never ending stairs. we were located right at the 4th floor with a lagoon view. now, the lagoon view was paid extra, but frankly, we could of got the same view through normal windows. the bed was cosy but the room itself was a little cramped. the 2nd mission was to find a reasonable place to eat, after reading about the high prices of dining in venice. the 1st night, we ate at the hotel, and i have never been appalled with how little food we received at such a high price, and it wasn't exactly fancy (four pieces of ravioli cost 15euros, 330ml of water was 6euros). i would recommend to go to a supermarket, or a small grocery shop to buy small bits like water and drinks etc.

The views were brilliant and would highly recommend a gondola tour (80 euros).

Whilst our time there, we managed to find a little restaurant named Antica Sacrestia venizia which did 3 course meals for 20euros.

regarding shopping, everything is pricey, but at the markets, you may have a chance to haggle. the further away from san marco, the cheaper everything is.

on the last day, we took a water taxi back to the airport which took around 25mins and cost 100euros.

All in all, was a great experience, but i personally think i will not be returning just because of the dear prices and just for the experience we had.

I hope this review has given you an idea of how the holiday and prices were.
Enjoy!

Room Tip: try to be sure to get a room nearer to the bottom floor, as the stairs are quite much if you have ju...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SidAmy I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Hotel Paganelli
Hotel Paganelli
#103 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
Castello
Hotel Locanda Vivaldi
Hotel Locanda Vivaldi
#55 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 866 reviews
Castello
Hotel Savoia & Jolanda
Hotel Savoia & Jolanda
#86 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Hotel Londra Palace
Hotel Londra Palace
#22 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,489 reviews
Castello
Hotel Commercio & Pellegrino
Castello
A Tribute To Music
A Tribute To Music
#88 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Wildner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Wildner

Property: Hotel Wildner
Address: Riva Dei Schiavoni Castello 4161 | Castello, 30122 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#108 Family Hotel in Venice
#155 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Wildner 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Would you like to visit Venice and stay in a welcoming 3-star hotel with a 19th-century flair, admire dawns and sunsets over the lagoon from the Riva degli Schiavoni while savoring the selective entrees of a Venetian panoramic restaurant and taking in the charm of Saint Mark's Square?Venice's Hotel Wildner perpetuates its old family tradition to extend cordiality and hospitality to its guests, a wonderful view over Saint Mark's Basin and a romantic restaurant featuring local cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Wildner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wildner Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing