We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ideal Location”
Review of Hotel Principe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Principe
Ranked #161 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Stoke-on-Trent
Level Contributor
66 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Ideal Location”
Reviewed 13 April 2012

The hotel is only 5 minutes from Ferrovia so makes it ideal for getting from the bus or train station if you're not great at wheeling your suitcase through the streets. It also makes it easy to get everywhere because the No1 vaporetto also stops at Ferrovia and on that line you can get down to St Marks Square in approx 40mins, The Rialto in 15. Okay so back to the hotel- it is very clean so hats off to the chambermaids. Breakfast is continental although there are boiled and scrambled eggs as well fried parma ham. This being Venice they also do a range of brioche and a good fruit salad. If you like black coffee american style press expresso on the coffee maker and then place your cup under the hot water nozzle. If you ask for a room overlooking the canal it can get noisy with the water buses and other traffic. There is a terrace overlooking the canal so order an aperitivo and watch the world go by. The hotel dinner menu looked exciting but exceeded my budget but there are lots of different eateries around the hotel. Venture over the bridge and carry straight on for a couple of favourites.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank goldenoldie46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,976 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    473
    852
    376
    156
    119
See reviews for
362
1,101
71
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (367)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
essex
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

The hotel is situated in a good place for arrival by train or bus. Lots of shops and restaurants nearby.Quite a walk to St Marks square but fun exploring on the way. The breakfast was good and our room was adequate. The hotel is beautiful and the views from the terrace amazing. The staff could have been friendlier but were very efficient.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank able12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmond, OK
Level Contributor
64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

We had a room with a balcony on the canal. We enjoyed sitting on the balcony sipping wine watching the canal traffice and the setting sun.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room on the canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grandma73034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
110 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights as part of a tour and it was nice. The room was clean and cozy, there was not much room to move about but the bathroom made up for it. It was nearly the size of the bed room. The hotel itself was pleasant, the staff friendly.
We did have the buffet breakfast and it was average. Croissants, cheese, eggs, bacon, muffins, juice etc. Nothing spectacular but was decent.

I would recommend the hotel, based on the fact that I have not stayed anywhere else in Venice. Oh and the views of the canal were nice too.

Room Tip: we had 2nd floor, nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank spawithlisab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

The hotel is in an excellent location for people arriving in to Venice by buses, trains or indeed water taxis and vaporetto. It was really easy to find with shops and restaurants in the immediate vicinity.

The hotel is in a word stunning. The lobby, hotel bar, dining room and terrace are beautiful and the view is to die for. The staff at reception were courteous and polite, not the most friendly of people for sure but nice enough.

The breakfast as other people have mentioned in reviews is lovely with a wide variety and plenty of it! Another plus point was that it was served from 6.30-10.30am so suitable for early birds and late risers alike.

The only reason I couldn't give a 5 rating was that the room was a litle bit of a let down. Upon entering our room (507) I felt a little betrayed as the elegance and beauty of the downstairs in the hotel had not reached our room. The room was a little on the small side and I found that it if you need to shave your legs in the shower you need to open the doors and stick your leg out of the shower as there was not enough room inside! There was also an exposed pipe and the carpet was looking rather tired. Almost like a hotel of two halves- downstairs was a lovely four star hotel upstairs in the room i stayed in 2/scraping 3 stars.

BUT.. that said for the price I paid I shouldn't grumble too much, besides who spends very long in a hotel room when you are in the most beautiful city in the world. I think I was just a little disappointed having seen pictures of other rooms and the downstairs of the hotel that my room did not live up to those expectations.

I had a view of the rooftops of houses which to be honest is all I paid for and nice enough.

If you can afford it I would pay for a better room and a canal view however if you are just looking for a well located hotel with somewhere to rest for the night then a standard room in this hotel is perfect!

I visited in April and can only imagine how lovely it would be to sit out on the terrace in the evening in the summer.

I would return to this hotel and recommend it to friends just bear in mind if you pay for a standard room don't expect to see a room like the ones shown on their website.

Room Tip: Canal view if you can afford it
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Holly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Cannaregio
Hotel Continental Venice
Hotel Continental Venice
#163 of 385 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,286 reviews
Cannaregio
B4 Bellini Venezia
B4 Bellini Venezia
#108 of 385 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,536 reviews
Cannaregio
Amadeus Hotel
Amadeus Hotel
#166 of 385 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Croce
Hotel Carlton on the Grand Canal
Cannaregio
Hotel Belle Epoque
Hotel Belle Epoque
#190 of 385 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 896 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Abbazia
Hotel Abbazia
#78 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Principe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Principe

Property: Hotel Principe
Address: Lista di Spagna 146 | Cannaregio, 30121 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#83 Luxury Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Principe 4*
Number of rooms: 137
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, TravelUp and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Principe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn Venice
Principe Hotel Venice
Grand Hotel Principe
Hotel Principe Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing