We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (8)
Filter reviews
8 results
Traveller rating
7
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
7
1
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 8 reviews
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We rented the San Trovaso apartment for 6 nights in May. The apartment was quite comfortable and finding it was easy as Carlo met us at the Ca'Rezzonico stop and walked us to it. He gave us great suggestions on where to eat and how to get around and then left us on our own to explore. I would definitely stay in the Dorsoduro again as it is quiet and close to lots of good restaurants and also a short walk to the Venice Jazz Club.

Room Tip: If you are in the San Trovaso apartment you can hear people above you. I would think the top floor apartment would be the quietest.
Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank KarmaRoadie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We rented the Romite and enjoyed it very much. We now have some fond memories of staying in one of the most appealing neighbourhoods in all of Venice, that of the S. Barnaba area down to the Zattere waterfront. It works on so many levels: proximity to Billa supermarket and also the smaller Punta Sma one in Campo S. Margherita; close to the greengrocer just west and also Agricola Borga draft wine shop (you won't believe the prices if you bring your own water bottle); nearby both Grom and more importantly, the peerless Il Doge gelaterias; easy westerly walk over to Pane e Vino San Daniele, which might just become yer fave eatery in the city; closeness to the Zattere, Accademia plus Rezzonice waterbus stops (not to mention Zattere airport Alilaguna waterbus shuttles); many other logistical advantages trump any niggling minor concerns, like the many stairs up to the Romite apartment and its larger upper neighbour. We'd love to have met Carlo to compliment him on his fine apartment. *Be sure to ask him about his rare book, a superb guide to Venice's Osterias by Michela S. It is indispensable, even for those who've 'done their homework.' *One minor thing: his cleaning lady Tamara may benefit from a reminder that it is an age-old tradition that all foodstuffs and drinks left over by previous renters automatically become property of the new, incoming paying customers. The Dutch couple who preceded us were apologetic about being a couple hours late in vacating Romite apartment (seems no-one had informed them about the check-out time). As a gesture of kindness, they told us that we could expect to inherit not only the 20-odd dollars worth of remaining ham-eggs-yogurt etc but also their unopened bottle of chilled Soave. The foods, the wine and also some panforte that we ourselves had brought up to the apartment vanished, as Tamara cleaned things up. We were disappointed and thought that was tacky. Given that we were paying the full weekly rate even though staying for only 6 nights (our flight schedule cost us one night), the gesture of her taking that food and wine felt somehow tacky to us. Nonetheless, WeNiceVenice remains a positive memory for us and we would reccomend a stay here whole-heartedly.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zebecToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2012

These large, spacious apartments were perfect for a week-log stay in Venice. The owner was very helpful, suggesting places to see, and the location (on the Dorsoduro) is just outside of main tourist areas enough that you can appreciate the city.

The apartments are sparkly furnished, but the antiquity of the building has been preserved, with gorgeous roof beams and high ceilings.

We'd definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toph M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2011

We loved this place and plan to return. We stayed in a fourth floor unit and loved the decor. The owner Carlo undertands english better than we do and I wish we had a photo of him as he's very nice.

The apartment is big. It has a wonderful view of a courtyard. Please see my pictures. The rooms are a nice size and one bedroom is huge. The windows bring in nice light. The kitchen is small but were used to small kithens since we rarely eat at home. Please look at my photos and have a nice vacation.

BTW, it's in a ver neat and very safe area for girls.

Mun

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Munspopcorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2011

The units are over 500 years old and their BRAND NEW again! We stayed in the "Turchette" Apartment, check it out below.

http://www.wenicevenice.it/

The owners, (a bunch of brothers) fixed these Apartments up from ground floor to the unit we stayed in on the 4th floor. Counting the ground floors "grandmother suite", there are 4 units total.

To start, the owner, "Carlo" speaks great English. Anyone that travels knows what a joy it is when your host speaks several fluent languages. He'll also give you the run-down on your new neighborhood.

About the 4th floor "Turchette" Apartment: You have huge spectacular new wooden windows that overlook a charming Venetian neighborhood. The windows open up ‘two’ ways to allow in the sights and sounds of Venice. Note: The unit below ours has large windows that look out to a charming Venetian canal, gondolas and all.

THE VIEW: Since your on the top floor in the tallest building in the neighborhood, you'll have fun counting the church towers from your living area and two bedrooms, (we counted 5). If your like my wife that loves to have her coffee with a view, you can do no better. Look at the colorful Venetian rooftops or the large courtyard and gardens. All this followed by the morning church bells. You also have wooden floors, ROMANTIC lighting, a laundry machine, FREE WI-FI and of course a small kitchen.

The 'master' bed room is huge about 22 feet by 20 feet, (larger than any European hotel room). It looks ’bigger’ due to it's ‘cathedral’ ceiling that’s put together like a jigsaw puzzle. The bedroom, (along with the whole apartment) has the most elegant stained wooded ‘crossbeams’ you’ve ever seen. You will spend hours lying in bed wondering how they built this 20 foot ceiling over 500 years ago WITH SKY-LIGHT. Even more so, how does anyone have the fortune it took to renovate it back to it’s earlier glory with an updated heating system? NOTE: Real estate in Venice is atrocious, so are hotel rooms! All the more reason to lie and bed, stare at your ceiling and laugh at anyone that has rented a tiny Hotel room.

You have a some-what tiny kitchen that will save you $80 to $120 dollars a meal for two while in Venice, (It’s expensive eating out in this city). You need food? Simply go around the corner to a boat with veggies and fruit, (about a 5 min walk), the fishmonger market, (about a 7 minute walk), or go to the grocery store on the water, (about a 10 min walk). Go home and make some pasta with fresh basil, fish, salad and drink red wine…. then do it all over again the next day. After all, it's your home with several bars, eateries and wine stores near a "cool" artsy Dorsoduro neighborhood, (a 'canal stop' is five minutes away).

If you need anything like laundry soap just ask, (minus some toiletries of course … remember, this is your home, not a Hotel). We stayed for 18 nights and only needed laundry soap since the grocer is near by.

Note to large people, (over 250 pounds). Venice is built for average sized people, all the showers and some alley-ways are small. In our Apartment, the bathroom was big but the shower stall is small. This is no problem for the all the good looking fit local Italians like your host "Carlo". So take note, every time you climb the steps, your probably getting well needed exercise!

My home in Venice; I'm taking my Sister and Mother here for Mothers Day!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ducatihottie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews