We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What Venice is about!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
San Cassiano Residenza d'Epoca Ca' Favretto
Ranked #95 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Ca Favretto was built in the 14 th century and was once home to Venetian artist Giacomo Favretto famed for his realist art. It is how a boutique hotel exuding the charm of a historical Venetian home. Ca Favretto is tucked away in Santa Croce, an older part of Venice on the other side of San Marco square, with a Grand Canal frontage. It is about a 10 minute ride by water taxi from Venice's Santa Lucia station. The water taxi, costing ca. Euro 60, drops you right at the doorstep and is a neat way to start a holiday in Venice!

We had booked the Grand Canal view room which turned out to be on the first floor with an enclosed balcony providing great views of waterway. One of my favourite pastimes while there was looking out the window at the boats going by and letting the sound of tolling bells into the room. Our room, furnished with antique pieces and beautiful coloured glass chandelier and light fittings, was welcoming and clean. It accommodated us comfortably with a queen bed and two singles for our family of four. There was plenty of storage space and a modern en-suite.

Ca Favretto does not have an in- house restaurant but the room tariff came with breakfast served in a second floor salon offering cooked and continental options. There is a small bar on the ground floor with inside seating or choose the outdoor area overlooking the canal. A short walk will take you towards a range of restaurants and pizzerias. Prices vary but the places where we stopped by were generally good.

Staff at Ca Favretto were friendly and efficient. I commend them for their attitude as they did go out of the way to help with a request of mine.

I highly recommend Ca Favretto and I hope that your stay will be as memorable as ours. Note that the hotel is out of the main tourist drag and this is an added bonus.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the Grand Canal are definitely a must.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank XmasKid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,152)
There are newer reviews for San Cassiano Residenza d'Epoca Ca' Favretto
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

549 - 553 of 1,152 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2013

This place is so cool! This is the second time we stayed here. Last time it was 14 years ago, and it is even better. Beautiful old house , right on the Grand Canal. Comfortable, clean and totally authentic.
You can't beat the location... Santa Croce/San Polo is a beautiful area, quieter even at the peak tourist season with wonderful restaurants and vistas. Yet, a five minute walk to Rialto and another 5 minutes to San Marco (where the tens of thousands of tourists have displaced the pigeons)
All the guys in the staff are incredible polite and helpful.
Again, this is a gem!

Room Tip: Third floor (top floor) on the Grand Canal side.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nino d d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

We were given a room on the second floor near the breakfast room. This is perfectly fine if you would like to be woken up at the crack of dawn by staff talking, phones ringing and plates & dishes being banged about, the room we had was 221 and it was right next to the kitchen ! The room itself was dark, dingy and very small with a tiny window looking over a small side canal, if you strained your neck leaning out you could just about see the Grand Canal. Breakfast was ok, nothing special. Easy to find from Vaparetto stop San Stae.

Room Tip: Any other floor but the second !!
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paula R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

THis place rocked. The service was great and the breakfast was good. They had the best cappuccino I have ever had there. The water taxis are expensive but what isnt in Europe or in Venice? For some reason in Venice alot of the places to eat do not except credit cards so ask before eating.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank lb33wonka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

This beautiful hotel located off the canal had me hooked from the first view from our water taxi. The staff was very helpful with directions, the rooms were comfortable, large, clean and quiet. The Rialto Bridge and St. Mark's square are all within walking distance. A water taxi to Murano Island was included in the stay which we enjoyed! The breakfast is served in room with a lovely view of the canal. Breakfast was fresh and hot with a lot of variety.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 0509Karen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Cannaregio
Foscari Palace
Foscari Palace
#86 of 384 in Venice
1,092 reviews
Cannaregio
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
#34 of 384 in Venice
2,388 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Al Duca di Venezia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Duodo Palace Hotel
Duodo Palace Hotel
#71 of 384 in Venice
1,525 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Rialto
Hotel Rialto
#121 of 384 in Venice
2,160 reviews
Hotel L'Orologio
#22 of 384 in Venice
735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Cassiano Residenza d'Epoca Ca' Favretto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Cassiano Residenza d'Epoca Ca' Favretto

Address: Santa Croce 2232, 30135 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#60 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#81 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#101 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range: €93 - €665 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — San Cassiano Residenza d'Epoca Ca' Favretto 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Agoda, LateRooms and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your San Cassiano Residenza d'Epoca Ca' Favretto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Cassiano Residenza d`Epoca Ca` Favretto Hotel Venice
Hotel San Cassiano Venice
San Cassiano Ca Favretto Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing