We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Deal in Venice”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Venice
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Istituto San Giuseppe
Ranked #25 of 223 Speciality Lodging in Venice
Escondido, California
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Best Deal in Venice”
Reviewed 17 September 2011

I stayed here three nights last summer. The location is wonderful, right on a canal. The nunnery is big, but nice and quiet. My room was on the 4th floor, big enough with two single beds, nice window with a view over the real venice. The a/c worked great and the bathroom was modern and large for a single room. In an expensive city like Venice, this is the best deal you're going to get- less than $60/night. The only downside I can think of is if you're a big party person and want to be out past their curfew of midnight. After midnight they apparently don't answer the door and let you in the main door (I didn't test this rule).

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank SterlingGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    40
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
30
37
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

Stayed here around Easter 2011 when hotel prices when through the roof- this is reasonably priced, secure, comfortable and well located accommodation. The nuns are very helpful, but communicaton limited if you do not speak italian.

Had a room with twin beds which was spotlessly clean but beds slightly on the small side. There is a nightly curfew since this is a convent, but respect their rules and you will enjoy your stay. The location is fantastic, very near the Piazza San Marco with plenty of shops and restaurants around.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ml648926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2011

My wife and I had 4 good nights here. We wanted clean, simple accommodation at a budget price and got exactly that. It is run by nuns and contains a primary school, although the children were on holiday. Being an ex teacher I would have liked to see it up and running. Will have to go back.

It is a large, rambling old building with a central hall and court yards; pretty much what you'd expect in Venice. The rooms are clustered together at the back on the upper floors; third and fourth, I think. There is a lift though. We looked out onto more old buildings which seemed to be flats for native Venetians. The main door is impressive but set back from the hustle and bustle of one of the main walking routes between Rialto Bridge and St Mark's Square. These two sites are about 5 minutes stroll so you are very central. The institute is right on a busy little canal. Plush gondolas, food-supply boats, police, the bin men, all sail past. So it's busy, interesting and atmospheric. The accommodation itself is calm and quiet though, as you'd expect in a religious building.

The room was simple but comfortable. There was an efficient air conditioning unit for which we were grateful. The bathroom was fine. The nuns are courteous and helpful and require you to be in by 11 pm. They speak decent English and they listened patiently to my rudimentary Italian and even taught me some new vocab.

We paid 74 Euros per night for our double room. There was no breakfast but there is a small dining room with a fridge and microwave where you can rustle up your own breakfast. There is a small, well stocked supermarket 1 min walk away. Also every kind of cafe and restaurant within a stroll.

We booked it through Monastery Stays, who have a useful web site of similar accommodation throughout Italy. Their charge is hefty though, a further 74 Euros, which only becomes apparent at the end of the booking process. They only point out that they take nothing from the accommodation providers. If I were to book again I would ring the Institute directly.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Robin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2011

Wonderfully placed close to Srt Marks and spotlessly clean, our double room with twin beds and modern en suite was on the first floor at the rear of theConvent/kindergarten serviced by a lift . Hospitable nuns,quiet and efficient, even Mother Superior came out to farwwell us at 4.15am as we caught a water taxi to the airport! Now that IS service! Check out the prices, it is unbelievable value,even a cenrtral spot close to everything.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank maxpress1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

This is a monastery, extremely spacious and brilliantly located. I can guarantee that you won't find so much space in Venice at so affordable a price. San Marco Piazza is less than 5 mins away!
But ofc, you have to be ok with the curfew of 11 pm in summers...it worked for us :)

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ghoom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Palazzo Selvadego
Palazzo Selvadego
#157 of 385 in Venice
396 reviews
Giudecca
Hotel Giudecca Venezia
Hotel Giudecca Venezia
#138 of 385 in Venice
497 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Mignon
Hotel Mignon
#150 of 385 in Venice
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Giudecca
Generator Hostel Venice
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Casa Caburlotto
Casa Caburlotto
#126 of 463 in Venice
219 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Silk Road Hostel
Silk Road Hostel
#31 of 223 in Venice
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Istituto San Giuseppe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Istituto San Giuseppe

Property: Istituto San Giuseppe
Address: Ponte della Guerra 5402, 5402 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 223 Speciality Lodging in Venice
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Istituto San Giuseppe Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing