We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You have to be there at least once in your lifetime”
Review of Canal Grande

Canal Grande
Book In Advance
More Info
US$64.63*
and up
Glorious Grand Canal Tour
More Info
US$57.45*
and up
Venice Grand Canal Small Group 1-Hour Boat Tour
More Info
US$104.12*
and up
Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade with Dinner
Ranked #1 of 740 things to do in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Venice's main water thoroughfare, lined with great Renaissance palaces, is a colorful and busy spectacle of gondolas and vaporetti.
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“You have to be there at least once in your lifetime”
Reviewed 8 March 2012

Venice itself is amazing. When I was taking a "taxi" on the grand canal, the view was breathtaking(to me at least). If you are into architecture and sorts i believe you would appreciate the view

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank TheAvidTraveller92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31,806 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23,406
    7,117
    1,063
    140
    80
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
West Sussex
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Quite a site!”
Reviewed 8 March 2012

Great part of venice culture - everything evolves around the canal - the public transport and deliveries for the businesses as well as of course the gondolas!
Busy and bustling - particularly by Rialto - walk further away from there along the canal and you will find some lovely quieter spots to watch Venice go by!
The vaporetto trip from the airport takes you two ways along the grand canal - we too the vaparetto from the airport which dropped us at St Marks - on the way back to the airport we left from the Rialto Bridge stop and made sure we got the taxi which went the long way up the grand canal - great and cheap way of seeing Venice from the Grand Canal and a lovely end to a trip to Venice

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank sarah_gray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sweden
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Just like the photographs”
Reviewed 8 March 2012

Very exciting to actually the Grand Canal for the first time but we were really glad we were there in January as there already lots of tourists. Must be a nightmare in the summer.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank bonnie1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“It doesn't get better than this!!”
Reviewed 7 March 2012

One of the best places I have ever been. You have to visit at least once in your life!!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimg10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brantford Ontario Canada
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“the grand canal”
Reviewed 7 March 2012

The centre of action in Venice. what a busy, beautiful place, both day and night.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank 723brian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Canal Grande also viewed

 
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Canal Grande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing