We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Punta Maquignaz
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Jumeaux Hotel(Breuil-Cervinia)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Mignon(Breuil-Cervinia)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Bucaneve(Breuil-Cervinia)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Fosson(Breuil-Cervinia)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Residence Castelli(Breuil-Cervinia)
View Hotel
Hotel Perruquet(Breuil-Cervinia)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Lyskamm(Breuil-Cervinia)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Europa(Breuil-Cervinia)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Excelsior Planet(Breuil-Cervinia)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Sporting(Breuil-Cervinia)
View Hotel
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (121)
Filter reviews
121 results
Traveller rating
29
35
22
23
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
29
35
22
23
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsalpine hotelsboot rooma bit hit and misshigh streetstayed nightstea and coffeebar areahotel guestsski storagechair liftshort walkthe main streetevery nightcakesyogurtvillagecretaz
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 121 reviews
Reviewed 7 January 2018 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel for 10 days, we were two families.
Their location was brilliant, smack bang in the middle of the town , the main chairlifts around the corner.
The rooms and hotel are beautifully decorated. The Whole hotel has a wonderful charm about it.
In the bar at night the staff are generous with their assortments of snacks.
The bar downstairs although not part of the hotel was also very nice.
We almost felt we didn’t have to leave the place as it was so great.
My only negative, the staff for the dining area were not friendly at all, could hardly find them.
The food for breakfast was dismal, I had to ask practically every morning for some tomatoes as there was only protein and starch for breakfast. The sweet pastries for breakfast were the “dessert buffet” at night.
We went for the half board, was convenient.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
Thank annabelle444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maquignaz, Reception at Hotel Punta Maquignaz, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2018

Dear Annabelle,

thank you for your review and for having spent your holidays with us.
It is a pleasure to read you had a nice stay and that you enjoyed our hotel's atmosphere.
We take into account every feedback we receive, in order to improve our service: therefore we immediately reported the down sides you mentioned.

We really hope you are going to visit us again in the future!
All the best,

Denis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2017

Ottima esperienza, personale molto gentile, camera silenziosa, ampia e luminosissima.
Posizione centralissima e strategica. Colazione ottima e abbondante. Prezzi assolutamente abbordabili rispetto alla media di Cervinia. Consigliatissimo.

Really a nice experience, the staff was very kind to us, room very large and bright.
Central and strategic location. Breakfast really good and abundant. Absolutely affordable prices compared to the average of Cervinia. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank LaBarbabietola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maquignaz, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Punta Maquignaz, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2017
Google Translation

Gentile Antonio,
grazie per il tempo che ha trascorso con noi e per la bella recensione. Ci fa molto piacere leggere che il soggiorno sia stato di suo gradimento, pertanto ci auguriamo di riaverla presto nostro ospite!

Un caro saluto da parte di tutto lo staff!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2017

The food (dinner) was pretty bad, easily the worst I've had in Italy, which I've visited many times, and often in establishments far cheaper than this one. Breakfast was OK.
The service was generally good, they tried their best.
The nail in the coffin for us though, was when they wouldn't let us use the amenities for a post-ski shower a few hours after check-out, waiting for our transfer bus.
The place is way, way too expensive for what you get, the only thing it's got going for it is the location.

Stayed: January 2017
1  Thank Jesper S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maquignaz, reception at Hotel Punta Maquignaz, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2017

Dear Jesper,

thank you for your feedback. I am really sorry to read that you were not satisfied with your stay at Hotel Punta Maquignaz, especially with the food. We always try our best to please our guests and their needs. As we are aware of the problems you mentioned, we are currently offering a new menu in our restaurant, which we hope you will try again one day.
We do not let our departing guests to use the shower in the wellness area, in order to guarantee the maximum relax to the other spa users and to avoid queues.
We hope, though, you will consider visiting us again in the future.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2017

The hotel bills itself as 4 stars but for our 5 night stay as a family of 5 in two rooms, we felt overall this was misleading. They changed the rooms we had reserved, service was at best OK but at times really poor. Food OK but not 4 stars.

We had booked two interconnecting rooms with balcony so got off to a bad start when we saw the hotel staff had, without any consultation, changed us to two small rooms (401, 402) next door to each other with no balcony. After one night, we complained and the staff changed us (parents) to a room with a balcony (303). As the hotel was full, they could not do anything about our kids' room so they stayed a floor up from us in a room we felt was too small for 3 single beds.

Despite following up with the hotel, we never received any explanation as to why they had made a significant change to our reservation without any consultation with us. TIP: Double check again and again what you think you have booked and if you asked for a balcony, make sure you get one. All rooms with balcony are much bigger, with higher ceilings.

After one night of sampling the food on half board, we opted for B&B for the next 4 nights and ate in some lovely restaurants in Cervinia or up on the hillside overlooking the village.

WiFi connectivity was poor which frustrated our teenage kids. At best you could pick up emails but certainly not stream or FaceTime.

The evening before we were due to leave to drive back to Milan airport, we asked the hotel reception (Simone) to check they could move the car that was blocking our car in the car park. They reassured us this was fine. We checked again before breakfast and again they said it was all in order. After breakfast, all packed and needing to leave for our flight, Simone told us they could not locate the people nor the key to the car blocking ours in the car park. It took 40 mins for them to sort it, eventually by towing the locked, offending car backwards out of the car park. We should have asked them to move it the night before but had taken them at their word that they had checked and were sure they could move the car.

The only positives for this hotel would be:
1. that it is conveniently located close to the Cretaz lifts (chair lifts only) but actually Cervinia is quite a lot smaller than we expected so staying at a hotel further out might not be that bad and probably better service and attention to detail all round.
2. Bar area is quirky and welcoming

I would not recommend this - not at all value for money and service that was almost laughable (but very frustrating at the time). :(

Room Tip: Wifi very up and down - so streaming and FaceTime not possible
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Jackie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2017

This hotel certainly isn't bad, but it could be easily improved with a few tweaks. The staff were a bit hit-and-miss during our stay; sometimes they would be really friendly and attentive, other times you'd be standing at the bar being ignored while they were talking to each other. Again, the food was a bit hit-and-miss; some nights were better than others, but overall I wasn't a huge fan, and I'm not particularly fussy.

WiFi connectivity was generally poor. This might not be an issue for some, but if you're trying to talk to family back home, it could be a pain.

On the positive side, it was very close to the slopes and had its own ski storage. It also has quirky decor, which adds a bit of interest.

If some tweaks were made based on the above, I'd probably give it another "star".

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank danmalloy1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews