We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (213)
Filter reviews
213 results
Traveller rating
148
49
13
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
148
49
13
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews spa treatments lovely garden wonderful stay medieval structure castle beauty lisa castel guests facilities town mountains
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 213 reviews
Reviewed 29 September 2014

The hotel is within easy walking distance from the center of the city. We were sorry we could only stay 2 days, as there was more to see than we could manage in this short time. The hotel was a little difficult to find, so we were guided there by phone. We found the rooms spacious and clean, the people, including the owner, eager to help and serve and the kitchen very good. There is nice garden, which is very inviting for lounging. The wonderful Trautmannsdorff gardens are also close by, and are certainly worth a visit.

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank slingeland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Our title is perhaps a slight exaggeration , but we first visited Schloss Rundegg at the beginning of the 80's before our (now 31) Daughter was born. In more than 40 years of business & personal trips through Europe we have never stayed at a Hotel that exceeded the standards of Classical Ambience and sheer quality of the infrastructure and guest service that is on offer at Rundegg. A very small number have for us been close or similar but none have surpassed the feeling we continuously get from our stays at Rundegg. From the Managing Family down they really go the extra distance to give the guest a truly superb stay. All the Staff are just so genuinely attentive and courteous to the Guests every need. The Castle itself is spotlessly clean , in immaculate condition , full of wonderful Antiques and paintings & old prints. The rooms are superb - expansive in area with very high quality beds and appointments , and are very very quiet - there is no road or community noise to distract sleep. The Bathrooms are similarly large & of high quality fit out and lacking absolutely nothing by way of appointments. There is free WiFi available from the rooms which is a great facility to offer. The Breakfast (either internally or on the external Terrace) has a food selection range that almost beggars belief. The Restaurant has old vaulted ceilings , offers a very wide excellent range of food choices (ditto the wine selection available) , and what is delivered to the table excels each night without exception. There is more than ample parking in the Castle grounds for Guests vehicles. The gardens to the rear of the Building have wonderful gardens with the specimen trees in most instances having Plaques that identify the Botanic and common name of the tree. Our Daughter had a massage session and Full Facial in the Health section of the Hotel and said that the standard of the treatment was very professional and very enjoyable. And last but not least the cost of a stay at Rundegg we believe to be extremely reasonable for what they offer the guest. We will continue to visit and enjoy Schloss Rundegg as often as we can in the coming years.

Room Tip: We have stayed in various rooms over the decades. Every room is excellent. We have never been disappointed - even slightly !
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FRANK H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We stayed at the Castel Rundegg in October last year but as no one has reviewed it since May I’ll include our experience there. We were in Merano to celebrate my partner’s birthday (he’s a lovely Libran) and I spent quite a lot of time in advance poring over the different hotels available on booking.com/hotels.com before finally deciding on Castel Rundegg (the stay here was to be a birthday surprise). He used to live in Merano many years ago and now we were to visit family/friends still in the area. I booked a “double room” and after checking in we were shown into the Elizabeth Suite, at the top of the stairs on the first floor. Now I was the one who was surprised, as this consisted of a large sitting room with a comfortable sofa, armchair, table and sideboard with a large flat-screen TV and wardrobe/ suitcase space. The bedroom was just as large with a wide double bed and another wardrobe. The marble bathroom was huge and inviting in cream colours with lots of towels, bath robes, slippers and toiletries etc. that could be wished for. To say that this suite was more than I had anticipated is quite right, and as it was his birthday we were very pleased. The windows from our bedroom (a corner room) looked out over the lovely garden and we could glimpse Merano below. From the living room we could see the Alps in the distance as well as more of the grounds. Castel Rundegg itself was a beautiful building, smaller than the impression given from the pictures on the web site. There were comfortable furnishings everywhere, as well as antiquities and art that was either local or from the Austrian period when the Empress Elizabeth (known as Sissi) often stayed in Merano. There is no WiFi in the rooms but downstairs in the bar, reception area and public lounge.
The hotel lay some small distance above and outside the centre, so the first morning we walked down the “Sissi weg”, a scenic walking route to the town centre, which took us about a quarter of an hour. Along the way were beautiful views along a river, gardens and a few shops probably aimed at visitors, but selling silk scarves and other quality items. Merano itself was a very charming town, full of historic buildings and mostly surrounded by apple orchards, both Italian and Austrian as it is located in South Tyrol in Italy but very close to Austria and not that far from Switzerland. There was a harvest festival going on the when we were there and there were gatherings in squares with oompha bands and folk costumes. We took a taxi back up to the hotel again later in the afternoon, there were local busses too but a taxi took just five minutes.
Breakfast at the Rundegg in the morning was a very extensive buffet across several tables, there was every kind of dish, fruits, and cereals etc. one could wish for, also local cheeses and pâtés, so we just had to order coffee or tea. The breakfast room itself seemed to be partly in the cellar, with vaulted ceilings and several different rooms and spaces for guests to sit in, very charming; staff were very helpful and attentive.
There is also a spa/wellness centre below the hotel in the basement, with a large pool, several saunas, steam rooms and showers. We made the most of these facilities on both days while we were there and we certainly enjoyed the pool and the saunas, just great. The hotel seemed to be full but nevertheless the spa facilities/pool did not seem crowed – be careful with wet floors though when moving around from spa to pool, we saw one lady slip and fall, but happily no injury bar perhaps a few bruises later on.
I just checked booking.com again for room prices during the same period this year and that is ridiculously good value for what is on offer. I can’t recommend the Castel Rundegg enough, it is a lovely, atmospheric (and cosy) hotel, best described as a "boutique Schloss hotel", we will certainly be back there again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patricia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2013

We found this hotel by accident and very glad we did. The hotel is a renovated schloss and very tastefully restored. The food was excellent in the restaurant and the waiters very friendly and accommodating to any request we made. The wine list also contains some very good local wines .The hotel was peaceful and quiet, ideal for a getaway. We used the wellness area and the swimming pool.
One small niggle for some people might be the lack if wi-fi coverage. Secure parking is available at no extra charge and its only a short walk to the center of Meran.

Room Tip: Some rooms have better bathrooms than others so it pays to check a couple out if possible.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UKnowMyName
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2012

Randegg - an ancient castle located in Italy near the large city of Merano to the province of Bolzano (northern Italy). A little more than a century ago that part of the country in which the castle belonged to was Austria. In this regard, there are still some strong Austrian traditions. The castle stands between the Val and Val Passeier Ventosta in the exclusive area of ​​Maia Alta is known for its spas. Randegg does not look like a castle in the usual sense - rather it is a huge mansion, built in the Romanesque style. The estate consists of a set of extensions, covered with a peaked tile roof.

The current owner of the castle converted into hotel Randegg and beauty center, the so-called Beauty Farm. Here come visitors from all over the world - mainly in order to rest and restore health, which contributes to very mild Mediterranean climate areas.

Rooms are equipped with quite modern castle. In the rooms you will not find that charming medieval castles which offer other hotels, but, nevertheless, is quite comfortable. In the public areas (lobby and restaurant) owners have tried to preserve the historic environment, leaving low-arched openings here and old paintings. The three wings of the building are connected by transitions luxuriously furnished, where you can see a variety of antiques and paintings.
The guests of the castle can take a walk on local historical sites and visit the nearby town of Merano.

Unfortunately, historical documents, which can trace the history of the castle, almost did not survive. It is known that Randegg was built in 1154, as a luxury manor. At that time, the castle and the surrounding area were in the possession of Austria.

Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
Thank Irunchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews