We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful stay at Castel Rundegg”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Castel Rundegg Hotel
Ranked #12 of 54 Hotels in Merano
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We stayed at the Castel Rundegg in October last year but as no one has reviewed it since May I’ll include our experience there. We were in Merano to celebrate my partner’s birthday (he’s a lovely Libran) and I spent quite a lot of time in advance poring over the different hotels available on booking.com/hotels.com before finally deciding on Castel Rundegg (the stay here was to be a birthday surprise). He used to live in Merano many years ago and now we were to visit family/friends still in the area. I booked a “double room” and after checking in we were shown into the Elizabeth Suite, at the top of the stairs on the first floor. Now I was the one who was surprised, as this consisted of a large sitting room with a comfortable sofa, armchair, table and sideboard with a large flat-screen TV and wardrobe/ suitcase space. The bedroom was just as large with a wide double bed and another wardrobe. The marble bathroom was huge and inviting in cream colours with lots of towels, bath robes, slippers and toiletries etc. that could be wished for. To say that this suite was more than I had anticipated is quite right, and as it was his birthday we were very pleased. The windows from our bedroom (a corner room) looked out over the lovely garden and we could glimpse Merano below. From the living room we could see the Alps in the distance as well as more of the grounds. Castel Rundegg itself was a beautiful building, smaller than the impression given from the pictures on the web site. There were comfortable furnishings everywhere, as well as antiquities and art that was either local or from the Austrian period when the Empress Elizabeth (known as Sissi) often stayed in Merano. There is no WiFi in the rooms but downstairs in the bar, reception area and public lounge.
The hotel lay some small distance above and outside the centre, so the first morning we walked down the “Sissi weg”, a scenic walking route to the town centre, which took us about a quarter of an hour. Along the way were beautiful views along a river, gardens and a few shops probably aimed at visitors, but selling silk scarves and other quality items. Merano itself was a very charming town, full of historic buildings and mostly surrounded by apple orchards, both Italian and Austrian as it is located in South Tyrol in Italy but very close to Austria and not that far from Switzerland. There was a harvest festival going on the when we were there and there were gatherings in squares with oompha bands and folk costumes. We took a taxi back up to the hotel again later in the afternoon, there were local busses too but a taxi took just five minutes.
Breakfast at the Rundegg in the morning was a very extensive buffet across several tables, there was every kind of dish, fruits, and cereals etc. one could wish for, also local cheeses and pâtés, so we just had to order coffee or tea. The breakfast room itself seemed to be partly in the cellar, with vaulted ceilings and several different rooms and spaces for guests to sit in, very charming; staff were very helpful and attentive.
There is also a spa/wellness centre below the hotel in the basement, with a large pool, several saunas, steam rooms and showers. We made the most of these facilities on both days while we were there and we certainly enjoyed the pool and the saunas, just great. The hotel seemed to be full but nevertheless the spa facilities/pool did not seem crowed – be careful with wet floors though when moving around from spa to pool, we saw one lady slip and fall, but happily no injury bar perhaps a few bruises later on.
I just checked booking.com again for room prices during the same period this year and that is ridiculously good value for what is on offer. I can’t recommend the Castel Rundegg enough, it is a lovely, atmospheric (and cosy) hotel, best described as a "boutique Schloss hotel", we will certainly be back there again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patricia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (174)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 174 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2013

We stayed at this wonderful Hotel in May for two nights We could not fault it
The staff are wonderful Tony is friendly helpful and always has a big smile the waitresses the chambermaid reception staff and the owners all helpful kind people. The lovely lady who runs the beauty clinic shown me around all the amazing equipment they have This Hotel has a complete Health and Beauty package or individual treatments to suit you She took the time to show me even though she knew I was leaving that day and would not be using any of the equipment
The food at dinner was delicious the wines were very reasonably priced A very good breakfast was served with a brilliant choice of good quality foods The room we had was really large with a super bathroom and views over the garden Thank you for a wonderful stay we will recommend this Hotel and will certainly come back when in the area
Sue Brooks

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suebroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2013

We found this hotel by accident and very glad we did. The hotel is a renovated schloss and very tastefully restored. The food was excellent in the restaurant and the waiters very friendly and accommodating to any request we made. The wine list also contains some very good local wines .The hotel was peaceful and quiet, ideal for a getaway. We used the wellness area and the swimming pool.
One small niggle for some people might be the lack if wi-fi coverage. Secure parking is available at no extra charge and its only a short walk to the center of Meran.

Room Tip: Some rooms have better bathrooms than others so it pays to check a couple out if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UKnowMyName
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2012

Randegg - an ancient castle located in Italy near the large city of Merano to the province of Bolzano (northern Italy). A little more than a century ago that part of the country in which the castle belonged to was Austria. In this regard, there are still some strong Austrian traditions. The castle stands between the Val and Val Passeier Ventosta in the exclusive area of ​​Maia Alta is known for its spas. Randegg does not look like a castle in the usual sense - rather it is a huge mansion, built in the Romanesque style. The estate consists of a set of extensions, covered with a peaked tile roof.

The current owner of the castle converted into hotel Randegg and beauty center, the so-called Beauty Farm. Here come visitors from all over the world - mainly in order to rest and restore health, which contributes to very mild Mediterranean climate areas.

Rooms are equipped with quite modern castle. In the rooms you will not find that charming medieval castles which offer other hotels, but, nevertheless, is quite comfortable. In the public areas (lobby and restaurant) owners have tried to preserve the historic environment, leaving low-arched openings here and old paintings. The three wings of the building are connected by transitions luxuriously furnished, where you can see a variety of antiques and paintings.
The guests of the castle can take a walk on local historical sites and visit the nearby town of Merano.

Unfortunately, historical documents, which can trace the history of the castle, almost did not survive. It is known that Randegg was built in 1154, as a luxury manor. At that time, the castle and the surrounding area were in the possession of Austria.

Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
Thank Irunchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012 via mobile

The Castle sounds great but even better when you arrive. Everyone is very warm and friendly and accommodating .
The rooms are very spacious and very comfortable so check in and go walk the grounds.
Enjoy the garden areas, pond and outdoor dining or the inside dining is very nice too!!
I'll be back.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve48Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merano hotels
1.1 km away
Hotel Terme Merano
Hotel Terme Merano
#3 of 54 in Merano
1,331 reviews
0.6 km away
Ansitz Plantitscherhof
Ansitz Plantitscherhof
#6 of 54 in Merano
630 reviews
3.8 km away
Relais & Chateaux Hotel Castel Fragsburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 km away
Boutique & Design Hotel ImperialArt
1 km away
Villa Eden Leading Park Retreat
1.7 km away
Hotel Windsor
Hotel Windsor
#4 of 54 in Merano
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castel Rundegg Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castel Rundegg Hotel

Address: Schennasterasse 2, 39012, Merano, Italy
Region: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of South Tyrol > Merano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 54 Hotels in Merano
Price Range: €161 - €261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Castel Rundegg Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Castel Rundegg Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing