We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic Spa and Legacy Hunting Lodge in the Italian Alps”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Relais & Chateaux Hotel Castel Fragsburg
Ranked #3 of 56 Hotels in Merano
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Classic Spa and Legacy Hunting Lodge in the Italian Alps”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

Excellent food, rooms and service in the Italian Alps. German spoken here.

We enjoyed the great location, food, wine and atmosphere of this classic legacy hunting lodge. Although located a long distance above and from Merano (Not within walking distance to Merano) we found the location to our liking for the respite it provided.

Staff was exceptional, friendly and courteous.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicholas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    242
    31
    8
    1
    2
See reviews for
29
192
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
München
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2011

The Hotel is located above Meran with fantastic views of the valley and Mountains. It offers spa treatments (which we did not use) and has a decent size pool, considering the small number of rooms it has. By far the best feature of the hotel is its restaurant, so you should by any means book the half board arrangement. The food is very good and certainly the restaurant deserves the michelin star it was awarded. Our room was in line with expectations. Also, the hotel's staff is very helpful and friendly. For example, we asked for a late check out because we wanted to do one more hiking tour on our last day and were allowed to check out by 5 p.m. So, for those who like good food after a day of hiking, this is an ideal base.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alexander_munich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moscow
Level Contributor
149 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2011

I was dreaming to visit and to see the Dolomites. The mountains appeared as wonderful as expected. I was there in the summer time, in August, which is I assume not high season for this area.
The Hotel was really outstanding. I was upgraded to one of the biggest Suites with amazing panoramic views over the mountains. The room was very spacious, decorated in traditional tirol style, with mostly wooden elements.
I would also like to tell few words about restaurant, 1 Michelin star and talented chef. We had two options to enjoy the dinner a la carte or to have gourmet set menu which was already included in the room rate. I must admit that the menu included is very nice and there is even no sense to order it A la carte. Huge variety of local wines, perfect riesling. Hotel has nice pool with again panoramic views, and SPA center offering different treatments, but I would recommend to try traditional tirol hay bath. I was turned over the blanket and hay, and was put into the bath which was steamed, unforgettable feelings.
Special thanks to hotel staff, friendly, very helpful, speaking English, Italian and German. Upon departure we were presented a souvenir – traditional glass, but it was not the end. Coming up to our car we found a windscreen cleaned up and a note from GM wishing a safe and pleasant trip.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chuprasov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crowcombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2011

we spent 10 days at castel fragsberg back in 2000 on our honeymoon , and stayed again in 2005 , and in may just gone, this has to be for us one of the best places to stay in Europe ,
top class service , the food is second to none , and the views from your room ,and the swimming pool are magnificent ,
there is so much to do and see in the area , and lots of healthy walking to reduce those pounds put on over dinner.
yes castel fragsberg is a fantastic place to stay indeed.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adrian747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schengen, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2011

We only stayed for one night, but would have loved to stay longer. The staff at Castel Fragsburg is friendly and efficient. The suite was divine. It was very roomy and clean. the bathroom was also very spacious. We had a fantastic view on the valley and Merano. The food at dinner was superb, the breakfast is copious and varied. When we left we also found that someone had cleaned the windshield of the car , which was a nice surprise, and an indicator of the level of service given at the Castel Fragsburg. We have no negative remarks. Bravo Castel Fragsburg. We will be back! :-))

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nickybeegee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Merano
3.2 km away
Ansitz Plantitscherhof
Ansitz Plantitscherhof
#6 of 56 in Merano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
4.2 km away
Hotel Terme Merano
Hotel Terme Merano
#4 of 56 in Merano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,215 reviews
1.9 km away
Miramonti Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
Leading Health Spa Villa Eden
4.6 km away
Hotel Windsor
Hotel Windsor
#2 of 56 in Merano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
3.8 km away
Park Hotel Mignon & Spa
Park Hotel Mignon & Spa
#23 of 56 in Merano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais & Chateaux Hotel Castel Fragsburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais & Chateaux Hotel Castel Fragsburg

Property: Relais & Chateaux Hotel Castel Fragsburg
Address: Via Fragsburger Strasse, 3, 39012, Merano, Italy
Region: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of South Tyrol > Merano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Merano
#2 Luxury Hotel in Merano
#3 Romantic Hotel in Merano
#5 Family Hotel in Merano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€€€
Hotel Class:5 star — Relais & Chateaux Hotel Castel Fragsburg 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High above the valley of Merano – nestling against the sundrenched southern slopes of the mighty Dolomites and commanding spectacular sweeping views over one of Europe’s most enchanting landscapes: this is Castel Fragsburg, a fine 17th century Retreat of noble origins, now the smallest luxury hotel in the region. Castel Fragsburg is privately owned since 1955 by the Ortner family, who continue to give the hotel remarkable character reflecting the unspoilt, vast landscape of the Dolomites and the vineyards and orchards of South Tyrol. As a member of Relais & Châteaux the Castle Fragsburg follows the philosophy ‘a unique home for a unique stay’ and is part of their ‘collection of the world’s finest restaurants and hotels’. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Relais & Chateaux Hotel Castel Fragsburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castel Fragsburg Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing