We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some good, some bad - inconsistent overall”
Review of Hotel Aracoeli

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Aracoeli
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Orta San Giulio
Reviewed 30 August 2016

The staff at the hotel were consistently good and there's no doubt about the hotel's location - right on San Giulio's main piazza and right next to Lake Orta. Superb.

There's a lot to like about Aracoeli, too. The breakfasts are great: a huge buffet of high-quality sweet and savoury foods to eat while you're sitting out in the piazza watching everyone start their day.

The beds are comfortable and the rooms have a cool, slightly quirky style that's not too overbearing. The shower was powerful and a bit different - in the middle of the room.

That's all good, but there were too many little faults and issues (in my opinion) for a hotel that costs £120+ per night.

The floor in our room was painted concrete that proved incredibly slippery, and the shower glass wasn't flush to the rest of the shower, so water leaked onto the floor - which made it even worse. The shower drainage was inconsistent, the shower light stopped working after a day, and the bathroom extractor fan barely worked at all.

Lighting in the rest of the room is sparse and the light in the floor outside the room was cracked and sometimes didn't work. Our tea/coffee tray didn't have any cutlery. The main door into the room has a frosted window, but there's a gap around the outside that means people can see in - we hung clothes up to block the view.

There's no full-length mirror and no actual wardrobe, just a rail that you can hang clothes on and surround with a curtain. There's no in-room wifi, either - just on the ground floor.

None of these are dealbreakers and aren't things that I've even bring up in most places - either too inconsequential or stuff that wouldn't be fixed during our stay's time frame. However, I think they're worth mentioning in a review.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (159)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 159 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2016 via mobile

We stayed in Orta for my stepson's wedding and chose the Aracoeli.

The hotel is based right in the main square, which has a lovely view but can be slightly noisy some mornings with rubbish collection and nearby restaurants serting up.

The rooms are large and quirky ours had shower in the room which did tend to flood though.

Breakfast is amazing, huge buffet of all things imaginable which can be taken outside as you watch the world go by.

Fridge in room is stocked with water and juice and selection of pastries which are free and topped up daily.

Wifi is also free and fast in the lobby. Hotel only has 7 rooms so lovely and small.

Lovely, clean central hotel for a stay in Orta

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Jackie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2016

The hotel was situated in the square which was for pedestrians and parking was a short walk away. You can get permission to unload luggage from local police. The rooms were very large with a bathroom and walk-in shower. Bed was a bit uncomfortable but stay was ok. Breakfast was fine. Plenty to choose from and very friendly staff. Hotel had a lift. Plenty of restaurants in the square and opportunity to take boat trip across the lake.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a balcony and if you require a travel cot, you have to pay extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lee Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for three nights as part of our honeymoon in August.

We parked at the top of the hill (in what turned out to be next to the hotel car park!) and walked our way into town. The map we were sent on booking showed us the way and we were met by friendly members of staff who checked us in.

The room certainly is quirky, with the shower in the middle of the bedroom, but the bed was very comfy and there was a fridge with drinks to cool off. The room was air conditioned too.

The location of this hotel is its real selling point, just above the main piazza with short walks to all restaurants and bars.

The breakfast was lovely and there was lots of choice in a continental style.

The hotel is not luxurious by any means but has a great location and I would certainly recommend to other couples.

Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Mr B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2015 via mobile

The breakfast is good and abundant, in this re- designed hotel; I fancy by somebody with a partner to impress or vice-versa. The room on the fourth floor has fantastic views but no balcony. This is not a place to visit over a certain age unless you have a young nurse; the beds are futon mattresses at floor level. Nor should book thinking that you can take a couple of weeks to write your book; there is desk or a chair to sit at. If you are not put off by these conditions, the hotel is worth a visit; functional and clean. My advice is to so in the next couple of years. The shoddy workmanship is beginning to show.

Stayed: November 2015, travelled with family
Thank bigganose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orta San Giulio hotels
1.2 km away
Hotel Bocciolo
Hotel Bocciolo
#3 of 11 in Orta San Giulio
56 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel San Rocco
Hotel San Rocco
#5 of 11 in Orta San Giulio
536 reviews
0.8 km away
Villa Crespi
Villa Crespi
#1 of 11 in Orta San Giulio
985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Piccolo Hotel Olina
Piccolo Hotel Olina
#9 of 11 in Orta San Giulio
144 reviews
1 km away
Santa Caterina
Santa Caterina
#8 of 11 in Orta San Giulio
231 reviews
0 km away
Hotel Leon d'Oro d'Orta
Hotel Leon d'Oro d'Orta
#6 of 11 in Orta San Giulio
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aracoeli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aracoeli

Address: Piazza E. Motta 34, 28016 Orta San Giulio, Italy
Region: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Novara > Orta San Giulio
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Orta San Giulio
Price Range: €92 - €128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Aracoeli 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your Hotel Aracoeli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing