We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well located comfortable Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Andreola Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Andreola Hotel
Ranked #95 of 431 Hotels in Milan
Adelaide
Level Contributor
295 reviews
169 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Well located comfortable Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2011

My wife and I stayed her for 2 nights 28/4-30/4 in room 212. It was shown as a 4 star hotel and we'd not argue, based on European assessments. Good staff, comfortable room and beds, clean and in a brilliant location for us as train travellers. We bought and used a day pass on the metro, brilliant. Good breakfast, only annoyance was that the room was hot and they did not seem to be able to fix it, albeit with a disarming smile and hands spead..Not cheap but this was Milan.
The restaurants, take your pick . The Duomo and the adjacent Gallery, La Scala Opera House, Via Spadri and Pecks, Restaurant la Petit near the hotel. Just beaut.

Room Tip: Just stay there
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SouthOztraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

809 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    229
    376
    121
    45
    38
See reviews for
120
295
53
169
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
singapore
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2011

Good location. No free wifi.. It is chargeable. The rooms are alright. Dinner at the top floor restaurant was very nice. There was only one waiter but he was efficient n helpful.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suguna2202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gisborne, New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2011

We arrived at the Andreola Hotel, tired and bedraggled after a 30-hour flight from New Zealand - the lovely man at the reception desk took one look at us and decided to give us an upgrade to the top floor suite which was absolutely gorgeous. There was a huge bedroom, separate sitting room and spacious tiled bathroom with a double-sized shower. The three rooms were beautifully furnished with magificent views of the Duomo and surrounding landscape. We opted to walk all the way to the Duomo, fortress, shopping streets and galleria but you could take a bus, tram or Metro. The hotel is about a five minute walk from the railway and bus station so it is ideally located for people catching a bus or train from the airport to the central city. The breakfast was outstanding with delicious fresh fruit, cereals, pastries, eggs and cold cuts. Must do: arrive at the Duomo at 9.30am and be the first to climb up the steps to the roof of the cathedral where you are high amongst the spires and can see the Swiss mountains on a fine day. Be sure to be at a bar at 5 or 6pm for apperativo time where they serve free nibbles if you buy a glass of wine, beer or cocktails!
Justine and Chris Tyerman, Gisborne, New Zealand.

Room Tip: Book the top floor suite - fabulous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank justine t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redding, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2011

I stay here whenever I am in Milan, as do my family members. I have always found the staff courteous and helpful. Rooms are spacious by Italian standards, as are the bathrooms. Maid service is excellent. Breakfast is good with a variety of meats and cheeses, cereals, and sweets as well as juices. prices fluctuate widely, as they do in all Milan hotels (depending on trade shows). My first two nights of my last trip were a mere 90 euros--- extremely cheap for Milan. A week later I paid 180, and then a few days after that, 140, so it all depends on when you book. I have stayed in most of the hotels in the neighborhood, and for a budget place, this is the best.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robertspano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2011

Milan, Italy May 2010

Andreola Central Hotel 5*

Long Weekend trip

Great location - 2 minute walk to a Taxi rank (where the Cabs queue up for customers in their licensed cabs)

Great Restaurant 5* catering -the best I’ve had


Our flight was with Easy Jet (First time flown with them and I say they are quick and efficient. There is not a lot of waiting around, which means you get your holiday off to a great start – But note there may be an extra Luggage charge when you check in (But we only paid an extra £18 pp)
Flight was 1 hour 30 mins from Gatwick London to Malpensa Milan, Italy

The weather was sunny and hot but with a nice breeze (Just right)

Once we arrived, we were surprised and impressed by the amount of different transportation links Milan had to offer (Bus, Shuttle Coaches, Underground Train, Taxi’s Private car Hire Facilities)
We assumed we would take a Taxi (Not wanting to as we researched Taxi’s into the main city can be quite expensive)

Then we saw that the airport provides hourly coaches that stop at two main city stops (we realised that one of the stops was exactly where our hotel was situated, directly in the main city area)
We jumped at the chance to travel for ourselves and have an adventure (Having only being in the country for under an hour, we felt free to roam and felt quite at home)

We brought a return ticket costing around 30+ Euros pp

The staff at the airport and the coach drivers was very friendly and it took us 5 mins to get our tickets and we waited about 15 mins for the next coach shuttle to arrive and we enjoyed the sightseeing on route to the city centre

Milan gives you the opportunity and facilities to make other travel arrangements and we felt like glorified regular travellers – we simply left the airport and made our own way in to the city using quick efficient facilities the coaches were spacious, well air-conditioned and we’re not too packed

We arrived at our hotel on the avenue via Scarlatti Domenico
The area was one of the first turnings away from the main city centre road
The hotel entrance was nice and they had created their own pathway on the road to their hotel furnished with carpet and nice decorative plants in stylish large pots

We checked in with ease and were shown the lobby area downstairs while our luggage were taken up stairs

Our room was quite small but enough for comfort
The bathroom had great working amenities and a large shower
Our air con was a bit low but with a quick call to reception, this was fixed after we returned from our stroll around

We booked a standard room and it was a 4* (But be aware your view from your window might not be grand (If you feel you may spend more time in the hotel opt for a suite and you may have a nicer view other than the staffs break time garden view) lol

The rooms were cleaned daily and everything put back in perfect place

Their restaurant located on the Top floor was amazing

It had all the little elegant finishing’s you could want

The food was amazing and would have to say the best meals I have eaten while on holiday

The headwaiter was very welcoming, polite and friendly and we ate at all our evening meals at that restaurant

I was very impressed by the menu
It was the first time I had a chance to taste exquisite food

*We tried Fried Veal
*Squid with vegetables
*Authentic spaghetti and bolognaise
*Sea bass, Tomatoes and Potatoes (All beautifully designed and just the right amount
Desserts etc

Plus the view form the balcony was great in the evening

Compliment to the chef and the headwaiter George


– Extra bonus - it was around world cup season and in the main city centre the government provided a large screen to watch the Italy match (Free of charge) the weather was so warm and pleasant a lot of the crowd just laid on the grass surrounding the screen and lazed the day away

– Weather (Hot, & Sunny) Summer time!

– Activities/ things to do

We booked one trip via Expedia (Boat trip) which was cancelled last minute (Due to unforeseen reasons) we were offered an apology, a choice of other trips and confirmation and received a refund once we arrived back home)

As we found our travel from the airport easy, we decided to see if we could travel around with out tour guides
The area where our boat ride activity was meant to start from had close links to the "Fashion Quarter" district near the city's centre of Via Montenapoleone and the Il Duomo Cathedral so we thought we might as well start our site seeing early in the morning as we arrived for our trip around 9:30 am

So we wandered around the beautiful area and noticed a great big water fountain in the middle of the street, Tourist and Locals with families were relaxing by water fountain next to a castle’ Castello Sforzesco’ (Castle Sforzesco) (See pics)
Then we saw a daily double Decker, rooftop ‘hop on hop off’ tour bus which takes you on a guided tours around the city’s main hot spots and your ticket (15+ Euros) allows you to board it as many times as you like for the day as they run quiet frequently
We took the guided tour and then decided to get off at the ‘Fashion quarter; shopping city outside il Duomo (See pics)

If you love shopping for designer gear then naturally you are in the best place (Dior, Cartier, Louis vuitton, swarosky, Fendi etc… Teamed with outdoor restaurants and tourist souvenirs shops (And a posh Mc Donald’s)

There are other impressive shopping cities pended around the area (This would be more discount price stores)

– Value for money (Euros)
– Taxi’s are not cheap

– Recommend?

Yes, I would highly recommend staying at this hotel (if you plan a short stay) and dinning at their top floor restaurant also visiting the Il Duomo and the main fashion city

– People (Natives)
It is clear why this is one of the leading places in fashion; think very high-end couture clothing
The people are very stylish in the city and take pride in their appearance
Tip! - You may want to ‘glam up’ even while your sightseeing as some of the staff in these designers’ shops can be quite snobbish if you are dressed casually

– Check out experience booking tip! -please note!!!!

When you check out you may be asked to ‘’now pay’’ for your room and board!!!

We booked online and we received all the necessary confirmations and thought we had been billed

At check out in the early hours of the morning Half five (We had a early flight and wanted to give ourselves enough time to travel and check - in)

The reception staff told us that the hotel only reserves the booking against a Credit or debit card and bills you at the end of your stay, including any extra charges)
These were not confirmed to us before hand and were only informed at check out at half five in the morning
The member of staff was not rude but you can imagine it was a bit of a shock and not the first thing you want hear in at half 5 am
(We paid and checked our payment details when we returned home)

To sum this trip up

The weather was amazing
The transport links are amazing and you have so many options and facilities available which enables you to travel around, freely without a guide or staying in a taxi

The hotel is in a great central location

The Top floor Restaurant is 5* Meals are mouth watering and artistically presented on your plate (See pics)

I would stay at this hotel again

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Minted1va
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Stazione Centrale
Michelangelo Hotel
Michelangelo Hotel
#82 of 431 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,604 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Marconi Hotel
Marconi Hotel
#98 of 431 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 810 reviews
Stazione Centrale
BEST WESTERN Atlantic Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stazione Centrale
Starhotels E.c.ho.
Starhotels E.c.ho.
#36 of 431 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,256 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Starhotels Anderson
Starhotels Anderson
#61 of 431 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,361 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Mediolanum Milan
Hotel Mediolanum Milan
#40 of 431 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andreola Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andreola Hotel

Property: Andreola Hotel
Address: Via Domenico Scarlatti 24, 20124 Milan, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Stazione Centrale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#79 Luxury Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:4 star — Andreola Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Andreola Central is one of the many historical 4-star hotels in Milan that opened at the same time the Central train station moved to its current location, originally behind the Spanish walls (currently Piazza della Repubblica). The hotel is located in Via Scarlatti, an extension to the Central train station's Galleria delle Carrozze which ends in Corso Bueonos Aires. Over the long and venerable years since its establishment, many VIPs have patronized the hotel: Fausto Coppi, the bicycle champion, prize-winning boxer Primo Carnera and Italian soccer stars during the sixties when the first player contracts were negotiated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Expedia, Agoda, ACCOR, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Andreola Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andreola Hotel Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing