We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for a city trip”
Review of Hotel Berna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Berna
Ranked #12 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent value for a city trip”
Reviewed 23 April 2012

All in all this hotel offers great value for a city trip. For those people seeking a more tranquile experience I would recommend the 5-starred category.

Hotel Berna delivers 5-star service with their highly responsive front-desk/ customer service, free room upgrade, free wifi, free minibar and excellent breakfast.
The room's are comfortable and well cleaned. The rooms are, as I unfortunately had to experience, also quite adapt at blocking out sound from the noisy budget visitors that are attracted by the great value that this hotel offers.
The location is a 20min walk from the old city center but through the very efficient Milan public transport system (metro stop practically in front of the hotel) this does not negatively affect the location rating. Connection to both airports is excellent with busses leaving every 10min and trains every 20min. Area: On the 3min walk from central station to the hotel you will come across the occasional homeless man.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JVDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,483 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,342
    1,743
    282
    78
    38
See reviews for
1,108
2,802
714
809
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (722)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

I stayed at Hotel Berna whilst visiting the Milan furniture fayre - this is by far why the room rates were so high - nearly £400 a night for a very small twin room located right next to the lifts!

The room was clean but very small and compact - sharing with a colleague was also made more difficult by the lack of storage and space in the en-suite.
The lift situated right outside the door was very noisy at night and first thing in the morning - and you can hear everything through the walls from the people next door and outside in the corridor. Also from very early in the morning you can hear bins and chaos outside - but you would expect this from a city centre hotel.
Also = very small point - would be great to have an English channel on the TV that is not either BBC News or CNN.

The hotel staff are a huge credit to the management - nothing was a problem - from reception, bar through to the breakfast staff! All staff were friendly, polite and hugely helpful.

I was also blown away by the choice and variety available at Breakfast - by far one of the best I have ever seen.

Overall the hotel is great -but I feel that the price of the room is way way way to much for the standard of the hotel and rooms. Also at check in our twin room was disputed until I showed written confirmation from the hotel that we had booked a twin room over 3 months ago.
Also at check out we were told we had to pay for our full accommodation again - despite already paying everything up front prior to arrival and part of the hotels booking conditions. After a few minutes of frantic talk behind the desk they eventually realised their mistake - not a problem but if we were not confident travellers this could have really been a bad end to our stay.

Room Tip: Make sure you print of all confirmations and requests prior to arriving in case you have problems at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank designmatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customerrelationship, General Manager at Hotel Berna, responded to this review, 27 April 2012
Dear designmatt,

Thanks a lot for sharing your experience with the community of Tripadvisor .

We are so glad you consider us to be overall great.

With regard to the room rate, it’s important and fair to say that in the period of your stay
– as you mentioned - it took place in Milan the most important worldwide “International Furniture exhibition”. All hotels were almost sold out 12 months in advance, the demand was very high and rates - as it happens in many other European cities during similar important events (i.e. Frankfurt or Paris during the motor show, Montecarlo during the Grand Prix or Basel during the Baselworld ) - varied accordingly.

We are pleased to see you liked our handy location and found all our Staff to be very friendly, polite and helpful. We try really hard to make all our guests feel welcome and appreciated from the very first moment they pass through our doors and your appreciations are a great boost of energy.

You are a valued guest. Please come back and stay with us again.

Carlo Fontana, GM & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2012

I looked at so many hotels in Milan and picked Hotel Berna based off the reviews on TripAdvisor. We flew into Milan and knew that after a long flight, we would want a comfortable place to stay that wasn't too far from the train station or the metro and Hotel Berna did not disappoint.
The hotel and room was spotless and we couldn't have asked for better service. The staff is amazing...Joan, Islam, Badr...and the breakfast was everything we could have wanted and more.
Our room was in the annex tower across the street...nice and quiet. One thing that we were really tickled by was the coffee and tea service they have available in both lobbies all day. Overall, there just seemed to be great attention to detail in so many aspects.
If we're ever find ourselves back in Milan, we would definitely stay at Hotel Berna again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoshBosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2012

Arrived by Taxi from Linate airport. There is a similarly named Hotel close by, so make sure you are in the correct place. Berna is in a lovely little area, close to the train station. A few nice places for food and drinks nearby. We ate at Mama Rosa's..it was my first meal in Italy, and it was fantastic.
My room was in the annex building across the street. Breakfast is held in the main hotel building, and was very good. Eggs, pastries, yogurt, toast,..even a juicer!
The room was clean, and on the smaller side, but just right for me. Bathroom clean, and a different shower than I have seen before, but it worked fine, so that is the main thing.
It was just right..quiet location, yet centrally located.
The concierge will call you a taxi.
The front desk staff were very helpful when I needed my passport photo faxed to the rental car place. (You need your passport to rent a car, and I had left mine in the safe at the hotel).
All in all a great stay for the rice. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eeeandess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

we arrived to the hotel at midnight, from the trani station - right after a long flight and a bus ride.
despite the fact that we booked our room online several weeks in advance, and received numerous confirmation emails - the hotel was overbooked!
the receptionist was kind, but we had no room...
so they transferred to another nearby hotel for the same price.
when the other hotel heard the room price we expected to pay Berna, they actually gave us the deluxe room! you can find excellent hotels for much lower price in the same location.
terrible experience.

Room Tip: make sure you actually have a room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank guyronen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarloFontana-GM, General Manager at Hotel Berna, responded to this review, 22 April 2012
Dear Den079,

we are sincerely surprised to read your comments, as we are absolutely not used to overbook our hotel.

Unless this policy is commonly used by all major hotel chains and airline companies in order to maximise their occupancy, for the great respect we carry for all our guests - who trust us deciding to book and stay in our house - we would never apply an overbooking policy on purpose.

We are certainly aware that arriving in a hotel and not finding the reserved room is the worst way to start a relationship.

And if this situation should ever happen for an emergency or another situation totally out of our control (last year one of our guests was not able to check out on the planned departure date because of the hospitalization of the companion, causing us an overbooking ), we would certainly do all our best in order to contact and inform the guests before arrival , unless we know this could be quite difficult if we don’t have a mobile phone to reach them.

We don’t have on file any overbooking case in 2012 and I would kindly ask you therefore to contact me personally in order to receive more details.

Best regards,

Carlo Fontana, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Stazione Centrale
Ibis Milano Centro
Ibis Milano Centro
#160 of 428 in Milan
6,161 reviews
Grand Visconti Palace
#34 of 428 in Milan
1,792 reviews
Centro Storico
NH Collection Milano President
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Milan Suite Hotel
#24 of 428 in Milan
642 reviews
Lancaster Hotel
#20 of 428 in Milan
807 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Hilton Milan
Hilton Milan
#79 of 428 in Milan
2,574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Berna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Berna

Property: Hotel Berna
Address: Via Napo Torriani 18, 20124 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Stazione Centrale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Milan
#6 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#6 Business Hotel in Milan
#11 Luxury Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Berna 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you intend to stay in Milan for work or pleasure, the Hotel Berna is clearly your preferred choice. The Central Station, the subway, the shuttle terminals for the airports are at 200 m from the Hotel. The hotel services include 116 rooms, an underground parking space, meeting rooms and more... First of all, our welcoming smile. However, the smiles after will be many: when we welcome you and during your stay. And there will also be your smiles when you discover our qualities, the cuddles that we have reserved for you and the surprises prepared just for you. From the breakfast to the cleaning, from the choice of the room temperature to the silence. In the heart of Milano you will discover the atmosphere of one of your second homes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), World Independent Hotel Promotion, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Berna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berna Hotel Milan
Hotel Berna Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing