We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Gem of Milan”
Review of Hotel Berna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Berna
Ranked #11 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 February 2012

What a great surprise this hotel was. Started with the location. Although we drove to the hotel, we parked right out front and the porter came out, took all of our bags in for us and helped us up to our room.

All the positive reviews about this hotel are true. This hotel is a real gem. From the porter to the front desk to the restaurant to the cleaning staff. They can't do enough for you. Location of this hotel is superb with Centrale and Repubblica within easy walking distance and short journeys to the Duomo, etc.

The free Internet, free soft drinks in the mini-bar, free coffee/tea in the lobby and a great breakfast buffet that included fresh squeezed carrot juice was really appreciated! Then on the day we checked out and they offered to provide us a 'breakfast box' topped it off.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank C P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (6,744)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,382 - 3,386 of 6,744 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2012

Lovely little hotel. Staff and service were exceptional. We booked a double room and although slightly smaller than other rooms we have stayed in, it was equipped with everything that we needed. Free wi-fi, free soft drinks in the mini-bar, flat screen tv and large bathroom with bath and shower. The only downside was the hot water was not very hot in the morning time (9am) unless you were up earlier.
We had breakfast included in our room and the selection was great. A variety of fruits, juices, yoghurts, cereals, pastries and the staff were happy to freshly make any type of coffee for you.
The location was very convenient, just a 2min walk to central station for trains, metro or buses to the airports and nestled among other hotels with a variety of restaurants in the area.
The staff are the greatest asset to this hotel and go out of their way to make your stay even better.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eimz1809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2012

Stayed here for two nights 3 days ago. Chose this hotel because of the positive reviews on TA.
What a great place. Not very far from the central train station and metro line 3, it was quiet, clean and comfortable. Friendly staff, great breakfast, well stocked free minibar in the room and free wi fi this hotel has everything a traveller could wish for.
I can't recommend this hotel enough. I wished my football team had been as perfect as this hotel!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MerseyGooner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2012

I had an excellent two day stay at the Hotel Berna (15th and 16th Feb 2012). I found all the staff - from reception, to the bar and room staff very helpful and most obliging. This is very important to me. I will certainly come back and ta again next time I am in Milan

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2012

we that is my family and I stayed at Berna from 4/01/2012 to 10/01/2012 .Firstly it's proximity to the metro and train station is fantastic ,just a 5 min walk to both the places.The staff is really friendly and accomodating.Their buffet breakfast is the best I have ever seen in Europe, with so much of choice even for the vegeterians.The rooms are very clean with running hot and cold water.Soft drinks from the mini bar are free.The only problem was the size of the rooms they are small.Otherwise it is a great hotel to stay in Milan and we will definitely stay there if we go there again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sweety1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Milan Suite Hotel
#23 of 428 in Milan
680 reviews
Grand Visconti Palace
#39 of 428 in Milan
1,892 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Hilton Milan
Hilton Milan
#73 of 428 in Milan
2,726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navigli
Residence & Hotel HOUSE Aramis Milan Downtown
Lancaster Hotel
#22 of 428 in Milan
850 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Biocity Hotel
Biocity Hotel
#26 of 428 in Milan
730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Berna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Berna

Address: Via Napo Torriani 18, 20124 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Stazione Centrale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Milan
#6 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#6 Business Hotel in Milan
#10 Luxury Hotel in Milan
Price Range: €104 - €194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Berna 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you intend to stay in Milan for work or pleasure, the Hotel Berna is clearly your preferred choice. The Central Station, the subway, the shuttle terminals for the airports are at 200 m from the Hotel. The hotel services include 116 rooms, an underground parking space, meeting rooms and more... First of all, our welcoming smile. However, the smiles after will be many: when we welcome you and during your stay. And there will also be your smiles when you discover our qualities, the cuddles that we have reserved for you and the surprises prepared just for you. From the breakfast to the cleaning, from the choice of the room temperature to the silence. In the heart of Milano you will discover the atmosphere of one of your second homes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Berna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berna Hotel Milan
Hotel Berna Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing