We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
4 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
US$142
US$131
View deal
Hotels.comUS$142
Expedia.comUS$142
PricelineUS$131
TravelocityUS$142
eDreamsUS$131
Orbitz.comUS$142
View all 13 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (552)
Filter reviews
552 results
Traveller rating
385
145
17
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
385
145
17
4
1
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 552 reviews
Reviewed 15 October 2019

Our stay at Hotel Belvedere was magnificent.
The front desk reception staff (Paco and Katarina ) and the dinner and breakfast staff (Stefano, Diego, Mario and others) were incredibly friendly, helpful and pleasant. Paco and Katarina took the initiative to call the airlines and spent hours on the phone trying to locate my husband's lost luggage. They went beyond the call of duty and even went as far personally picking up the luggage in Bavenna.
Rosa the housekeeper did the best cleaning job of any hotel we've ever stayed at.
Our dining experience was pleasant with many wait staff available. The food was delicious and the dessert of dark chocolate orange panna cotta/brulee was outstanding.
The decaf capuccino at breakfast was the best I had in all of Italy.
We will definitely return and hope that the same wonderful staff are still there to welcome us back.

Room tip: Room 22 - a corner room was stunning!
Date of stay: September 2019
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank ccasey2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2019

This small hotel is a truly hidden gem.The rooms were one of the best we have had during out entire stay is Europe.Spacious,clean and well maintained.The staff here is friendly.The restaurant is servers amazing food and wine.Breakfast was also pretty good.Just the right place to idly spend time with a wonderful view of the lake

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank XVoyagerX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2019

Firstly, it must be said that the three Borromeo Islands are beautiful, all tiny, but entirely different, and Isola Pescatori is a lovely place to stay.

However, we had a whole host of small problems with the hotel which makes me think they rather take their guests for granted.

For example, we had asked for a bathtub rather than shower when booking. We got a shower. I asked the receptionist why? We didn't notice the request she said. Can we switch, for at least some nights? No, she said, and with a shrug of the shoulders the matter was closed.

Another example, there was a wedding on the second night. No one told us. We returned to our room in the late afternoon to enjoy the balcony. No chance, it would have been like sitting in the middle of a karaoke.

Another example, we asked for a decaf latte and americano coffee at breakfast. We got a pot of caffeinated coffee and a pot of milk.

There were other niggles too.

The room itself was spartan, and looked and smelled like a hostel when we arrived. The shower room was miniscule.

On the plus side, they allowed us to cancel the final night without charge. I'd have given a one star otherwise.

In conclusion, the hotel didn't spoil our trip, but it did absolutely nothing to enhance it either.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Olirow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2019 via mobile

The hotel is a superior accommodation on a beautiful island. The room was very well appointed, lovely setting, great bathroom & a balcony with a glorious lake view. The check in was easy & nice. Our experience was really spoiled by eating there. We found the staff totally unwelcoming & unhelpful - the only words spoken to us were “reservation?”, “room number?” & “praego”. We felt really unwelcome & bad. Added to this the food was like the 1950s, flat, no sauces & all our fish (3 dishes) was over cooked, dry & tasteless. They pretend it’s fine dining but it isn’t. The staff got busy with another function & abandoned the dining room - we just got up & left.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Gazparov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2019

We stayed here for four nights and could have happily stayed much longer. Room (junior suite) was perfect for us, Breakfast was perfect for us (a lot more choice than I was expecting and all nice stuff). The views and vibe from the island (and room) were lovely and the people at the hotel and restaurant very nice. Dinners were excellent too (well worth eating there even when you have the view all the time and we should have just booked half board I think as we always decided to head back to the hotel in the evening anyway - might have got bored with the menu after another night but you are definitely good for 3-4).

The hotel is gradually being redecorated and refitted - and very nicely, but they do the work while closed for winter.

I won’t give any tips because you can just email the hotel and Anna will tell you everything you need to know.

They give good advice about getting around and if you are lazy to take buses, their recommended driver is very nice and very professional too.

Well done to the management and staff for making our first trip to Lake Maggiore a very happy one (except for the day we got lost in unseasonal pouring rain!).

Would definitely stay here again.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Pablomeru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews