We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (379)
Filter reviews
379 results
Traveller rating
178
149
39
9
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
178
149
39
9
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews la fontana charming owner lake maggiore family run hotel minutes walking centre of town fresh fruit huge balcony every morning mid september old fashion nice breakfast charming hotel night's sleep booked this hotel cable car third floor
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 379 reviews
Reviewed 9 October 2018

Booked 3 nights here despite having read mixed reviews . Nice property and the new manager is trying to update the hotel. Our room was a good size but the beds were single and very narrpw. Not 3ft wide more like 2'6" not the best for a good nights sleep. Breakfast was buffet and there was a good choice but had to ask for cappuccino or you had filter from a flask.
Short walk to the lake and cable car and boats to the islands. On checking could have booked a better rated hotel for same price.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alancornwall2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2018 via mobile

My family (2 adults and 2 children ages 12 and 11) arrived mid-morning for an overnight stay at Hotel Fontana on our way from the UK to Italy. We had a warm greeting and although our rooms weren’t ready, the hotel very kindly allowed us to leave our car parked in the hotel carpark leaving us to spend the day exploring Stresa. We chose to take the boat from Carciano to Isola Bella and Pescatori. A visit to Isola Bella is highly recommended, we especially loved the gardens.

By the time we arrived back at the hotel at 3pm our bedroom was ready.

We had a family bedroom on the third floor which had a brilliant view of the lake. The children had a separate bedroom and there was plenty of space.

The hotel could benefit from a little updating but the welcome was very warm. It was no problem to be provided with additional pillows for the beds, and the staff were very happy to answer any questions we had, and give advice in English.

Breakfast was continental self-service which had a good selection for all the family.

We would stay here again.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Deb M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2018 via mobile

We booked this hotel as there were lots of positive comments about how friendly this hotel is and it offers a lakeside view.
On arrival we both thought how tired and run down it looked. The gardens are unkempt and overall the place appeared unloved.
Inside the hotel is clean and tidy. The gardens are being tidied. The staff are helpful and nothing seemed too much trouble. The rooms are quite small and need upgrading, as do the bathrooms. The view from our room had a view of the lake but it was rather obscured by huge trees.
Breakfast is the typical continental fare and is of a good standard.
We found out that the hotel has recently been taken over and the new owners are planning on lots of improvements which should help to make this hotel more comfortable.
We enjoyed our stay and wish the new owners every success for the future

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank 4958Marion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

Stayed 4 nights in May. Fascinating original 1930-40 decor and furnishings, expected Marcello Mastroianni to put in an appearance at breakfast.

Greeted by the 70+ year old host who was delightful and very helpful with our limited requirements. Took TA advice and booked room with terrace (balcony). Well worth it, excellent view over rather dilapidated garden, and lake. Much more pleasant to sit there than rather busy seating area in the corner of breakfast room - complete with tv. blaring all day.

Rooms clean, ok but very dated. Our room fridge (freestanding, with the small tv perched on top!) broke down twice in 4 days. Location just off the main promenade very good. It's a 10 -15 minute stroll to centre of town.

Breaking news - on our last day (late May) the owner announced he had sold the place: new owners seem younger and certainly more staff in evidence than in previous days so maybe big changes afoot. So all reviews before June 2018 may be redundant

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Melbournetraveller84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2018

Stayed in this hotel in late February 2018. It is a family operated hotel and we loved it; chickens in the back yard, the family dog in the bar. We woke each morning to the smell of fresh breads and pastries. There is a wonderful buffet at breakfast and wonderful Italian coffee. The rooms are a little outdated, but large and clean. I would definitely stay here again and recommend it.

Room Tip: We had a balcony room with lake view.
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank June B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews