We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,545)
Filter reviews
1,545 results
Traveller rating
868
498
131
27
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
868
498
131
27
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sky bar lakeside pool lake maggiore salt room dining room lovely hotel front lawn isola bella scrambled eggs and bacon hotel guests view room fantastic views roof terrace sun loungers head waiter reception staff half board
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 1,545 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We didn’t have that much expectations of this hotel but we received a big surprise when we arrived. The hotel is beautiful. Perfectly located, with amazing rooms. But the best part is the view. The Sky Bar has indisputably one of the prettiest and most relaxing views I’ve ever seen. In fact, up til know, for me it has the best hotel view I’ve had (second and third have been a view of the Burj Kalifa and the fountains from a hotel in Dubai and the view of the Red Square from a hotel in moscow). 5 stars for this hotel.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Ddziouba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2018

We stayed here for a week in September. The rooms were really well equipped and comfortable and the evening meal a highlight - salad bar, starter, pasta, main, cheese & desert all included in our half board stay.

I found useful the fact that you could see your bill during the week via the TV. The chairs on the front garden were nicely positioned with shade always available. We used the new pool across the road and found unlike others that the temperature was just right.

We ventured up to the Sky bar for the great view, but the drinks were a bit pricey. The Sky bar however provided the down point of the stay. We were in a room directly below the bar and whilst customer noise was an issue on just one night (pre midnight), we suffered a lot of noise from the clear up operation after midnight - It sounded like bottles or glasses were being thrown into a large container, and some of the tables and chairs dragged around. This noise on the Saturday went on until 1.15. After 4 days we asked to be moved and management quickly agreed. The room wasn't quite as good but the peace contrasted with our previous nights.

Apart from this issue we enjoyed our stay and would recommend the hotel to friends (but not the top floor rooms).

Room Tip: Don't get a room directly below the Skybar
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Thank PeaceFoodandaSnorkel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2018

We arrived a little early at this excellent hotel and our room was not quite ready. But we checked in and left our luggage and spent a pleasant half hour just across the road on some benches in a green area overlooking Lake Maggiore in bright, warm sunshine.
On our return the porter had already taken our bags up to the room, so we used the stairs (not generally used by guests, but perfectly okay for those who suffer from claustrophobia and avoid lifts!).
The room was very pleasant and overlooked the town and the hills via a small balcony equipped with a table and two chairs. There was a large construction crane in use on a new hotel in the middle distance but we heard no noise from this activity and most of it was hidden by other buildings nearer. In fact, it was wonderfully quiet in the room.
The fittings were all modern and controls for air conditioning and room status were touch-screens that were very easy to use. The built-in security box was simple to use and effective as a safe. There was plenty of storage space and the large screen TV sported 7 English language channels as well as the many of other languages that could be selected from the list.
A bottle of Rose Asti Spumante awaited us on ice, as our travel agent had informed the hotel we’d be celebrating our 30th wedding anniversary whilst staying there.
The big double bed was comfortable and warm, with generous sheets and duvet. The bathroom was well equipped but the open fronted shower cubicle took a little getting used to. It worked well enough, but you had to be careful not to allow the stream of water to hit the towels on the rail opposite! Just one of those systems we had to get used to; not a problem.
We unpacked and took a walk before dinner, which was included in our package. Nicco, the had waiter, greeted us as we entered the large dining room that overlooks the hotel gardens and out across the lake. We had a nominated table, right in the windows, for dinner and this would be ours for the time we stayed. The menu was varied enough to allow us both to enjoy our meals, though the Italian habit of eating several courses of different types doesn’t really suit the way we normally eat. Nevertheless, the food was good and served both professionally and well-presented. We enjoyed a bottle of prosecco with each meal here. Both our regular waiters, Mauriscio and Francisco were kind, helpful, friendly and efficient and made our dining experience very pleasant.
The cheese afterwards was out of this world. And there was a variety of sweets to suit all palates.
Breakfast here is Continental, of course. The tables are not allocated and are available on a first come-first served basis. Most mornings we managed to sit by the window. Coffee and tea are waiter-served and food is self-service. Unfortunately, we twice encountered a rather surly waiter at breakfast, such a contrast to those who served dinner. But he was a minor irritation as he had only to deal with the hot drink orders. The food, especially the fresh bread, was delicious and there was great choice. The atmosphere was very pleasant and civilised.
Hotel staff later helped us organise our return flight online check-in, which we hadn’t been able to do before leaving home. They also arranged our transfer, as the local agency had apparently not contacted the hotel about that. The receptionist made the necessary calls and had the whole thing organised whilst we were at dinner. Very helpful.
A thoroughly relaxing and pleasant stay here.

Stayed: September 2018
1  Thank Stuart A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2018

I spent four nights in this beautiful, modern and hi-tech lakefront hotel. The hotel staff were friendly, competent and willing to do what it took to please. The location is about a five minute walk to the center center. The hotel has a stunning roof top bar and also a lake front pool across the street The room is small in size but does have plenty of storage The room power is room key controlled. There are plenty of outlets. The room lighting is excellent. Room WiFi is very good. The shower is quite stylish, if not a bit over the top with features.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JRTheChief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2018

This is a large hotel on the lakeside. If you book room with a view, each has a balcony overlooking the lakes and mountains - very beautiful. The outdoor pool is just over the road and sits out over the lake so it makes a fabulous area to relax in after a days sightseeing. Quite a few big groups in, this is not a small boutique hotel. But it is a short walk to the town were there are lovely restaurants and old streets.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a lake view.
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews