We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (817)
Filter reviews
817 results
Traveller rating
519
166
66
31
35
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
519
166
66
31
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviews free shuttle shuttle service lake maggiore venetian chandeliers le isole borromean islands three islands private boat spa treatments isola bella lake view room our honeymoon busy road beautiful terrace murano glass junior suite the general manager
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 817 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

There is no doubt that this hotel provides the most stunning view of Lake Maggiore and the Borromean Islands. Also their staff are exceptional attentive and well mannered and the breakfast is most certainly a wonderful thing. The bedrooms are well appointed with good shower, jacuzzi bath, TV and WiFi.

They make a great play about the perfect view of the island is not that vital when the rest of the lake and its back drop is stunning. So hardly a deal breaker.

The hotel is slap bang in the middle of Bavino and Stresa and so, key point here, is not in either. You will need to drive, use a taxi or walk to get to either. Infuriatingly the hotel does not provide a shuttle service in the evening to support their guests enjoying the restaurants and towns.

The hotel, although very Grand is also a little tired, eccentric and to a degree lives in the past. For example, My daughters would have gone ballistic to know the man gets given the menu with the prices whilst the lady does not!

Breakfast is great, the complimentary fridge in the room is a nice touch. But even if you can afford to eat every night in the hotel you would be an utter fool not to go out and eat in Stresa and enjoy the atmosphere and scenery along the lake.

We also heard, but did not book, that restaurants on the island will come to the hotel jetty and pick you up if you book an dinner with them - so cool!!

The hotel needs a rethink for the modern age. It does not need to go down market or disco and night clubs. But it needs to understand the needs of a modern clientele. A few tweaks and it would be a stunning place to stay. But just this moment I would advise staying in Stresa, purely for the convenience.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Baggiesguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmintaStresa, Manager at Hotel Villa & Palazzo Aminta, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Baggiesguy,
Thanks indeed for your precious and positive review on our luxury lakeside resort, the sole member of the Leading Hotels of the World in Piedmont and Lake Maggiore.
This is because our service, style and quality are really much appreciated by our valuable guests that every year return to Villa Aminta to enjoy not only of the breathtaking view on the Borromean Island, but also of the magic atmosphere and silence that surround the property, just thanks to the prime location that we have, between the towns of Stresa and Baveno.
We also provide to all our guests an excellent and fast free shuttle round trip service to Stresa and back during the peak hours.
The classic style and atmosphere is typical of all the elegant stately residences on the shores of Lake Maggiore and this is one of the most appreciated and sought after by our regular customers even if we do also provide modern comfort and facilities as well.

Ready to receive you back soon again and at your disposal for any further assistance you may require, we remain with

Best regards
Fabio Vigitello
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I chose this luxury hotel for 3 nights on our 10 year wedding anniversary trip around the lakes and loved it although it was pricey and a bit out of town. It’s in between Stresa and Baverno and you need either a car or to take the complimentary hotel
shuttle to either as it’s too far to walk really.
Note! The shuttle is not free after 6pm and it’s about€12-15 a ride.

The setting is simply spectacular, with incredible views over the 3 islands of Isola Bella, Isola Pescatori and Isola Madre. It is set back on the main road which is a bit of a shame as it can be noisy, but the gardens, pool and restaurant terrace more than make up for it. You are spoilt for amazing views from all angles. The pool is superb and I had a quick visit to the really lovely spa with a great range of treatments on offer. The Turkish steam room is excellent.

We had room 302 on the corner and woke to gorgeous sunrises in a comfortable and lavishly decorated room with all the 5* trimmings - slippers, his and hers gowns in bright pink or green were a fun touch, complimentary minibar (beer, juices and water - no wine).

Breakfast is fab with loads of choices of everything you could wish for, catering to all cultures and tastes. Fresh fruits, delicious cheeses, pastries, many types of breads, cereals, nuts, seeds, salmon, trout, bacon (prosciutto of course), eggs to order and vegetables to accompany it all. Top class.

The eclectic collection of furniture and chandeliers is something to be seen for yourself!!

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Happy_Lucca_Bride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmintaStresa, Manager at Hotel Villa & Palazzo Aminta, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Happy_Lucca_Bride,

First of all let me thank you for the time you spent in reviewing our lakeside retreat and for the positive feedback you gave us.

We are happy that our Guests appreciate our way of welcome them, the service and the style of this historic private villa on Lake Maggiore shores.

Hoping to see you soon again and at your disposal for any further need, please accept my

Best Regards
Fabio Vigitello
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2018 via mobile

My wife and I just spent 3 nights at the Aminta Hotel. The accommodation was adequate, and breakfast which was provided was excellent. There were only two things that I had any concerns about. Firstly, the price of food was overpriced. They also had a wedding at the hotel on our last night. The wedding party and it's guests were very well catered for, unlike the other guests. They were extremely noisy right through the evening, and I was awakened at around 2.30am with very loud music going right through the hotel.
What I suggest is make sure there is no such party going on when you stay there.
We dined it Stresa as the choice of excellent cafes and restaurants were numerous at a fraction of the cost.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank George T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmintaStresa, Manager at Hotel Villa & Palazzo Aminta, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Mr. Tyler,

Thank you for chosing Villa & Palazzo Aminta for your recent stay on Lake Maggiore.
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the services provided, especially our breakfast, always evolving to offer local seasonal products.
All our Guests's suggestions are more than appreciated and certainly useful for improving quality and service so we would like to thank you for this.

Hoping to see you again very soon in Stresa,

Best regards
Fabio Vigitello
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2018 via mobile

I have done many Leading Hotels of the World and I was more than disappointed.
The view on the lake and the breakfast which are both fantastic cannot make it up for
- the price that is not up to what you can get anywhere else in any major city in the world, which is all the more surprising to find in a city like Stresa which has globally limited interest except its convenient location across the Borromeo islands
- the location of the hotel, far from the city and which makes it almost mandatory to have a car (no shuttle service was ever mentioned to us at any moment anyways)
- the so called private beach which is left as if abandoned, on the other side of the heavy traffic SS33 road, with no personnel attending to any need, no towels, no changing rooms, the lawn that is not mowed
- the swimming pool in the shadow all afternoon because of ill-orientation, and which cannot accommodate reasonably more than 6 persons who intend to swim (ie doing more than 2 moves)- I even wonder why there is a guy watching the swimming pool, it is so small ! Esp, when you see how the « lakeshore » is being neglected
- the dock is not practicable if you have a boat either because the lake level is too low at the time of the year
Looks to me that this place is living on a brand and a location that are both not worth spending time or money.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank Notsurewhatyoumean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmintaStresa, Manager at Hotel Villa & Palazzo Aminta, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Notsurewhatyoumean,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at Villa & Palazzo Aminta and for sending such a detailed report of your stay.

All our Guest's comments and suggestions are for us very important and we always try to follow them in order to improve our services.

Sometimes we can sometimes not but of course our goal is to have each Guest coming at Villa & Palazzo Aminta 100% satisfied.

We hope we can have another chance to welcome you in Stresa!

Best regards
Fabio Vigitello
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2018 via mobile

It was our first time to Italy and the hotel is gorgeous with amazing views. The service by all staff was highly professional yet friendly, breakfast was simply divine as was the evening meal. We hired the hotel boat to go to the other islands to explore and I highly recommend that. This trip made me fall in love with Italy, it is simply beautiful and elegant. I will definitely return.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank tara d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmintaStresa, Manager at Hotel Villa & Palazzo Aminta, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2018

Dear Tara d,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us!
It's always a pleasure to receive positive feedback, we are proud and always ready to further improve our service.
We really hope you can have another opportunity to come and visit us!
Best regards
Fabio Vigitello
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews