We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotels.com
Booking.com
CheapTickets
Expedia.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
View all 10 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (160)
Filter reviews
160 results
Traveller rating
48
86
20
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
48
86
20
4
2
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 160 reviews
Reviewed 18 September 2018

Discovering Lake Maggiore is closer to Milan airport than Milan itself, we found this comfortable family-run hotel to be the perfect place to relax and unwind for the last night of our vacation. The hotel, now 65 years old, is actually located north of Baveno, just off the road, closer to the small fishing village of Feriolo. Since there wasn’t a restaurant on site, we walked 10 minutes to Feriolo, where there are two campgrounds and a few nice restaurants right on the lake. Nearly all the hotel’s rooms have balconies overlooking the lake. Within minutes of check-in by the hotel’s owner, we had donned our swimsuits, found deck chairs, and jumped in the warm, clear lake. The next morning, the included breakfast was a extensive buffet of bread, pastries, cereals, yogurt, cheeses and coffee. After one more dip, we were off to the airport.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank HBSnowFlower
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 September 2018

We loved our short stay! All rooms are on the water and have balconies with great views! Our balcony was not super private - just separated by railings but the views are stunning. Very nice breakfast. Everything is clean and comfortable.Nice to walk to Feriola for dinner. Great suggestions from the staff for sightseeing. The bed was comfortable and overall a good value!

Room tip: some rooms had more private balconies than others but all good.
Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank rayjanice
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carlottabStresa, Direttore at Hotel Carillon, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2018

thank you !
daniela racchelli

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2018 via mobile

Location is good when it comes to close to water but otherwise you need your car. Best place is Tresa with good food and better prices. Also here you find your trip by boat to the famous islands. Carillon has so bad internet/wifi so it should not be allowed to be mentioned in the conditions.
There is breakfast but nothing else.
So go somewhere else

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank stefankI2535QE
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 December 2017

Traditional family run hotel that has a great spot on Lake Maggiore. From our balcony we had a fabulous view. The bedrooms are fairly basic and dated, but they were fine for us for 1 night. Breakfast was nice in the dining room overlooking the lake. The hotel is a short walk to Baveno town where there is some very nice restaurants that have al fresco dining on the shore of the lake. We had a wonderful experience here.

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank WooTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 May 2017

This is a beautiful family run hotel in a stunning location. I believe all rooms have a fantastic lake view. We initially booked a room on the ground floor but were upgraded to a higher floor on arrival which we were very happy about. The room was nice, very spacious and even though the hotel is old the room was very well maintained and everything was spotlessly clean. All the staff were absolutely fantastic, especially loved the lady at the reception (not sure if she's the current owner?) definitely knew what she was doing and was remarkably efficient immediately giving us all the information we could ever ask for. Breakfast was continental but quite good. Even though the hotel is located close to a road, it wasn't too noisy in the room.

Free parking and excellent wifi!
There are some great restaurants in the town max 10 minute walk from the hotel. The walk is very nice, along the shore of the lake (mostly).

Definitely recommended!

Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kristiina83
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carlottabStresa, Proprietario at Hotel Carillon, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2017

thank you ! till next time in our house !
daniela racchelli

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews