We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Plain Lombard style church which dominates the upper town

Sadly a damp day to visit this 14th century church, with grey stone which broods over the town as... read more

Reviewed 30 October 2018
stanmansurrey
,
Thames Ditton, United Kingdom
Varenna

Well worth the walk up the hill from the ferry terminal. Great restaurants and shops just down the... read more

Reviewed 27 October 2018
TimL913
,
Houston, Texas
Read all 157 reviews
  
Reviews (157)
Filter reviews
157 results
Traveller rating
53
86
18
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
53
86
18
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beautiful church local church bell tower old church small church main altar love churches stained glass lovely town light a candle visit churches st gregory worth a visit grey stone steep steps village square ferry terminal
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 157 reviews
Reviewed 29 August 2017

The church was on the edge of the main square and we had to walk past it to get to the sites we had come to see.
The outside is imposing and has a nice feel to it
We also spent a few minutes exploring the inside
Nice place

Date of experience: September 2016
Thank 991udayt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2017

Small local church located on the San Giorgio Piazza. Well restored, offers mass in English during the summer months.

Date of experience: August 2017
1  Thank mitch w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2017 via mobile

We popped in to look around here on a quick trip to Varenna. Beautiful old church. We watched a wedding party arrive from the square opposite while having lunch too.

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank DaisyChain12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2017

It's located on the main driving road with an information centre right beside it. There are a few restaurants nearby. The church and the bell tower are beautiful especially at night. We were lucky enough to see the Orchestra I Pomeriggi Musicali from Milan performing classical music in the church on our first night in Varenna. It was a great and memorable performance.

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank MichelleLeeCK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2017 via mobile

Small medieval church in the middle of town, next to the large piazza usually used for parking. You do have to get through some steep steps from the lakefront in order to reach it but once there it's enjoyable.

Date of experience: June 2017
Thank Clevlander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews