We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great place to stay in Como”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Borgovico Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Borgovico Hotel
Ranked #1 of 33 Hotels in Como
Certificate of Excellence
Fife, Scotland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A great place to stay in Como”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2011

We spent a week in Como at the beginning of October and chose the Borgovico because of all the good reviews. We weren't disappointed - it's well situated on a reasonably quiet street, with comfortable rooms, a decent breakfast and extremely friendly, helpful staff. We were particularly impressed by the lovely man on the reception desk who tried (in vain!) to find a way for us to watch the Scotland v Liechtenstein game during our stay. The restaurant right next door to the hotel is excellent, so if you come back tired after a day's sightseeing there's an easy and enjoyable dinner option right on the doorstep.
This isn't a fancy hotel - it's small, friendly, comfortable and in a good location - but if gimmicks like a trouser press and room service matter to you, it isn't for you. We loved it, and would happily stay there again.
One bit of advice - when planning our trip we found it really tricky to figure out which station to get off at for the hotel. Having visited, I now know where the confusion comes from! Como has two railway stations. The main one, San Giovanni, is just a five-minute walk from the Borgovico. The second station, Como Nord Lago, is on the lakeside just along from Piazza Cavour, and - this is the important bit - THEY ARE NOT LINKED. Trains from Milan city arrive at San Giovanni; trains from Malpensa airport arrive at Nord Lago (confusingly also known as Ferrovie Nord or Como FN), which is a good 15 minutes' walk from the Borgovico.

Room Tip: Our top-floor room faced the road. There wasn't much traffic noise, but on windier nights the sh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank summerclio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

549 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    233
    248
    57
    5
    6
See reviews for
62
276
70
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2011

I am very happy to have stayed here for 4 days in Como- so much so that I have cancelled accomodation elsewhere for when I return from Switzerland and have booked here again for my return journey. Internet very helpful and works well- have connection to my own computer in my room- have to get adapter from reception. Building very secure- guests buzzed in each time.
Breakfast is adequate and fresh- cereal/coffee made to your order/eggs/cheese/meat/croissants and bread fresh from the bakery in the same street.
Close to train but quiet in the room- window closed as using air con. Air conditioner works well.
Bathroom is a good size and my room is cleaned imbeccably each day. No bar frig but that has not proved a problem. Personal Safe for valuables in room which I always find helpful.

Ammenities close by- 5 minutes walk to centre of Como. The restaurant two doors down I can recommend- have eaten there twice and the staff are very friendly and the food is great. Supermarket is close by but ask staff for directions as I came across it by accident.. Bus tickets obtainable from bar on corner. Also a bakery in same street.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Annielittle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margaret River
Level Contributor
73 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2011

All the good things people have said about this hotel are true. Lino is one of the kindest hosts ever. Nothing is too much trouble and his English is excellent. The train station is close but if you have heavy bags watch out as there are steps down and then of course, up on return. It is about 10 mins walk to town and it took us a while to find the quickest route to Piazza Cavour. It is through the pedestrian path on the left half way back to the station- but watch the traffic - there is one crossing with no lights.

We had room 310 which was very nice and looked out to the inner courtyard. The wifii worked excellently well - no trouble with it at all. The bathroom was super clean and the shower very good. Breakfast was good too- coffee made freshly.

I agree with the comment that a light over the desk wouldbe a good idea.
And yes do try the restaurant next door for a great Italian experience.

I would definitely stay here again. Just for the lovely warm welcome!

Como is noisy town- no doubt. You couldhear thetrains but only if the window was open and the aircon off. By the way the air con was very good too.

Room Tip: Yes I would recommend our room 310 . Superior doubleThere are few steps- up or down even if you use...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
Helpful?
1 Thank MreMargaretRiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San An
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2011

I was very pleased with this hotel and would gladly stay there again. First, the staff were great. They were very helpful, responsive, and friendly. The location is good, just a short walk from the train station and a few blocks from the main attractions in the city. The neighborhood is not the greatest but it's not bad, and there are good local restaurants close by. My room was clean and modern, with a modern updated bathroom. The hotel also provides free internet. The breakfast was one of the better layouts I had while in Italy, with eggs, meats, and cheeses to go along with the typical cereal and pastries. The staff will happily make you an espresso or cappuccino to go with breakfast. My one caution is that if you are a solo traveller try not to get room 103, which has a view of the stairwell. Oh, and it needs a light over the desk.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kichenhelp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tennessee
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2011

My husband and I along with another couple stayed at Hotel Borgovico for two nights in June. We were very pleased with our accommodations, which looked as if the hotel had been recently renovated. Everything was clean, the bathrooms large and there was an adequate buffet breakfast. The staff was wonderful. Lino speaks very good English, and he is so helpful and friendly. He helped make our stay very enjoyable. He recommended a restaurant a few door down from the hotel, which was excellent. It was so good, we ate there two nights. As we were driving, another plus was we were able to reserve a parking space in front of the hotel. Our room was on the front, but we did not hear any noise from the street. I can definitely recommend this hotel. The price was very reasonable, and we would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TN_Travelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Como hotels
0.1 km away
Borgo Antico Hotel
Borgo Antico Hotel
#2 of 33 in Como
4.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
1.0 km away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#3 of 33 in Como
4.0 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel Barchetta Excelsior
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Metropole Suisse Hotel
2.7 km away
B&B Hotel Como
B&B Hotel Como
#7 of 33 in Como
4.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
0.9 km away
Albergo Terminus Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Borgovico Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borgovico Hotel

Property: Borgovico Hotel
Address: Via Borgo Vico 91, 22100, Como, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Como
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 33 Hotels in Como
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:3 star — Borgovico Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Borgovico is situated in Via Como 91 Como stone's throw from the historic center and near to the train station. Our reality is born after a careful renovation that has allowed us to achieve 13 rooms, some with exposed beams and stone walls. All equipped with air conditioning, LCD TV, Sky TV and internet wi fi connection. The Hotel offers a warm and welcoming atmosphere of complete relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Expedia and Hotel.de so you can book your Borgovico Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borgovico Hotel Como, Italy - Lake Como

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing