We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,021)
Filter reviews
1,021 results
Traveller rating
272
425
199
83
42
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
272
425
199
83
42
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location lake como enclosed balcony ferry terminal piazza cavour the main square directly across the street corner room excellent view old world charm old style gelato large room wonderful hotel three nights breakfast was excellent single room
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 1,021 reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2018

A lovely , characterful hotel right on the Lake at Como.
Has a real elegance without being over fussy .

Fantastic position right on lake and right opposite the boat trip office, making extremely handy if you want to book trips on the lake.

The restaurant attached to the hotel is very good. We ate there twice.

Finally the staff were really friendly and personable.

Room Tip: You can't beat a view over the lake.
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMetropoleSuisse, Front Desk at Metropole Suisse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2018

Dear Richard E,
many thanks for your review!
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stayed with us; all our staff also want to say thank you for the positive feedback about reception and restaurant.
We would love to host you again in the future.
Best regards,
Martina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2018 via mobile

Having spent the previous 3 nights camping my husband and I decided to book a hotel in Lake Como. We found this hotel on booking.com and decided that this would be where we stayed for 3 nights. What a wonderful find, the front desk staff were very helpful and courteous. We had a lovely view of the lake and square and a balcony. The hotel had a lovely old worldly feel about it and we felt very welcome here. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank SB01082016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMetropoleSuisse, Front Desk at Metropole Suisse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2018

Dear SB01082016,
Thank you so much for your kind review.
We are happy that you choose us as a stop during your holiday. We hope to welcome you again in the future, maybe for a longer time!
Best regards,
Martina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2018

My first thoughts on entering this hotel were that I could imagine it featuring in an Agatha Christie film, as it has quite an old world charm. The staff were very friendly, and the location is great - just across the road from Lake Como.
We needed car parking and whilst not ideal, at least there was a space. The car park is very small and cars were double parked so most people had to leave their key at reception so that someone could move your car to let someone out. Being quite possessive of our car my husband didn't fancy this, so we parked at the back where we weren't blocking anyone in.
Our room overlooked the lake and was comfortable and a good size, we also had an enclosed balcony. The air con didn't work, but as we only discovered this once we'd undressed for bed we didn't alert reception and just suffered a hot night. The self serve breakfast buffet was good with plenty of choice.
If returning to Como I would be happy to stay here again.

Stayed: July 2018
Thank Maria646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMetropoleSuisse, Front Desk at Metropole Suisse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2018

Dear Maria646,
thank you so much for your kind review! For sure we would be grateful if someday we will become the location of an Agatha Christie movie, but even more if we will be able to host you again.
Thank you also for the description of our structure (especially for how our garage works).
We hope to see you again as soon as possible.
Best regards,
Martina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2018

Excellent location at Lake Como....Hotel is old but clean. Breakfast was good. Other than the a/c not working very well the first night it was a good choice. Staff members were helpful and spoke English.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Catherine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMetropoleSuisse, Front Desk at Metropole Suisse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2018

Good Morning,

Thank you for your review and we are happy to hear that you had a nice stay. We hope to see you again in the future.

Amanda Brannan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2018

This hotel is a 10-15 minutes walk from the main railway station, but once there, closer to most holiday needs being in a moderately busy neighbourhood. We booked a 'standard' room on-line 4 months ago and very pleased to have been allocated a lake view room (without any request, charge or fuss for what we saw as an upgrade - thank you!). We soon found the majority of 3-4 star tourist hotels here are not set in their own grounds, so the lakeside establishments can suffer some road noise (at night). That said, our room had double glazing, extra inner glazing and window shutters, so we soon got used to what reduced levels remained.

Although quite an old building it was roomy enough for tourists. Having noted comments from other reviewers we requested the softer pillows and shower room by email beforehand - all was in place, again thank you. We selected twin beds, a little on the firm and narrow side, but that tends to be consistent with our expectation of older established Italian sites and adequate for a few days.

Appreciation to receptionists for welcoming in English, we felt looked after by all staff. There is a decent sized lounge rather than needing to sit in our room in dull weather etc. Breakfast was not the most comprehensive in choice but still reasonable variety and certainly adequate and filling to set us up for our busy tours. We ate out in evenings, but their pavement restaurant looked well attended and fairly priced for a decent 'sit down' meal cooked on site.

We were pleased with our choice and felt we had good value for money.

Room Tip: Send in email in advance for your particular needs
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dorsetshireboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMetropoleSuisse, Front Desk at Metropole Suisse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2018

Good Morning,

Thank you for your review and we are pleased to hear that you had a nice stay with us. We will pass along your kind words about our staff to them. We appreciate the positive feedback and hope that if your journey brings you back to Lake Como in the future that you will stay with us again!

Have a great day,
Amanda Brannan
American Intern

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews