We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm welcome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bed and Breakfast Storico
Ranked #48 of 60 Como B&B and Inns
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Apart from the warm welcome, you have to search to find something positive for the place.
Despite located in the old city, our room was very noisy due to the gelateria in the basement. The fact that you have to walk to the top floor of the building (with the luggage) adds to your daily workout. The air-condition (due to the street noise the windows should be closed) was not working. Breakfast below average with - imagine it or not for Italy - bad coffee.

Room Tip: GPS shows that the place is accessible by car, but cars are not permitted in old town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank itsiliAthens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (91)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 91 reviews

Reviewed 16 December 2013

Finding a good accomondation at a decent price in Como is not very easy.
B&B Storico is not a good option.
I cannot say anything about the service which was good and well-intended. The cleanliness was also good.
The B&B was located in the top of a bad preserved building which could never resemble a hotel. No elevator to reach the top (3rd I think) floor where the B&B Storico was located.
Lo lobby, no facilities. Just some establishment in the hallway to be used as check-in kiosk and breakfast buffet. No breakfast restaurant. You fill up your tray and you take it into your room.
The room had some nice cheap decorative elements (IKEA style) combined with some other bad selections that ended up in a rather poor result. A 30 meters room felt much smaller due to bad structure. No sound proof in between rooms.
No view from the small balcony. The 100 euros per night spent for this room was a lot. Better at a hostel where at least you meet people!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank happy_kampy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

The place is exactly as expected. The guys are very nice, the rooms are cosy and clean, the position is extremely good. Breakfast is also very nice.
The only problem is the parking. Somehow it looked like they would provide for parking. The only thing they do is tell you where you can park, but it is not actually very cheap (about the same as on the street) and far, far away.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ducatony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We spent only 1 night at this charming B&B in early June. I had read several reviews beforehand, so was prepared for the 4 flights of stairs. Not sure what was going on in town that day, but the church bells (just 30 feet away from our balcony door!) were going off every 15 minutes until 11 PM and started again at 7 AM. Wasn't the end of the world, as there are church bells in almost every town in Europe. But visitors who are light sleepers should be aware that the church tower is very close by. The breakfast which we ate in our room was typical of European B&Bs - pastries, fruit, coffee, yogurt. Staff were very friendly and helped us to find a great restaurant and a Laundromat. B&B was a short taxi ride from the train station (too far to walk with luggage) and only a 10 minute walk through the shopping streets down to the lake. The room had a small fridge which was a real bonus.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sal403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

My friend and I spent 3 nights in a twin room at B&B Storico last week and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The property is in a fantastic location in the walled old town of Como, so restaurants, bars and shops are right on your doorstep (we were not disturbed by any street noise, our room at the top of the building was very quiet). Lake Como is only a five minute or so leisurely walk from the B&B. The room was not overly large, but was completely charming and had everything we needed for a short stay, including a small balcony, which was fantastic for our al fresco breakfasts. Our room was decorated in a fairly traditional style, but some of the other rooms Marco (the owner) showed us had a much more contemporary feel and were very stylish.

Breakfast was buffet style, which you collected and ate in your bedroom (or on your balcony). Each room had a table and chairs, so if the weather was unkind, you could still eat comfortably. There was a selection of very fresh rolls and croissants, cold meats, fruit juice, cheese, fresh fruit and yoghurts to choose from and Santo was happy to bring your selection of tea or coffe to your room.

Marco and Santo were lovely hosts and were genuinely keen to ensure that you had the best possible stay in Como.

Be warned - our room was at the top of three flights of stairs, so getting your suitcase from top to bottom could be a problem! We were fortunate that Santo was around when we arrived and happily brought first one, then our second suitcase to our room. We would not have managed without him!

I would certainly stay at B&B Storico again and am happy to recommend it if you are looking for B&B accomodation in central Como.

Room Tip: Ask Marco which rooms are available, as some of the rooms have a traditional feel, whilst others are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HughandAnne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Como hotels
1.1 km away
Borgovico Hotel
Borgovico Hotel
#1 of 32 in Como
625 reviews
0.6 km away
Best Western Hotel Continental
1.2 km away
Hotel Engadina
Hotel Engadina
#9 of 32 in Como
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
B&B Hotel Como
B&B Hotel Como
#8 of 32 in Como
324 reviews
2 km away
B&B La Chiave di Sol
B&B La Chiave di Sol
#6 of 60 in Como
55 reviews
1.8 km away
Casa Cantoniera Como
Casa Cantoniera Como
#12 of 60 in Como
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bed and Breakfast Storico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed and Breakfast Storico

Address: Via Giovio 28, 22100, Como, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Como
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 60 B&Bs / Inns in Como
Price Range: €62 - €127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Bed and Breakfast Storico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bed And Breakfast Storico Como, Italy - Lake Como

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing