We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food but very budget hotel”
Review of Hotel Suisse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Suisse
Ranked #11 of 14 Bellagio B&B and Inns
Reviewed 7 July 2016

Best meal that we had during our holiday. We stayed 3 nights and as other reviewers have said the rooms are pretty basic. We had a beautiful view over the lake. The bathroom was fine but the furniture in the room was very old and in need of TLC. The hotel does state that it is a budget hotel. We felt the lack of a room safe, air conditioning, WiFi in the room and a lift - we had got used to those in other small family hotels. Staff were nice but the person who I thought was the owner didn't acknowledge us so I felt that the focus of the business is on the restaurant. Entry is through the restaurant, do ask how you get in after it closes! On our first night we joined several other puzzled guests trying our keys in the wrong door - luckily a passing local explained the system to us.

Room Tip: Views over lake are lovely but the room can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Linda2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (135)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 135 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2016

Tired but charming old Grand Dame building facing waterfront on Bellagio main square. Hotels in Bellagio are expensive; this is a reasonable alternative remembering that it is 2 star, not 5. Clean, quirky layout with polite, helpful staff. Room at front very small with fabulous view.

Room Tip: pay extra for water view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank saguarogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2016

Our room had (16) had wonderful views over the lake and was blessed with a new bathroom with a great shower and it was perfectly clean, however, not so impressive was the fact that it was always chilly - no heating which felt a little mean especially as it had been snowing on the hills opposite! Whilst we appreciated the old furnishings which were probably in place when the place opened in the 1800's it was a shame they had not been maintained, the marble broken on the bedside table, handles missing off the chest of drawers. Lovely original door/windows but so badly painted with paint on the glass, looked like a child had been given a job to do! The pillows were very hard. The room was also on the 3rd floor, so quite a climb if you are elderly or unfit. The flat screen TV could only get one station and that was not with the telecommander, but we did get Wifi in the room which was a bonus. So we felt, although the room wasn't bad, it could've have been so much nicer with a little care and heating. It felt rather like they were providing the minimum service for maximum return. Breakfast also in the same vein. Minimum breakfast offered, bread, butter, a pot of jam each, wafer thin ham and cheese and hard boiled egg. So although it was all there, it just seemed a pit pinched...not luxurious or a breakfast of note. Coffee was excellent however and served from the machine. So there was nothing really wrong but it could have been so much better....

Restaurant was good, however very expensive compared to comparable places.

Room Tip: Go for a lake view, the 3rd floor is a long way up without a lift!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank jillmkp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2016

We had a lake front room with a view of Lake Como. It was beautiful. The rooms in the front are smaller than in the back but the view makes up for it. The hotel and restaurant are one. You need to enter the restaurant in the front of the buiilding to get to the hotel during the day. After hours their is a side entrance.

Room Tip: For tourist who require larger rooms and big showers do not use the lake front rooms. Get a back ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mluehr2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2015

My husband and I visited Bellagio in December, the off season, to celebrate our wedding anniversary. There were two reasons why I booked a room at Hotel Suisse and those are 1. It was open 2. All the rave reviews of the lake view and wonderful service.

At check-in, the lady working told us there were only two rooms being occupied in the hotel that night. Oddly enough, they put us right next to each other. Our room was nice enough. Basic and slightly banged up (bathroom door wouldn't shut all the way, toilet seat had a huge, sharp crack that pinched when sat on), but spacious, clean and with a beautiful view of the lake. However, the walls and doors were so thin, I could hear our neighbors talking at normal volume and people walking up and down the stairs at 2 AM. I didn't sleep very well, so I was looking forward to the breakfast everyone had raved about.

No one was working in the dining room. There were two tables set for breakfast, with our neighbors already sitting at one. We helped ourselves to the buffet and sat for 15 minutes before a lady came in (different from the night before) and brought us croissants and espressos. I asked for a coffee after finishing my espresso and she just stared/frowned at me, then kind of huffed as she took our cups away and brought coffees. Did I mention there were only two tables occupied? And breakfast was mostly self service?? Yeesh. At checkout, I felt she was being kinder to our dog than she had been to us all morning.

My husband really enjoyed the view, but I'd say that's the only draw this place has. I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank EHMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bellagio
0.1 km away
Hotel Du Lac
Hotel Du Lac
#3 of 16 in Bellagio
833 reviews
0 km away
Hotel Bellagio
Hotel Bellagio
#5 of 16 in Bellagio
790 reviews
3 km away
Hotel La Darsena
Hotel La Darsena
#2 of 8 in Tremezzina
834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.8 km away
Grand Hotel Imperiale
Grand Hotel Imperiale
#1 of 2 in Moltrasio
855 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
0.2 km away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Suisse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Suisse

Address: Piazza Giuseppe Mazzini 8/10, 22021 Bellagio, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Bellagio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Bellagio
Price Range: €88 - €137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Suisse 1*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Suisse is located in the historical center of Bellagio, just 10 metres far from the lake. Its good position gives the guests a direct access into the center of the town with all its services.The domestic tenancy offers an informal and cosy atmosphere.The rooms, recently renewed, remind the historical significance of this hotel. It was, indeed, the secret meeting point of the owner, Bice Gobio Melzi, and the famous writer Ippolito Nievo.Some rooms boast a wonderful view of the lake, all of them have a private bathroom and a characteristic furniture. The junior suite, the latest renewed, has also a steam room.The restaurant is located on the ground floor, right on the promenade, and on the first floor, on a striking lake view terrace. Classical and international fusion cuisine are served. The best Italian and international wines are available on the wine list. The restaurant is also available for banquets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK) and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Suisse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Suisse Bellagio, Lake Como, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing