We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real deal for locals”
Review of Il Frantoio

Il Frantoio
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Reviewed 10 September 2018

I almost don't want to review this hidden gem, to keep the tourists away! We were looking for farinata- a local specialty of chick pea mixed with dough and fried. Very thin. I asked a local elderly lady at the market in Monterosso, and she pointed us to this place. Said it was the best, and others were ok. We got there, and had to wait til 12 noon for the farinata. We waited, and talked to a couple of Italian tourists, who told us that this was the best farinata in Monterosso. At 12pm, all of a sudden, a swarm of older Italian nonna's walked in, all wanting farinata! Like clockwork! It was a large pan, enough for everyone. Lucky for us, our new Italian friend made sure we got served quickly, and suggested we buy 3 not 2 slices. After we joked we should have bought 4!! It's just a small pizza place, but where the locals know, we go. Don't expect fancy, don't expect the girl behind the counter to speak English. And perhaps the most affordable place in Italy!!

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank musicalactress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (206)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 207 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2018 via mobile

Stopped for a quick snack around 130pm so no
Pan Fritto until after 4pm.
Has the Farinata and slice of Foccacia with Cheese.
Awesome comfort food for a quick snack .
Make the effort and try it . Heading back later for the Pan Fritto.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Sungirlxxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2018 via mobile

We tried three different snacks and all of them were really great. The prices were really affordable: 5.9€ for 3 snacks + water. I can really recommend this place if you want to grab something small during your visit to Cinque Terre.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank Carppi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2018

This is one of the best places to eat Ligurian Foccaccia a local from Genova told me that he can't even find focaccia this good in Genova that is the Capital!
Delicious with toppings or the typical green olives form the Region. This is the perfect cheap local meal ideal for a snack or lunch

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Florence U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2017

What a wonderful, inexpensive delicious pizzeria. We stumbled upon this Resturaunt and returned 3 days in a row.

Date of visit: October 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank debbi8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Il Frantoio also viewed

Monterosso al Mare, Cinque Terre
Monterosso al Mare, Cinque Terre
 
Monterosso al Mare, Cinque Terre
Monterosso al Mare, Cinque Terre
 
Monterosso al Mare, Cinque Terre
Monterosso al Mare, Cinque Terre
 

Been to Il Frantoio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing