We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
4 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
US$162
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/02/23
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
US$161
View deal
Free cancellation until 11/02/23
Reserve now, pay at stay
Trip.com
US$134
View deal
Hotels.comUS$161
Official HotelUS$158
Lol.travelUS$196
View all 21 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,193)
Filter reviews
2,193 results
Traveller rating
1,688
406
64
21
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,688
406
64
21
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews grand hotel classic hotel sea view cruise ship large balcony old world charm excellent hotel valet parking star hotel spent one night old style comfortable bed buffet breakfast sea front beautiful city visit trieste library
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 2,193 reviews
Reviewed 21 August 2022

The Trieste Savoy Hotel has a beautiful, old-world charm. The rooms had luxurious details and furnishings, and we had one of the biggest, most decadent bathtubs I have seen in Europe or elsewhere. The lobby offered a charming bar and several seating areas. I highly recommend the full, self-serve breakfast--just what we needed to fill up before a long day of sightseeing.

Date of stay: March 2022
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Laura D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Staff Concierge, Other at Savoia Excelsior Palace – Starhotels Collezione, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2022


Dear Laura D,
Thank you very much for sharing your experience at the Savoia Excelsior Palace with us.
One of our main aims is to make our guests feel welcome and comfortable and your words pay us back for our effort.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Savoia Excelsior Palace in the near future.
Best regards,
The Reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2022 via mobile

We stayed one night 19-30 of August 2022, hotel was very-very good. But we have one issue.

We left a car to hotel to park it (29€). After we pick up a car next day found the trails of a dog in our car today. The lady from reception didn’t know what to say.

Room tip: Ask the hotel not to let garage assist to put his dog in your car, if you decide to park it at hotel garage.
Date of stay: August 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank schudinov
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Staff Concierge, Other at Savoia Excelsior Palace – Starhotels Collezione, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2022

Dear schudinov,
It’s a pleasure to read your kind words, but most important, for dedicating some of your personal time to us. We are very happy to have contributed to make your stay in Trieste memorable. We do however apologize if the reception staff did not measured up your expectations. We will share your comment with the front house manager in order to improve our hospitality service.
Kind Regards
The Reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2022 via mobile

This hotel is a pearl! Perfect design, decoration, service and an incredible breakfast in an amazing spot, with great views. We have been enjoying the superior room with sea view, and the quiet atmosphere together with the quality of the rooms made our stay memorable. Close to the hotel, many great restaurants and walking distance from top attractions. Highly recommendable!

Room tip: The valet service for the car parking is absolutely worth it
Date of stay: August 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 439suc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Staff Concierge, Other at Savoia Excelsior Palace – Starhotels Collezione, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2022

Dear 439suc,
We really appreciate your positive review about our Hotel. We are pleased to know that our service lived up to your expectations. Looking forward to welcoming you again in our Starhotels Savoia Excelsior Palace.
Best regards,
The Reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2022 via mobile

Not much to write here. Nice staff, great room, great location. Breakfast was good too. Lots to choose from. Didn’t have lunch or dinner as I was on business so had to cater for all. I chose a superior room not beach facing but at the side of the hotel still had a view if I looked out of the window.

Room tip: There’s a really good place behind the hotel for gelato
Date of stay: August 2022
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank anandr95
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Staff Concierge, Other at Savoia Excelsior Palace – Starhotels Collezione, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2022

Dear anandr95,
We would like to thank you for your positive review. We look forward to welcoming you again in our Starhotels Savoia Excelsior Palace in the near future.
Yours faithfully,
The Reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2022

Stayed here after a last minute trip to Trieste and ended up staying an extra night we liked it so much.

Turned up in Trieste with no reservation however the staff at the Savoia were extremely helpful offering a number of rooms and budgets.
Parking was easy with no issues (valet parking EUR39 per day).

The room for a city hotel was spacious and luxurious. Bed was queen size and very comfortable. Illy coffee machine although only once regular and one decafe capsule.

The highlight was the balcony directly opposite the cruise ship terminal. Big balcony with table and chairs - perfect for enjoying breakfast and coffee - although the seagulls show no fear and are too quick to nab a croissant or two !
After checking out we took a boat to Muggia and it rained heavily. The staff allowed us to use the changing rooms in the gym to dry off and change.

Although not the cheapest location in Trieste - I would recommend stretching if you can - you won't be disappointed.

Room tip: Take a room at the front of the hotel with a balcony - but watch out for the seagulls !
Date of stay: August 2022
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FlyingClog
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Staff Concierge, Other at Savoia Excelsior Palace – Starhotels Collezione, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2022

Dear FlyingClog,
It’s a pleasure to read your kind words, but most importantly, we really thank you for dedicating some of your personal time to us. We really appreciate your kind words concerning our staff and hotel services and we are very happy to have contributed to make your stay in Trieste memorable.
We certainly look forward to welcoming you back in our Savoia Excelsior Palace.
Best regards,
The Reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews