We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel; great breakfast; location not in historic area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Victoria Hotel Letterario
Ranked #3 of 50 Hotels in Trieste
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 May 2017

We enjoyed very good service and the excellent breakfast buffet at the hotel. We were disappointed to realize the distance from the historic area but that was our fault, not the hotel's. Having requested a high floor with a quiet room, we were initially unhappy with the room assigned (it was top-floor but next to the spa). We asked to be moved and had to settle for the 1st floor, an internal room that felt like a cave. It was a better choice for us (more quiet) but not what we had hoped for.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms have low ceilings. A/C not individually controlled so if room is warm during May, y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Cheryl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VictoriaTrieste, Direttore generale at Victoria Hotel Letterario, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2017

Dear Cheryl C,
thank you for your review. We are located on the back of the San Giusto Castle and Cathedral and the historic area is reachable in 10 mins walk. I’m sorry you were unhappy with the room assigned. I assure you that the spa is usually a quiet place since it is only for private use.
My Best,
Lorenzo Vidoni
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,404)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

40 - 44 of 1,404 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2017

Hotel and staff were first rate with individual staff being extremely helpful. The quality of the rooms was excellent and standard of house keeping first rate. I would have no hesitation in recommending the Victoria travelling to Trieste in the future.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank eamclernon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VictoriaTrieste, Direttore generale at Victoria Hotel Letterario, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2017

Dear eamclernon,
So nice of you recommending us so openly. Thank you for your gorgeous words of appreciation. If you’ll come back, please make use of this promocode on our website (ONLY4YOU) and you’ll get a nice surprice on your next rate!
Kind regards from the city of James Joyce,
Lorenzo Vidoni
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2017

This modest hotel doesn't normally show up on the radar, but I found it more than adequate for living up to my expectations.

I stayed in The Apartment, which is a flat they have available right next door. It has a kitchen and 2 bedrooms (single bed and king size), so good for 3 people. The cost was about 90 Euro, so reasonable, plus indoor parking across the street for an extra 13 Euro a day. Staff were helpful on the business side and happy to print out some stuff I needed at the last minute.

If you value close indoor parking and a clean reasonably priced room combo, I would say give it a go.

Room Tip: The Apartment is usually cheaper than rooms in the hotel, but still good quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Daniel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VictoriaTrieste, Direttore generale at Victoria Hotel Letterario, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2017

Dear Daniel L,
thank you so much for this fine description of our apartments. They are the right solution for those who prefer to be independent still enjoying the 4 stars hotel services. Just let me add that the rate depends upon the period and our availability.
Looking forward to having you son again at the literary hotel,
Lorenzo Vidoni
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2017

This was our second trip to Trieste. We enjoyed our stay at Victoria Hotel so much the first time we traveled to Trieste in fall of 2015 that we booked the hotel again in spring of 2017. The hotel is quite charming, the staff are courteous and helpful, and the rooms are a combination of Victorian and ultra modern style. The hotel is a short taxi ride from Central Station and numerous dining options are a short walk away.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank F8918JZjonathanp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VictoriaTrieste, Direttore generale at Victoria Hotel Letterario, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2017

Dear F8918JZjonathanp,
your review make us more than happy, since you confirm us as your preferred hotel in Trieste. Thank you! It’s very nice to know that even this time we are as good as you find us the first time.
As and Italian saying states: there's no two without three, so we all look forward to welcoming you soon again.
Kind regards,
Lorenzo Vidoni
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2017

We could not fault this Hotel. Great location, well appointed, friendly helpful staff, excellent breakfast, lovely bedroom. Loved the literary theme. What more could we ask for?
Pity about the weather but that is well beyond their call of duty.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank O7438GYianf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VictoriaTrieste, Direttore generale at Victoria Hotel Letterario, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2017

Dear O7438GYianf,
so nice of you this review: thank you! We look forward to having you back again with a sunnier weather. That’s why I hope you take note of this promocode: ONLY4YOU to use on our website in order to get a nice discount on your next stay.
Kind regards,
Lorenzo Vidoni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Trieste hotels
1.1 km away
Savoia Excelsior Palace – Starhotels Collezione
1 km away
Hotel Residence L'Albero Nascosto
1 km away
Grand Hotel Duchi D'Aosta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
NH Trieste
NH Trieste
#10 of 50 in Trieste
1,758 reviews
0.8 km away
Nuovo Albergo Centro
Nuovo Albergo Centro
#11 of 50 in Trieste
440 reviews
7.2 km away
Hotel Miramare
Hotel Miramare
#6 of 50 in Trieste
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Hotel Letterario? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Hotel Letterario

Address: Via Alfredo Oriani 2, 34131, Trieste, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Friuli Venezia Giulia > Province of Trieste > Trieste
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Trieste
#2 Romantic Hotel in Trieste
#2 Family Hotel in Trieste
#2 Luxury Hotel in Trieste
Price Range: €91 - €356 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Victoria Hotel Letterario 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nel cuore di una citta da leggere, l'Hotel Victoria e stato creato per esprimere l'apprezzamento per la tradizione culturale di Trieste, con tutto il fascino, la storia e l'eleganza di una miscela mitteleuropea di 44 camere. Situato in un edificio storico - che fu la residenza del famoso scrittore irlandese James Joyce - l'Hotel Victoria e organizzato con una particolare attenzione per i dettagli. E la risposta ideale per uomini d'affari e viaggiatori che amano il comfort e un servizio di qualita. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Victoria Hotel Letterario reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Trieste

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing