We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'm not so scared to try to cook pasta at home now! I just need to practice!”

Cultura Italiana Bologna Cucina
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Cultura Italiana Bologna Cucina (1996) Authentic Bolognese school in the heart of the city offering amateur and professional chef training courses. Our teachers are not only good Chefs but also excellent cookery teachers. We are a centre of excellence for aspiring chefs wanting to learn cooking both professionally or solely as an interest! We teach professional cooking techniques enabling students to learn and improve their culinary skills in the kitchen. Morning/ Afternoon/ Evening and Weekend: Join our fun cooking sessions and enjoy the food prepared with wine or our wine tasting evenings with a professional sommelier. Amateur technical or theme-based courses for 1 or more weeks. Professional chef programmes : Foundation, intensive, pastry chef or lessons + restaurant placement courses available. Cooking Amateur/Professional: 45 EUR/person (11-15 people class); Amateur courses 1 week 390 EUR/person (3-6 persons); Professional foundation 1 week: 525 EUR/person (3-6 people class). We can also arrange accommodation in private flats or with Italian families near the school.
Reviewed 29 January 2016

We had a small group of 4 people, and Davide, who is a professional Italian chef, led the class for about 3.5 hours. We met at 9.00 in Via Castiglione and walked to Mercato delle Erbe to source some of the ingredients.

Davide is very friendly and knowledgable and we really understood the art of pasta making. We helped prepare broth from scratch, which was to be used in the Ragu alla Bolognese (Bolognese sauce). Then we made Ragu, followed by Tortelloni filled with Ricotta. We also made Tagliatelle. We used both the pasta machine and we also did some by hand to see the different methods!

Lastly, we made panna cotta, and then we all ate our dishes, with a glass of wine at the end of the class - perfect finish to the course!
The kitchen is a professional kitchen, easy to work with and we learnt traditional Italian dishes. I booked through the tourist office at Bologna Welcome (only the day beforehand), and it was very, very reasonably priced at 89 Euros - especially compared to some other cooking classes I found online. We received a copy of all the recipes as well.
I would thoroughly recommend this course!!!

1  Thank Serraserra1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (42)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"cooking class"
in 5 reviews
"bolognese sauce"
in 2 reviews
"learning how"
in 2 reviews
"chef"
in 8 reviews
"students"
in 6 reviews
"kitchen"
in 2 reviews
"teacher"
in 2 reviews
Filter

8 - 12 of 42 reviews

Reviewed 15 November 2015

I really enjoyed these classes which were taught by professional chefs, but in a fun and relaxed environment. The classes were varied and covered the local specialities. It was also interesting to speak to the chefs for their tips and culinary background.

Thank meli241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cultura-Italiana-BC, Owner at Cultura Italiana Bologna Cucina, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2015

Ciao ! Thank you so much for your compliments!. We are very pleased that you found our chefs interesting and their tips useful! Happy cooking!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2015

....another day in cooking paradise, I do enjoy the cooking classes a lot, while I did it many times ( 3week in a row) the chefs are funny and pros, they explain you everything, what you have to buy, where, why exactly this and how you can use it...
especially, I like, how to cook Italian way..not this "b...." fast cooking etc...

Thank DonEstefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cultura-Italiana-BC, Owner at Cultura Italiana Bologna Cucina, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2015

We are very happy to hear you are enjoying your classes and time spent with our chefs ! Thank you for writing in your positive experience. Have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2015

To take a real Italian Cooking Class was a dream come true. Davide was the real deal.
We learnt to make pasta from scratch as well as gnocchi.
My recommendation to make this even better would be to make more of a variety. We made 2 pasta dishes. Would have been great to perhaps do a dessert as well. And also would have been better if we'd all done a little bit of each dish. I was so busy making tortellini that I completely missed seeing the gnocchi being made.

1  Thank denisel930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cultura-Italiana-BC, Owner at Cultura Italiana Bologna Cucina, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2015

Hi Denise , thank you very much for writing in, for the photo and for your kind words about our class and chef, Davide. Thank you for sending in your suggestions, we value all feedback from our students. We wish you a very good day where you are!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 18 September 2015 via mobile

Great morning of preparing,cooking and eating.
Davide was an excellent teacher . We luv pasta and he gave us many handy hints and advice on all the dishes we prepared .
We liked it was hands on and a small class .
The 3 courses were tasty as was the wine . We even learnt a few Italian words as well.

Thank Deb B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cultura-Italiana-BC, Owner at Cultura Italiana Bologna Cucina, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2015

Ciao! Thank you so much for your kind words about our course and chef Davide. We are so happy to hear that you loved cooking and eating the dishes!. We hope you will visit us again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cultura Italiana Bologna Cucina also viewed

Bologna, Province of Bologna
Bologna, Province of Bologna
 
Bologna, Province of Bologna
Bologna, Province of Bologna
 

Been to Cultura Italiana Bologna Cucina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing