We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Hotel San Donato
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Holiday Hotel(Bologna)
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Cavour(Bologna)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (823)
Filter reviews
823 results
Traveller rating
209
364
178
45
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
209
364
178
45
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationroof terracesingle roomhotel is locatednice hotelbuffet breakfastcentral bolognastar hotelnice breakfastcity centreold citythe main squarethree nightsroom was largemini barvisit bolognapiazza maggiore
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
273 - 278 of 823 reviews
Reviewed 22 April 2012

The only positive of this hotel is its location in the heart of Bologna (but 20 min walk away from the train station) and the staff who is friendly.
I had visited Best Western in Bergamo and I was very very satisfied so I chose to visit this hotel with enthousiasm.
I was very disappointed though. Very noisy rooms (imagine that earcaps are provided) that need to be renovated. Average breakfast.
The intennet access has function problems, you need to log in again and again.
The outern doors of the room did not lock so I did not feel safe.
We were a group of 6 people and we all had the same opinion. Bad choice..

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank loukiav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

The location of the hotel is excellent - close to the center of everything - and still quiet. Rooms are quite big and breakfast was very good. The hotel has several terraces where you can enjoy breakfast or just a glass of wine in the afternoon. The hotel also provide free tea/coffe certain hours during the day, which we really liked! We would definitely stay here next time. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Good value for money!

Room Tip: Some rooms had a balcony, we did not. Ask for a room with a balcony
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Swedengourmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

Unbelievable location - right in the middle of town and an easy walk to the train station. Unlike the experience of other reviewers here, my room was really big and really quiet, perfect. The breakfast was great, and available for a good 4 hours, always nice. The staff were professional and helpful. I spent every evening on the balcony drinking wine and eating free very yummy nibbles while looking over a bustling and beautiful city centre.

The only complaint is the diabolical internet service as described in detail by another review below - constantly logging you out halfway through something, and some days not working at all. Incredibly frustrating, especially when I was there for business. There is a lack of internet cafes suitable for working in the area, so you are pretty much stuck with the hotel internet.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SallyTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

The rooms are nothing to write home about but they have all of the amenities that one would need.

You are brilliantly located close to the heart of Bologna. The location is a good reason to chose the hotel in its own.

Breakfast is a good spread of mediocre products.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fdol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

We spent 4 days in Bologna at the Hotel San Donato Best Western. The rooms are not very big, but clean. The location is excellent. The hotel has a terrace on th 2 flour (we did the breakfast there) with wiew of the roofs of the city and the towers! The town is living during the whole day and night! Take a red bus city tour! I can recommend to make some excursions to the nearby cities ( Ferrara, Modena, Parma or Padua). The trains (trenitalia) are fast and always in time and runs very often. Easy to buy ticket on the automat ( on English too). Don't forget to try the real "bologenese". It was fantastic 4 days!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank draratogabriella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews