We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great location and excellent breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Hotel San Donato
Ranked #46 of 104 Hotels in Bologna
Cuddesdon
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A great location and excellent breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

Had an excellent large room which was very well equipped. There is an upstairs terrace with excellent views of the city. A very good and substantial breakast. Staff were very helpful when my luggage failed to arrive at the airport.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tractarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

723 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    187
    314
    155
    40
    27
See reviews for
102
262
76
148
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rhodes Town, Greece
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

The only positive of this hotel is its location in the heart of Bologna (but 20 min walk away from the train station) and the staff who is friendly.
I had visited Best Western in Bergamo and I was very very satisfied so I chose to visit this hotel with enthousiasm.
I was very disappointed though. Very noisy rooms (imagine that earcaps are provided) that need to be renovated. Average breakfast.
The intennet access has function problems, you need to log in again and again.
The outern doors of the room did not lock so I did not feel safe.
We were a group of 6 people and we all had the same opinion. Bad choice..

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank loukiav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sweden
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

The location of the hotel is excellent - close to the center of everything - and still quiet. Rooms are quite big and breakfast was very good. The hotel has several terraces where you can enjoy breakfast or just a glass of wine in the afternoon. The hotel also provide free tea/coffe certain hours during the day, which we really liked! We would definitely stay here next time. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Good value for money!

Room Tip: Some rooms had a balcony, we did not. Ask for a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Swedengourmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

Unbelievable location - right in the middle of town and an easy walk to the train station. Unlike the experience of other reviewers here, my room was really big and really quiet, perfect. The breakfast was great, and available for a good 4 hours, always nice. The staff were professional and helpful. I spent every evening on the balcony drinking wine and eating free very yummy nibbles while looking over a bustling and beautiful city centre.

The only complaint is the diabolical internet service as described in detail by another review below - constantly logging you out halfway through something, and some days not working at all. Incredibly frustrating, especially when I was there for business. There is a lack of internet cafes suitable for working in the area, so you are pretty much stuck with the hotel internet.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SallyTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

The rooms are nothing to write home about but they have all of the amenities that one would need.

You are brilliantly located close to the heart of Bologna. The location is a good reason to chose the hotel in its own.

Breakfast is a good spread of mediocre products.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fdol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bologna hotels
Al Cappello Rosso
#11 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 751 reviews
Art Hotel Commercianti
#6 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
San Vitale
Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
#2 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Panorama Hotel
#34 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Aemilia Hotel
#4 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,295 reviews
Albergo Centrale
#22 of 104 in Bologna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel San Donato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel San Donato

Property: BEST WESTERN Hotel San Donato
Address: Via Zamboni 16, 40126 Bologna, Italy
Region: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna > San Vitale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Room Service
Hotel Style:
#29 Luxury Hotel in Bologna
#30 Family Hotel in Bologna
#35 Romantic Hotel in Bologna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel San Donato 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Hotel housed in 17th century structure, situated near main theaters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel San Donato reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western San Donato
Best Western Bologna
Bologna Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing