We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel -good value for money-”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Hotel San Donato
Ranked #43 of 102 Hotels in Bologna
Reviewed 15 April 2012

The location of the hotel is excellent - close to the center of everything - and still quiet. Rooms are quite big and breakfast was very good. The hotel has several terraces where you can enjoy breakfast or just a glass of wine in the afternoon. The hotel also provide free tea/coffe certain hours during the day, which we really liked! We would definitely stay here next time. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Good value for money!

Room Tip: Some rooms had a balcony, we did not. Ask for a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Swedengourmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (773)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

264 - 268 of 773 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2012

Unbelievable location - right in the middle of town and an easy walk to the train station. Unlike the experience of other reviewers here, my room was really big and really quiet, perfect. The breakfast was great, and available for a good 4 hours, always nice. The staff were professional and helpful. I spent every evening on the balcony drinking wine and eating free very yummy nibbles while looking over a bustling and beautiful city centre.

The only complaint is the diabolical internet service as described in detail by another review below - constantly logging you out halfway through something, and some days not working at all. Incredibly frustrating, especially when I was there for business. There is a lack of internet cafes suitable for working in the area, so you are pretty much stuck with the hotel internet.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SallyTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

The rooms are nothing to write home about but they have all of the amenities that one would need.

You are brilliantly located close to the heart of Bologna. The location is a good reason to chose the hotel in its own.

Breakfast is a good spread of mediocre products.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fdol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

We spent 4 days in Bologna at the Hotel San Donato Best Western. The rooms are not very big, but clean. The location is excellent. The hotel has a terrace on th 2 flour (we did the breakfast there) with wiew of the roofs of the city and the towers! The town is living during the whole day and night! Take a red bus city tour! I can recommend to make some excursions to the nearby cities ( Ferrara, Modena, Parma or Padua). The trains (trenitalia) are fast and always in time and runs very often. Easy to buy ticket on the automat ( on English too). Don't forget to try the real "bologenese". It was fantastic 4 days!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank draratogabriella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2012

This hotel is all about location, which is excellent, near the University (therefore lively) and the twin towers (therefore close to the main city sites. So far, so good. Where the hotel fell down is that it is very noisy (as mentioned by many other reviewers) and finding a set of ear-plugs in the bathroom was not encouraging. Walls are indeed paper thin, and the use of floor tiles instead of carpets magnifies the noise - as we discovered during preparations for departure in a nearby room at 4am.
The other annoying thing about the hotel was the immensly frustrating access to the (admittedly free) WiFi, which requires guests to sign a form, and ask for a separate access code per phone of lap top, and the need to re-log on endlessly as access just shut down time after time for no apparent reason, requiring a new log-on. Anti-terrorist legislation we were told, but this was the only hotel in Italy (with quite a few sampled) that required this annoying procedure.
Apart from that the hotel was quite good, although I am not sure that we will use it again the next time we visit Bologna.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank passyparis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bologna hotels
Al Cappello Rosso
#9 of 102 in Bologna
828 reviews
Metropolitan Hotel
#8 of 102 in Bologna
1,541 reviews
Art Hotel Commercianti
#13 of 102 in Bologna
535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Vitale
Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
#2 of 102 in Bologna
895 reviews
I Portici Hotel
#23 of 102 in Bologna
1,452 reviews
Panorama Hotel
#31 of 102 in Bologna
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel San Donato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel San Donato

Address: Via Zamboni 16 | Centro Citta', 40126 Bologna, Italy
Region: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna > San Vitale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Room Service
Hotel Style:
#28 Luxury Hotel in Bologna
#30 Family Hotel in Bologna
#35 Romantic Hotel in Bologna
Price Range: €73 - €212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Hotel San Donato 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Hotel housed in 17th century structure, situated near main theaters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Hotel San Donato reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western San Donato
Best Western Bologna
Bologna Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing