We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,761)
Filter reviews
1,761 results
Traveller rating
983
606
135
28
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
983
606
135
28
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location train station side street rooftop bar piazza maggiore the main shopping street recommend this hotel central location breakfast room modern hotel junior suite centre of bologna great shower breakfast staff pastries quiet street wonderful city
Filter
Updating list...
120 - 125 of 1,761 reviews
Reviewed 10 November 2017

Very well located in a quiet street few minutes walk to main square. My single room had a nice bed but a disappointing view of a dingy internal courtyard from the window. Breakfast excellent wifi fine

Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Paul V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hmetro, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Metropolitan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2017

Dear Paul, thank you for sharing your stay experience with the other guests. We can only agree with you that Bologna is a lovely city. Thanks to the expansion of the airport and to a greater awareness of all the institutions of Bologna is being discovered by an increasing audience. We hope to see you again soon. A warm greeting from all the staff, Gianclaudio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2017 via mobile

Ideally located, 10 minute walk from the train station, and just a short stroll from the historic centre, shopping and restaurants. This is a modern hotel, thoughtfully appointed, spotlessly clean, with a relaxing rooftop bar. We chose to transfer to their appartments, my hubby is very tall, bigger bed available, again first rate. Breakfast is not your usual run of the mill continental, it is packed with little treats, all beautifully presented and regularly refreshed. Staff couldn't be more helpful. Happy find, thank you trip advisor, will definitely be back.

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Scoobbydoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hmetro, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Metropolitan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2017

Dear Scoobbydoo, thanks for the nice words you wrote about staying at our hotel. We are very proud to have contributed to the success of your holiday. We hope to see you again soon in Bologna. A friendly greeting from all the staff, Gianclaudio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2017

We are a couple who stayed here for 3 nights. It is a modern hotel. Our room was a good size, with a large comfortable bed; a nice bathroom; a toilet accessed separately so a couple can use each at the same time; a long bench for my laptop and to place other things; a thick shower coat and slippers for each of us; the room is well lit.

The breakfast is good, offering a good range of nice foods, a good choice of coffees, and making a big effort on presentation (e.g. fruits cut up and placed on skewers).

The reception staff were very helpful. The standout was Sara, who is the best we have experienced in the 19 hotels we have stayed at over the last two months holidaying in Europe. She was friendly, helpful, and pro-active, recommending places to eat (which were good and at our price level), alerting us to flooding at our next destination, and ringing our hotel in that city to check on the impact of the weather there.

The hotel’s location is good, a few minutes walk to all the major museums, art galleries and churches, and the main shopping area. The hotel is ~100m off the main shopping street in Bologna (Via dell'Indipendenza).

A couple of minuses: our room was overheated; the wifi was unstable; there is no iron available for guests to use (€4 per shirt to have it ironed); the TV slim screen is directly above where one’s laptop is located, with the result that several times I hit my head on it when getting up from the table.

Overall, it is a good hotel which we enjoyed and is reasonably priced. We would happily recommend it to others. And the hotel should give Sara a reward

Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hmetro, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Metropolitan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2017

Dear Andrew, thank you for having shared with such a great deal of details your stay experience at our hotel. We are all very happy to read that you appreciated our services and your compliments will also make Sara will proud to know that her efforts have been useful for the good success of your vacation. We will certainly consider your suggestions to try to improve us. We look forward to seeing you again in Bologna, a cordial greeting from all the staff, Gianclaudio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for three nights. What a fabulous boutique hotel. The garden on the roof terrace was lovely, just the place to relax and have a drink. Ideally situated in Bologna. Would definitely stay again.

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank elainem28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hmetro, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Metropolitan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2017

Dear Elainem, thank you for having spent so nice words to review our hotel. We are all flattered to have been able to leave you a good memory of us. We hope to see you soon in Bologna, a cordial greeting from all the staff, Gianclaudio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2017 via mobile

What a marvellous hotel in a wonderful city.
Central to everything. Clean and modern. Mini bar and sky tv (Ok Italian Sky). All staff were very welcoming and helpful especially the older man who is obviously very proud of his city.
Beautiful roof terrace bar on top of hotel where you can watch the sunset over the extraordinary city.
Highly recommend a visit.

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hmetro, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Metropolitan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2017

Dear Sarah, it is really a pleasure to see that you enjoyed the stay at our hotel and that you liked Bologna too. We are all very proud of our city and one of the reasons is that it manages to unite travelers and locals creating a lively but authentic atmosphere. We are very glad that you have enjoyed our Roof Garden, which is a special place for us and it is also very successful among our guests. We hope to see you soon in Bologna, a warm welcome from all staff, Gianclaudio.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews