We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“really nice hotel in perfect location”
Review of Metropolitan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Metropolitan Hotel
Ranked #8 of 102 Hotels in Bologna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

this is a lovely hotel half way between the main sightseeing areas and the downtown station area. it's located in a side street and is surrounded by nice cafe's, restaurants and shops. the room was small but smartly decorated and furnished. there are larger rooms in the hotel. the staff were very polite and helpful. breakfast was mainly continental with sliced portions of fruit and a selection of pastries. some hot food like scrambled eggs were available at an extra cost.

Room Tip: tv channels are in Italian but you can get other languages by using the guidelines on the remote con...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank robert m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hmetro, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Metropolitan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Robert, thanks for describing our structure with such details. We are very pleased to know that a guest attentive as you enjoyed our services and our location. We hope to see you soon in Bologna again. A friendly greeting from the whole staff, Gianclaudio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,573)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 1,573 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very well located in a quiet street few minutes walk to main square. My single room had a nice bed but a disappointing view of a dingy internal courtyard from the window. Breakfast excellent wifi fine

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Paul V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hmetro, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Metropolitan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Paul, thank you for sharing your stay experience with the other guests. We can only agree with you that Bologna is a lovely city. Thanks to the expansion of the airport and to a greater awareness of all the institutions of Bologna is being discovered by an increasing audience. We hope to see you again soon. A warm greeting from all the staff, Gianclaudio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2017 via mobile

Ideally located, 10 minute walk from the train station, and just a short stroll from the historic centre, shopping and restaurants. This is a modern hotel, thoughtfully appointed, spotlessly clean, with a relaxing rooftop bar. We chose to transfer to their appartments, my hubby is very tall, bigger bed available, again first rate. Breakfast is not your usual run of the mill continental, it is packed with little treats, all beautifully presented and regularly refreshed. Staff couldn't be more helpful. Happy find, thank you trip advisor, will definitely be back.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Scoobbydoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hmetro, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Metropolitan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Scoobbydoo, thanks for the nice words you wrote about staying at our hotel. We are very proud to have contributed to the success of your holiday. We hope to see you again soon in Bologna. A friendly greeting from all the staff, Gianclaudio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2017

We are a couple who stayed here for 3 nights. It is a modern hotel. Our room was a good size, with a large comfortable bed; a nice bathroom; a toilet accessed separately so a couple can use each at the same time; a long bench for my laptop and to place other things; a thick shower coat and slippers for each of us; the room is well lit.

The breakfast is good, offering a good range of nice foods, a good choice of coffees, and making a big effort on presentation (e.g. fruits cut up and placed on skewers).

The reception staff were very helpful. The standout was Sara, who is the best we have experienced in the 19 hotels we have stayed at over the last two months holidaying in Europe. She was friendly, helpful, and pro-active, recommending places to eat (which were good and at our price level), alerting us to flooding at our next destination, and ringing our hotel in that city to check on the impact of the weather there.

The hotel’s location is good, a few minutes walk to all the major museums, art galleries and churches, and the main shopping area. The hotel is ~100m off the main shopping street in Bologna (Via dell'Indipendenza).

A couple of minuses: our room was overheated; the wifi was unstable; there is no iron available for guests to use (€4 per shirt to have it ironed); the TV slim screen is directly above where one’s laptop is located, with the result that several times I hit my head on it when getting up from the table.

Overall, it is a good hotel which we enjoyed and is reasonably priced. We would happily recommend it to others. And the hotel should give Sara a reward

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hmetro, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Metropolitan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear Andrew, thank you for having shared with such a great deal of details your stay experience at our hotel. We are all very happy to read that you appreciated our services and your compliments will also make Sara will proud to know that her efforts have been useful for the good success of your vacation. We will certainly consider your suggestions to try to improve us. We look forward to seeing you again in Bologna, a cordial greeting from all the staff, Gianclaudio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for three nights. What a fabulous boutique hotel. The garden on the roof terrace was lovely, just the place to relax and have a drink. Ideally situated in Bologna. Would definitely stay again.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank elainem28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hmetro, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Metropolitan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear Elainem, thank you for having spent so nice words to review our hotel. We are all flattered to have been able to leave you a good memory of us. We hope to see you soon in Bologna, a cordial greeting from all the staff, Gianclaudio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bologna hotels
Savhotel
#3 of 102 in Bologna
2,259 reviews
Aemilia Hotel
#4 of 102 in Bologna
2,546 reviews
I Portici Hotel
#23 of 102 in Bologna
1,470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Vitale
Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
#2 of 102 in Bologna
923 reviews
San Vitale
Il Canale Hotel
Il Canale Hotel
#5 of 102 in Bologna
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metropolitan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropolitan Hotel

Address: Via Dell'Orso 6, 40121 Bologna, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Bologna
#6 Family Hotel in Bologna
#11 Romantic Hotel in Bologna
Price Range: €105 - €253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Metropolitan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simple, minimalist, inspired to Far East suggestions..Design Hotel in Bologna The Metropolitan Hotel has been completely renovated according to the news hospitality concepts.Modern comforts melt into an exclusive inner design combined to a long tradition of family of Hoteliers.The Metropolitan Hotel is perfectly located in the Medieval city centre of Bologna, in a walking area a few steps from Piazza Maggiore.Exotic flavours from Far East will seduce guests along the enchanting and relaxing atmosphere of the breakfast room to taste several Eastern teas an herbs infusions together with fragrant brioches and a creative selection of fresh fruits.Our Staff will be glad to suggest you the best Restaurants of the City, the most exclusive Shops and Outlet and to arrange your visit to the legendary cathedrals of motors: homeland to Ferrari, Ducati, Lamborghini and Maserati brands.And for those who want to stay in elegant apartments, maintaining the benefits and services of a hotel, are available to the new MET'S APARTMENTSParking at 100mt from the Hotel (price reserved for our customers). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Metropolitan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropolitan Hotel Bologna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing