We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,513)
Filter reviews
1,513 results
Traveller rating
994
413
79
18
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
994
413
79
18
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews al sangiovese breakfast room garden room le mura charming hotel small garden lovely courtyard minute walk breakfast is served city centre ring road small hotel old city main piazza quiet street room was large pastries
Filter
Updating list...
48 - 53 of 1,513 reviews
Reviewed 27 October 2017

I stayed in Bologna for one night on the 17th October the hotel is in an ideal location with the historic centre only 10 minutes walking distance. the weather was beautiful so I took one of the bikes available at the hotel and cycled around the city. The room was really comfortable and the hotel was really cosy I woke up with the sun beaming onto the terracotta buildings outside my window i stayed in room 420. There was a great choice for breakfast and the staff could not have been more welcoming. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Stayed: October 2017
Thank Freedom T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
condelloroberto, Direttore generale at Hotel Porta San Mamolo, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2018

Dear Sir,
thank you for your kind review,
we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay,
Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2017

This is a lovely boutique hotel in Bologna. Near everything, about 15 minutes to the Piazza Maggiore which is a wonderful place to watch the world go by.
Standard Rooms can be small but that is typical of the continent.
Rooms are adequate, bathroom ok, shower, no bath.
There is a lovely courtyard to the breakfast area and the breakfast room is nice and comfortable.If it is warm you can eat outside, which we did for the whole week. Nice selection of eggs, ham and cheese, plenty of fruit and great Italian coffee.
There are 48 rooms in the hotel, with plenty of superior rooms which look great and some suites.
The big advantage is the location. Out the door and turn right and head downtown. Plenty of coffee shops and shopping malls on the way.
Out the door and left and left again is a more interesting route downtown.
Bologna is a very safe city and we walked back to the hotel most evening after midnight and no problems.
Staff are very nice and helpful especially at reception.
Right opposite is the best restaurant in Bologna that we found, and best value, the Osteria - see separate review.
I would recommend this hotel, nice and comfortable and relaxed.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a balcony overlooking the courtyard.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Martin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
condelloroberto, Direttore generale at Hotel Porta San Mamolo, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2018

Dear Sirs,
thank you very much for your sincere words about our hotel,
we are glad to welcome all the our guests and make their stay confortable,
Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017 via mobile

Good location with 2 good restaurants in the same street. We stayed for 4 nights. Our rooms looked into the courtyard and were quite; however, they could do with just a little TLC. Breakfast was OK although the scrambled eggs and bacon were very disappointing and there were not enough tables at peak time. Nevertheless, we loved our stay and would recommend the hotel

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Dougie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
condelloroberto, Direttore generale at Hotel Porta San Mamolo, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2018

Dear Sir,
thank you very much for your review,
we are sorry not everything was as you expected, it's very important for us to know where we can improve our service,
Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2017

Away from the very centre, in a small quiet street, but only a short walk into town. Very comfortable room and excellent buffet breakfast with all the options. Some ‘green space’ in the rear courtyard. Two good restaurants are very close, Very helpful staff and reasonable price. Thoroughly recommended

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FarnhamBorderTerrier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017

Quiet, charming hotel, only few minutes from Piazza Maggiore, the centre of Bologna- Wonderful courtyard/garden to enjoy, where you can sit comfortable reading, relaxing on a warm summerday. cool and cosy. Excellent morning buffet in flowering surroundungs. Very forthcoming and professional staff. The proprietor nearly always awailable for a chat or information. Two authentic family restaurant in the street.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank helmer21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews