We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky hotel in a good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Porta San Mamolo
Ranked #9 of 102 Hotels in Bologna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 November 2017

We stayed here for a long weekend with our 2 sons. It is well located 10-15 minute walk to everything, lots of restaurants very close by. The staff were friendly and welcoming, although sadly did not seen that knowledgable about trips / suggestions for tourists. There are lots of interesting rooms within this boutique hotel. I think it is more a 3 than a 4 star - bathroom was a little basic and beds quite uncomfortable. But aside from that, the breakfast was freshly prepared and there is a lovely interior garden / courtyard which was great for pre-dinner drinks or to sit and have some quiet time. Nice little hotel in a good location - good for a short break.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WilliamsFamily51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,450)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 1,450 reviews

Reviewed 27 October 2017

I stayed in Bologna for one night on the 17th October the hotel is in an ideal location with the historic centre only 10 minutes walking distance. the weather was beautiful so I took one of the bikes available at the hotel and cycled around the city. The room was really comfortable and the hotel was really cosy I woke up with the sun beaming onto the terracotta buildings outside my window i stayed in room 420. There was a great choice for breakfast and the staff could not have been more welcoming. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Stayed: October 2017
Thank Freedom T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2017

This is a lovely boutique hotel in Bologna. Near everything, about 15 minutes to the Piazza Maggiore which is a wonderful place to watch the world go by.
Standard Rooms can be small but that is typical of the continent.
Rooms are adequate, bathroom ok, shower, no bath.
There is a lovely courtyard to the breakfast area and the breakfast room is nice and comfortable.If it is warm you can eat outside, which we did for the whole week. Nice selection of eggs, ham and cheese, plenty of fruit and great Italian coffee.
There are 48 rooms in the hotel, with plenty of superior rooms which look great and some suites.
The big advantage is the location. Out the door and turn right and head downtown. Plenty of coffee shops and shopping malls on the way.
Out the door and left and left again is a more interesting route downtown.
Bologna is a very safe city and we walked back to the hotel most evening after midnight and no problems.
Staff are very nice and helpful especially at reception.
Right opposite is the best restaurant in Bologna that we found, and best value, the Osteria - see separate review.
I would recommend this hotel, nice and comfortable and relaxed.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a balcony overlooking the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank IrelandMarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017 via mobile

Good location with 2 good restaurants in the same street. We stayed for 4 nights. Our rooms looked into the courtyard and were quite; however, they could do with just a little TLC. Breakfast was OK although the scrambled eggs and bacon were very disappointing and there were not enough tables at peak time. Nevertheless, we loved our stay and would recommend the hotel

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Dougie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2017

Away from the very centre, in a small quiet street, but only a short walk into town. Very comfortable room and excellent buffet breakfast with all the options. Some ‘green space’ in the rear courtyard. Two good restaurants are very close, Very helpful staff and reasonable price. Thoroughly recommended

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FarnhamBorderTerrier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bologna hotels
Metropolitan Hotel
#8 of 102 in Bologna
1,583 reviews
Aemilia Hotel
#4 of 102 in Bologna
2,569 reviews
Savhotel
#3 of 102 in Bologna
2,285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Touring
#6 of 102 in Bologna
1,667 reviews
I Portici Hotel
#26 of 102 in Bologna
1,495 reviews
San Vitale
Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
#2 of 102 in Bologna
936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Porta San Mamolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Porta San Mamolo

Address: Vicolo del Falcone 6/8, 40124 Bologna, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bologna
#3 Family Hotel in Bologna
#12 Business Hotel in Bologna
Price Range: €92 - €191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Porta San Mamolo 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Hotel is located in the heart of Bologna, few steps away from the beautiful Piazza Maggiore and the famous Two Towers.Recently renovated it has maintained the typical Bolognese atmosphere while making the most of the courtyard garden that houses our sunny breakfast room in an oasis of green. Your welfare and attention to detail are our daily care. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Porta San Mamolo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porta San Mamolo Hotel
Porta San Mamolo Bologna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing