We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One minute walk from the train station”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Starhotels Excelsior
Ranked #26 of 102 Hotels in Bologna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Nice small room, average breakfast,wifi has some issues, parking (additional fee) on the spot which is an advantage in big italian cities. Street hassle due to the location, but rooms are extremely quiet. Nice, helpful staff. Poor tv channels selection, but that`s Italy...Nothing special, but nothing bad.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Sprt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirezioneStarhotels, Direttore at Starhotels Excelsior, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Guest,
thank you for your feedback.
We really hope to have the opportunity to welcoming you back soon.
Kind Regards
The Starhotels Excelsior Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,718)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3 - 7 of 1,718 reviews

Reviewed 25 October 2017

Arriving by train this hotel is beautifully located. Its large and busy but seems well managed with smooth check in, lovely large rooms that although are old fashioned function well. Good breakfast, all in all a good choice and very good value for money!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank allorasprings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirezioneStarhotels, Direttore at Starhotels Excelsior, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2017

Dear Guest,
thank you for sharing your opinion about your recent stay with us.
We are glad you had a positive experience during your stay at the Starhotels Excelsior and we are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind Regards
The Starhotels Excelsior Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2017

Although it is located opposite the main railway station in a traditionally sketchy area - its location is prime !! You are a 15-20 min walk from Bologna's historic heart and close to the railway station (cross the street) or Airport Bus (opposite). The rooms are clean and well-maintained; the bathroom is spacious and we had a wardrobe. We booked a standard room but for a small supplement were offered a better room, breakfast and "hi-speed WIFI". Coming from Asia where high speed is indeed supersonic, the Italian version is as slow as a snail and a very bureaucratic way of enabling the wifi through a seres of complex registrations and passwords and log ins that have to be reset each day. Breakfast was good , lots to choose from!!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank HKFrequentFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirezioneStarhotels, Direttore at Starhotels Excelsior, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2017

Dear Guest,
thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your recent stay with us.
We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and looking forward to welcoming you back soon, again.
Kind Regards
The Starhotels Excelsior Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2017

We stayed at this hotel and used it as a base to explore different parts of central Italy. The fact that the hotel was situated just across the street from the train station facilitated this plan.

I'd characterize the hotel as a good business hotel. Nothing fancy and we found our room was clean and spacious compared to what we had stayed in for our visits to Rome and Naples.

The staff was helpful and worked quickly and efficiently with all of their guests.

The wifi was excellent and gave me what I needed for my work requirements.

We'd definitely stay here again as it was convenient to visit Florence, Parma, and Modena.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danilo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirezioneStarhotels, Direttore at Starhotels Excelsior, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2017

Dear Danilo,
thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your recent stay with us. We are glad to hear you had a positive experience at Starhotels Excelsior and we are looking forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Warm Regards
The Starhotels Excelsior Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2017 via mobile

The hotel is keeping the very good level, it is the second time there.
Check in fast and easy.

Room very good. With double window you will NOT get any noise from outside, don't worry you are in front of the train station.

Clean room,good space, very good bathroom.

Good breakfast.

The hotel there is a parking lot.

Recommended.

People friendly

Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
Thank Rogerio L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirezioneStarhotels, Direttore at Starhotels Excelsior, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2017

Dear Rogerio,
it is such a pleasure to read your feedback regarding Starhotels Excelsior, but most importantly, for dedicating some of your personal time to us.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Best Regards
The Starhotels Excelsior Management


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bologna hotels
0.2 km away
NH Bologna De La Gare
NH Bologna De La Gare
#37 of 102 in Bologna
1,675 reviews
0.1 km away
Mercure Bologna Centro
Mercure Bologna Centro
#52 of 102 in Bologna
2,197 reviews
1.2 km away
Savhotel
Savhotel
#3 of 102 in Bologna
2,256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Metropolitan Hotel
Metropolitan Hotel
#8 of 102 in Bologna
1,573 reviews
0.4 km away
I Portici Hotel
I Portici Hotel
#23 of 102 in Bologna
1,470 reviews
0 km away
UNA Hotel Bologna
UNA Hotel Bologna
#25 of 102 in Bologna
1,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Starhotels Excelsior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Starhotels Excelsior

Address: Viale Pietro Pietramellara 51, 40121 Bologna, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Bologna
#16 Luxury Hotel in Bologna
#19 Business Hotel in Bologna
#25 Family Hotel in Bologna
Price Range: €88 - €212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Starhotels Excelsior 4.5*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Starhotels Excelsior in Bologna. In this beautiful ancient University city, our contemporary chic hotel is considered to be one of the best. The location opposite the railway station is conveniently close to the Fiera as well as the historical heart. Our Italian style is an alluring combination of clean, fresh interiors throughout the lobby, library and restaurant, and cosy traditional bedrooms.In our city centre Bologna hotel there are 193 rooms and suites; a well-equipped fitness room; lounge and bar for relaxing, Avorio restaurant serving traditional Bolognese food; and five meeting rooms seating up to 380 delegates in total. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Starhotels Excelsior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Starhotels Excelsior Hotel Bologna
Starhotels Hotel Bologna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing