We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,928)
Filter reviews
1,928 results
Traveller rating
708
909
218
47
46
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
708
909
218
47
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviews train station directly across the street upgraded to a junior suite travelling by train excellent location modern hotel italian city business hotel bologna centrale convenient location minute walk italian hotels main station large room city centre piazza maggiore stayed for nights
Filter
Updating list...
68 - 73 of 1,928 reviews
Reviewed 25 October 2017

Arriving by train this hotel is beautifully located. Its large and busy but seems well managed with smooth check in, lovely large rooms that although are old fashioned function well. Good breakfast, all in all a good choice and very good value for money!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank allorasprings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirezioneStarhotels, Direttore at Starhotels Excelsior, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2017

Dear Guest,
thank you for sharing your opinion about your recent stay with us.
We are glad you had a positive experience during your stay at the Starhotels Excelsior and we are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind Regards
The Starhotels Excelsior Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2017

Although it is located opposite the main railway station in a traditionally sketchy area - its location is prime !! You are a 15-20 min walk from Bologna's historic heart and close to the railway station (cross the street) or Airport Bus (opposite). The rooms are clean and well-maintained; the bathroom is spacious and we had a wardrobe. We booked a standard room but for a small supplement were offered a better room, breakfast and "hi-speed WIFI". Coming from Asia where high speed is indeed supersonic, the Italian version is as slow as a snail and a very bureaucratic way of enabling the wifi through a seres of complex registrations and passwords and log ins that have to be reset each day. Breakfast was good , lots to choose from!!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank HKFrequentFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirezioneStarhotels, Direttore at Starhotels Excelsior, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2017

Dear Guest,
thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your recent stay with us.
We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and looking forward to welcoming you back soon, again.
Kind Regards
The Starhotels Excelsior Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2017

We stayed at this hotel and used it as a base to explore different parts of central Italy. The fact that the hotel was situated just across the street from the train station facilitated this plan.

I'd characterize the hotel as a good business hotel. Nothing fancy and we found our room was clean and spacious compared to what we had stayed in for our visits to Rome and Naples.

The staff was helpful and worked quickly and efficiently with all of their guests.

The wifi was excellent and gave me what I needed for my work requirements.

We'd definitely stay here again as it was convenient to visit Florence, Parma, and Modena.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danilo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirezioneStarhotels, Direttore at Starhotels Excelsior, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2017

Dear Danilo,
thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your recent stay with us. We are glad to hear you had a positive experience at Starhotels Excelsior and we are looking forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Warm Regards
The Starhotels Excelsior Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2017 via mobile

The hotel is keeping the very good level, it is the second time there.
Check in fast and easy.

Room very good. With double window you will NOT get any noise from outside, don't worry you are in front of the train station.

Clean room,good space, very good bathroom.

Good breakfast.

The hotel there is a parking lot.

Recommended.

People friendly

Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
1  Thank rogeriol351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirezioneStarhotels, Direttore at Starhotels Excelsior, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2017

Dear Rogerio,
it is such a pleasure to read your feedback regarding Starhotels Excelsior, but most importantly, for dedicating some of your personal time to us.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Best Regards
The Starhotels Excelsior Management


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2017

Hotel was just across from main central train station. Airport bus lets you off at main station so really handy if arriving by plane. Had a deluxe room which was large and modern. Breakfast was good and all staff were efficient and polite. Check in/out was very quick and efficient. Only takes a 10min walk to centre.

Room Tip: 2nd floor deluxe room overlooked an emergency exit. no views whatsoever but room was very quiet.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Murray L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirezioneStarhotels, Direttore at Starhotels Excelsior, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2017

Dear Murray,
thank you for your positive feedback.
We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to have the opportunity to welcoming you again, soon.
Warm Regards.
The Starhotels Excelsior Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews