We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Four and a half would be more accurate as final score ...”
Review of Al Sangiovese

Al Sangiovese
Ranked #18 of 1,841 Restaurants in Bologna
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Santo Stefano
Kortrijk, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
650 reviews
433 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 391 helpful votes
“Four and a half would be more accurate as final score ...”
Reviewed 31 March 2012

A decent walk from the city center (20 min.), hidden on the corner of two narrow streets, without Tripadvisor we would never have come across this restaurant. Nice regional interior decoration, warm welcome, traditional menu with local dishes. We went with a party of four. I had the Lasagna Verdi Bolognese as primo – delicious! – and the beef carpaccio as secondo, which left me a little less enthusiastic. My wife’s risotto as primo was delicious, but a little too much to combine with another second.
I suppose the owners wish to remain faithful to the local tradition and do not make any concession to tourist tastes, and I applaud them for that. Given the huge portions, service was a little too fast, but that would be the only point of criticism we would like to make here. The score we would like to give would be a 4.5. Not really 100% perfect, but what an excellent souvenir of an unforgettable evening! They eventually get a 5, just for the warm welcome.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gonzalo_de_Berceo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,543 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    856
    538
    107
    35
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not great”
Reviewed 30 March 2012

With high expectations we went to Al Sangiovese just down the street from our hotel. The people who run the place are very nice and accomodating. When we were seated we noticed right away a very annoying noise coming from the kitchen, probably refrigeration or ventilation. Although the service was very good, the food was just average. I would not go there again. Nice people, but perhaps tourist weary.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
virginia
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“What a Great Place to Spend Your Evening”
Reviewed 20 March 2012

It doesn't get any friendlier and more personal than Al Sangiovese! We were delighted to have our server do her best to explain the Chef's specials that evening, as her English and our Italian were of equal strength. She was also instrumental in getting us to chose a Sangiovese grown by the family, and easily one of the best bottles of wine we have had in our 10 days in Bologna.

The Lasagna Verde was one of the best pasta dishes that my wife Alison has had in Italy and my dish of very young goat cheese with a mushroom leek sauce was outstanding. I followed up with well grilled Lamb Chops, and grilled vegetables, the vegetables being quite ordinary, maybe because they were out of season?

We allowed ourselves to be talked into a special dessert, sort of like a spice cake made with Sangiovesse red wine and a great Anglaise cream sauce.

We were hoping to go back on Sunday, our last day in Bologna, but they are closed, so we may have to shuffle things around to go back some other evening.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelonVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Ok”
Reviewed 19 March 2012

We were recomended this restaurant and the food was not as good as other restaurangs in Bologna.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marikastolpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent RESTAURANT”
Reviewed 15 March 2012

We find this restaurant after reading the rewievs of tripadvisor and our dinner was great with a very warm atmosphere,delicious meal and friendly owners.
It was the best meal we ate during our trip.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank cigdem50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Al Sangiovese also viewed

Bologna, Province of Bologna
Bologna, Province of Bologna
 
Bologna, Province of Bologna
Bologna, Province of Bologna
 
Bologna, Province of Bologna
Bologna, Province of Bologna
 

Been to Al Sangiovese? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing