We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Affittacamere Il Vecchio Treno(Tivoli)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$63
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Al Seminario Guesthouse(Tivoli)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$70
US$61
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Victoria Terme Hotel(Tivoli)
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$121
US$111
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Free cancellation until 21/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$93
US$81
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
B&B Catillo(Tivoli)
US$77
US$75
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Free cancellation until 23/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$72
US$70
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
B&B Le Pietre Larghe(Tivoli)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (81)
Filter reviews
81 results
Traveller rating
65
12
2
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
65
12
2
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthree roomsold palaceoverlooking the riverwonderful surpriseroman batheasy walking distanceitalian breakfastvisit tivolivilla d'esteold townmaramosaicsgiovanniantiquesspahostesssuite
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 81 reviews
Reviewed 31 July 2017 via mobile

Our stay at this magical inn was the highlight of our trip. Truly a hidden gem, tucked away off a cobblestone street behind two beautiful wooden doors. The moment you step in to the courtyard, the pampering begins. Mara and Giovanni were the most attentive hosts, treating us like family. Paying attention to every detail from welcoming us back after dinner to running to a local bakery for more fresh croissants to a complimentary bottle of wine to enjoy on our private terrace overlooking the river. We were speechless when we stepped in to our rooms which were essentially small apartments that preserved the history of the building but had updated bathrooms. We fell in love with Tivoli and will never forget our time at Residenze Gregoriane.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank STARWalker_Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Residenzegregoriane, Proprietario at Residenze Gregoriane - Residenza D'Epoca, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2017

hi
We can not even forget about and especially the happy pastimes.
Thanks again
Come back!
Giovanni and Mara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2017 via mobile

If you wish to visit the Villa d'Este, this residence is an amazing and unique homebase. There are three rooms in this beautifully appointed, renovated ancient household. Some of the furnishings and fixtures date back to the Roman empire. Our suite was beyond large. There was a very large sitting room with antiques including an old foosball table. The bedroom had a unique modern shower and separate toilet room. There was even a small upper loft area with glass steps. I loved the combination of the old and the new. The proprietors were extremely friendly and helpful and arranged for a wonderful dining experience at a nearby restaurant, Il Coccio (see my review). The residencia is located in the old town and within walking distance of the Tivoli Gardens and the evening excitement of a typical, old city in Italy.

If you are looking for a typical American hotel experience, then this is not for you. For example, there is no elevator and you walk up two flights of stairs to the rooms. Giovanni helps with all of the luggage so that is not a concern. He will also park your car for you in a safe area. The pool is more of a spa like pool in the basement, which was once used to ferment grapes into wine. It is not a typical indoor pool as you find in western hotels.

In the morning, we had a very yummy continental breakfast that was brought to our room. This was included in the €250 price.

I know I am being extremely picky, but just a few things would have made for a slightly, and I mean very slightly, better experience. A small night light in the bathroom would have helped in the middle of the night. The lighting is a bit on the dim side and it would have been nice to have one brighter light to read by or to apply make up. Also, we had difficulty finding the residencia . There is no good signage when you are driving. There is a bed and breakfast next-door and perhaps that could be used as the landmark to guide in weary travelers.

Overall, it was a great place to stay and to stretch out. Again, the owners were amazing, friendly, and we could not have asked for more. Enjoy your stay!


Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank exobscurislux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Residenzegregoriane, Proprietario at Residenze Gregoriane - Residenza D'Epoca, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2017

Ringraziamo i Clienti per aver lasciato una recensione che ci consentirà di migliorare ed offrire sempre più il miglior servizio .

Hi and thank you for the company and the beautiful words written for us.
Actually we do everything for passion and we want it all to make a great stay for our customers.
Thanks again for doing us a nice job and nice days with you.
Come back here !!!!
Ciao
Giovanni
Residenze Gregoriane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2017

My sister and I made a late booking at Residenze Gregoriane. Mara was very helpful and speaks fantastic English. We were in the Gregoriane suite which does have air conditioning which was great because it was 35 degrees C. The atmosphere here is of quiet, peace and elegance. Our room had a wonderful rain shower, the beds were very comfortable and nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast on the terrace overlooking the river was lovely - a breakfast like we have never seen at an Italian B&B.

If you are going to Rome, Tivoli is just 40 minutes on the direct train. It is a lovely town with lots of interesting shops and two magnificent gardens.

Thank you, Mara, for making our trip so enjoyable.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank WorldTraveller3823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2017

I have been traveling all over Italy for many years, and this visit to Tivoli & this remarkable little inn was a wonderful surprise. A beautiful old villa, with only a few rooms, is exquisite. It is like being transported back in time. Our suite with incredibly high ceilings covered in frescos, full of antiques and beautiful paintings, was a treasure. And the pool....oh! the pool...underground, like a Roman bath...so special.
And a knock at the door about 8:30am brought a lovely continental breakfast to our lovely huge suite.
Owners and staff treat you like special guests to their own villa. An hour from Rome, this is a must stop on your way south. Oh yes, and Villa d'Este is so delightful. And have dinner in the restaurant by the Roman ruins...you can walk there.

Stayed: June 2017
Thank sstj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2017

A very unique and awesome place to stay in Tivoli!! You can definitely experience an old world setting at RESIDENZE GREGORIANE and one that you will always remember.
The setting is in ancient TIVOLI but with easy walking access to VILLA D ESTE.
Be aware that here is no lift and no a/c. Should you need to cool off dip into the most delightful and unusual pool in the PALACE basement. A wonderful Italian breakfast is served by the hostess, MARA.

Room Tip: Book early. Only a few rooms are available.
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank june091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews