We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (88)
Filter reviews
88 results
Traveller rating
70
13
3
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
70
13
3
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews terrace overlooking the river three rooms roman bath highlight of our trip beautiful property hotel experience exclusive use wonderful surprise our honeymoon easy walking distance old town italian breakfast the owner villa d'este visit tivoli train station mara
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 88 reviews
Reviewed 26 June 2017 via mobile

If you wish to visit the Villa d'Este, this residence is an amazing and unique homebase. There are three rooms in this beautifully appointed, renovated ancient household. Some of the furnishings and fixtures date back to the Roman empire. Our suite was beyond large. There was a very large sitting room with antiques including an old foosball table. The bedroom had a unique modern shower and separate toilet room. There was even a small upper loft area with glass steps. I loved the combination of the old and the new. The proprietors were extremely friendly and helpful and arranged for a wonderful dining experience at a nearby restaurant, Il Coccio (see my review). The residencia is located in the old town and within walking distance of the Tivoli Gardens and the evening excitement of a typical, old city in Italy.

If you are looking for a typical American hotel experience, then this is not for you. For example, there is no elevator and you walk up two flights of stairs to the rooms. Giovanni helps with all of the luggage so that is not a concern. He will also park your car for you in a safe area. The pool is more of a spa like pool in the basement, which was once used to ferment grapes into wine. It is not a typical indoor pool as you find in western hotels.

In the morning, we had a very yummy continental breakfast that was brought to our room. This was included in the €250 price.

I know I am being extremely picky, but just a few things would have made for a slightly, and I mean very slightly, better experience. A small night light in the bathroom would have helped in the middle of the night. The lighting is a bit on the dim side and it would have been nice to have one brighter light to read by or to apply make up. Also, we had difficulty finding the residencia . There is no good signage when you are driving. There is a bed and breakfast next-door and perhaps that could be used as the landmark to guide in weary travelers.

Overall, it was a great place to stay and to stretch out. Again, the owners were amazing, friendly, and we could not have asked for more. Enjoy your stay!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank exobscurislux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Residenzegregoriane, Proprietario at Residenze Gregoriane - Residenza D'Epoca, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2017

Ringraziamo i Clienti per aver lasciato una recensione che ci consentirà di migliorare ed offrire sempre più il miglior servizio .

Hi and thank you for the company and the beautiful words written for us.
Actually we do everything for passion and we want it all to make a great stay for our customers.
Thanks again for doing us a nice job and nice days with you.
Come back here !!!!
Ciao
Giovanni
Residenze Gregoriane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2017

My sister and I made a late booking at Residenze Gregoriane. Mara was very helpful and speaks fantastic English. We were in the Gregoriane suite which does have air conditioning which was great because it was 35 degrees C. The atmosphere here is of quiet, peace and elegance. Our room had a wonderful rain shower, the beds were very comfortable and nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast on the terrace overlooking the river was lovely - a breakfast like we have never seen at an Italian B&B.

If you are going to Rome, Tivoli is just 40 minutes on the direct train. It is a lovely town with lots of interesting shops and two magnificent gardens.

Thank you, Mara, for making our trip so enjoyable.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank WorldTraveller3823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2017

I have been traveling all over Italy for many years, and this visit to Tivoli & this remarkable little inn was a wonderful surprise. A beautiful old villa, with only a few rooms, is exquisite. It is like being transported back in time. Our suite with incredibly high ceilings covered in frescos, full of antiques and beautiful paintings, was a treasure. And the pool....oh! the pool...underground, like a Roman bath...so special.
And a knock at the door about 8:30am brought a lovely continental breakfast to our lovely huge suite.
Owners and staff treat you like special guests to their own villa. An hour from Rome, this is a must stop on your way south. Oh yes, and Villa d'Este is so delightful. And have dinner in the restaurant by the Roman ruins...you can walk there.

Stayed: June 2017
1  Thank sstj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2017

A very unique and awesome place to stay in Tivoli!! You can definitely experience an old world setting at RESIDENZE GREGORIANE and one that you will always remember.
The setting is in ancient TIVOLI but with easy walking access to VILLA D ESTE.
Be aware that here is no lift and no a/c. Should you need to cool off dip into the most delightful and unusual pool in the PALACE basement. A wonderful Italian breakfast is served by the hostess, MARA.

Room Tip: Book early. Only a few rooms are available.
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank june091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2017

The opportunity to stay in a sumptuous suite in a magnificent sixteenth-century noble palace does not arise often. Which is why we’re so glad we spent two nights at the Residenze Gregoriane.

Located on a narrow medieval street lined with beautiful old buildings, the Residenze appears from the outside like a fortress—thick stone walls, tiny windows. You enter through a tunnel, on top of which are frescoes painted by the same artists who decorated the Villa d’Este. The tunnel opens onto a gorgeous inner courtyard. Mosaic and bas-reliefs, beautifully preserved from the sixteenth century, fill the walls. Below are flowering plants and two umbrella-covered tables.

The hotel, or B&B, does not occupy the entire palace, which legally is a condominium. About half the building is occupied by private owners, including a noble descendent.

We stayed in the Araldica suite, up one level from the courtyard. It had a good-sized bedroom; a large room divided into a small kitchen (basically nonfunctional), small dining area, and small seating area; and finally an ample, modern bathroom. The rooms were filled with interesting artworks and decorative items of various periods. The only negative about the Araldica suite was that we couldn’t have breakfast in the courtyard like the guests in the other suites; we had to eat at the table in our suite.

The proprietors of the Residenze Gregoriane, Giovanni and Mara, are eager-to-please hosts and delightful conversationalists. Even spending only two nights, we felt as if we’d become a part of charming Tivoli.

Considering what you’re getting, the rates at the Residenze are ridiculously low.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank LaBu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Residenzegregoriane, Proprietario at Residenze Gregoriane - Residenza D'Epoca, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2017

Ringraziamo i Clienti per aver lasciato una recensione che ci consentirà di migliorare ed offrire sempre più il miglior servizio .

Thanks for everything.
Your company and your sympathy are beautiful memories.
We thought we had a great service with the breakfast served in the room. We do it with great joy and passion.
Everyone can have breakfast on the terrace or in the court.
Go back to find us when you want.
We wait you.
Thanks again
Greetings
Giovanni and Mara
Residenze Gregoriane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews